SUBSIM®  Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM® Radio Room Forums > Sonalysts Combat Sims > DW Mod Workshop > DW Mission Designers' Forum
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2017, 04:21 AM   #1
Stewy1
Soundman
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 149
Downloads: 59
Uploads: 6
Default Writing map lines in a mission in text format?

Hi guys,

Just a quick question - I've been slaving away on my Virgina Capes Map - it's coming along - but I've only completed the northern ranges so far...



Looking at the mission file in notepad, it has the lines described as:

Quote:
LINE 205.879395 393.489410 178.682770 394.860596
LINE 70.727631 393.757446 57.436459 393.175690
LINE 57.436459 393.175690 72.495316 360.976318
LINE 72.495316 360.976318 72.858589 360.702179
While they're clearly coordinates, they don't match up with the lat/long coordinates in the map.

Question is, do you recognise the coordinates above? Is there a way to convert them to lat/long?

If there is, the map will be hyper-accurate and much, much quicker to make!

Cheers guys
Stew
Stewy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 10:34 AM   #2
p7p8
Weps
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 359
Downloads: 102
Uploads: 0


Default

Map lines/objects are related only to "main coordinates"

VERSION 3
OWNALLIANCE 0
DIFFICULTY 1
TOTALNUMSIDES 0
NUMDRIVEABLES 0
MONTH 1
WORLDGRID 2 <- map size. 2 is default but you can try 3 or even 4 (~1500x1500 nmi)
LATLONG 51.727554 159.503586 <- "main coordinates" for terrain map
;
SEASTATE 3
MDR 0 0 0
BOTTOMTYPE 0
TIMEOFDAY 12
WEATHER 0
CLOUDHEIGHT 4500
SSP 0

MAPLINES
LINE 193.638031 346.712830 318.119354 216.911774
END

If you add 2 to red marked values (LATLONG 53.727554 161.503586), map lines coordinates stay the same but terrain map will be moved.

p7p8 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 02:08 PM   #3
Pirate
Engineer
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oeiras, PORTUGAL
Posts: 218
Downloads: 129
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by p7p8 View Post
WORLDGRID 2 <- map size. 2 is default but you can try 3 or even 4
Wow that's awesome, would love some maps with WORLDGRID 4 (max allowed size for a theater of operations in DW) and many random platforms and groups also on random locations, including biologics and icebergs(if suitable for the location)!!!
__________________
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 04:01 PM   #4
p7p8
Weps
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 359
Downloads: 102
Uploads: 0


Default

WORLDGRID 4 could be interesting option for missions with controlable SSBN's
p7p8 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 04:11 PM   #5
FPSchazly
The One and Only
 
FPSchazly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 572
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0


Default

So the standard map size is 600 nmi x 600 nmi. The coordinates correspond to miles from the TOP LEFT corner of the map in the mission editor.

So, this line:
Quote:
LINE 70.727631 393.757446 57.436459 393.175690
goes from (70.72, 393.76) to (57.436, 393.1757)

(70.72, 393.76) means 70.72 miles east of the top left corner, 393.76 miles south of the top left corner, etc. etc.

(0,0) is the top left, (600,0) is the top right, (600,600) is the bottom right, (0,600) is the bottom left.


So, to translate these "map coordinates" into latitude and longitude is not a trivial endeavor. A friend and I made a program a while back to triangulate buoy contacts for you, and it could be modified to do this process of converting LAT/LON to Dangerous Waters "map coordinates".

This website here could help you out, I used it to develop my program: http://www.movable-type.co.uk/scripts/latlong.html
__________________
Your friendly neighborhood modern submarine YouTuber! Also your Cold Waters sonarman

**NEW** 688(I) Hunter/Killer Playthrough
Cold Waters Playthrough
All Dangerous Waters Videos

This is my fault, but it's pronounced F-P-S chazly

Last edited by FPSchazly; 02-13-2017 at 03:27 PM. Reason: confused bottom right and bottom left in the original post
FPSchazly is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 12:28 AM   #6
Stewy1
Soundman
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 149
Downloads: 59
Uploads: 6
Default

Thanks Chazly - and all - great answers!

I think my Maths knowledge is not up to doing those conversions though...

I remember a guy once who programed a scientific calculator to convert 1:25000 grid coordinates on a map (to 8 and 10 figures - very accurate) to lat/long coordinates on the globe (is that WGS 84? I can't remember!)

He was a very clever guy though...my head hurts just thinking about it!

Any help or explanations appreciated - but I realise I might just have to put the lines on by hand and 'mark one eyeball'

Cheers guys
Stew
Stewy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 09:19 PM   #7
FPSchazly
The One and Only
 
FPSchazly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 572
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0


Default

I'm going to try and make a small program that will convert latitude/longitude into map coordinates. I think it could definitely be useful to the community based on what you've shown here and what I've seen before.
__________________
Your friendly neighborhood modern submarine YouTuber! Also your Cold Waters sonarman

**NEW** 688(I) Hunter/Killer Playthrough
Cold Waters Playthrough
All Dangerous Waters Videos

This is my fault, but it's pronounced F-P-S chazly
FPSchazly is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 11:49 PM   #8
Stewy1
Soundman
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 149
Downloads: 59
Uploads: 6
Default

Thanks Chazly for your help - I know you have a great deal of skill in Mathematics.

I last passed Math when I was 15!

I'd be very keen to try your program, when it's released mate!

Stew
Stewy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim