SUBSIM®  Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM® Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2017, 05:51 AM   #91
Tycho
Weps
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 368
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niume View Post
Hello guys I want to tweak water of mep v6 its a bit too blue for me. Any ways to modifying the color of water
Silent Hunter 3\data\Env\EnvColors_Atl.dat
Silent Hunter 3\data\Env\SkyColors_Atl.dat
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 01:30 PM   #92
Tycho
Weps
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 368
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho View Post
Most likely not. I'm not programer, I'm incompetent to add new things, I only find and change bytes. And honestly, I'm already tired of this, there is only one more thing I want to find and then I finish digging into the .exe file.
And, I found it.
I will not look in the sh3.exe again, I promise, at least this year.

What I found, is part of the code that draw the lines / graticules on periscopes.
Now I have proper Uzo with only vertical line.
I bring back 1.5 zoom to be default, and this give me proper work of "Cam_zoom_cycle", that I can now will make with menu command.
 
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 07:47 AM   #93
makman94
Hellas
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,333
Downloads: 180
Uploads: 7


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho View Post

What I found, is part of the code that draw the lines / graticules on periscopes.
Now I have proper Uzo with only vertical line.
I bring back 1.5 zoom to be default, and this give me proper work of "Cam_zoom_cycle", that I can now will make with menu command.
Another really great find Tycho,bravo
the degrees reticles at UZO (and the horiz line) is not historical correct being there and it was something that annoying me see it.
__________________
Knowledge is the only thing that nobody can ever take from you...



Mediafire page:http://www.mediafire.com/folder/da50.../Makman94_Mods
makman94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 06:21 PM   #94
makman94
Hellas
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,333
Downloads: 180
Uploads: 7


Default

Speaking about the UZO,
does anyone know if the vertical line of uzo was highlighted (to green or to whatever color) during night ?
__________________
Knowledge is the only thing that nobody can ever take from you...



Mediafire page:http://www.mediafire.com/folder/da50.../Makman94_Mods
makman94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 06:03 PM   #95
makman94
Hellas
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,333
Downloads: 180
Uploads: 7


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by makman94 View Post
Speaking about the UZO,
does anyone know if the vertical line of uzo was highlighted (to green or to whatever color) during night ?
pump,

....anyone ?
__________________
Knowledge is the only thing that nobody can ever take from you...



Mediafire page:http://www.mediafire.com/folder/da50.../Makman94_Mods
makman94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 02:52 AM   #96
Tycho
Weps
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 368
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by makman94 View Post
Speaking about the UZO,
does anyone know if the vertical line of uzo was highlighted (to green or to whatever color) during night ?
If we look over British report on U-570.
For Attack Periscope - nothing about.
For Observation Periscope:
Quote:
The graticule is illuminated by luminous material carried in glass tubes around the edge of the graticule. The illumination begins to show on the graticule after about 12 seconds application of the eye to the eyepiece in the dark, and after about 3 minutes the divisions can be distinguished. The numbers cannot be read.
For UZO:
Quote:
A graticule is provided in the right limb. It consists of a vertical line which gradually thickens from the centre to the outside of the field. The line is provided with night illumination by a self-luminous placed in a compartment to the right of the graticule. There is an external lever which controls the illumination from "hell" (Bright" to "dunkel" (Dark). In the bright position the illumination is visible after 2 to 3 minutes' observation in the dark and plainly visible after 10 minutes. In the dark position it is just cut out completely.
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 12:50 AM   #97
makman94
Hellas
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,333
Downloads: 180
Uploads: 7


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho View Post
If we look over British report on U-570.
For Attack Periscope - nothing about.
For Observation Periscope:

For UZO:
Thank you Tycho
__________________
Knowledge is the only thing that nobody can ever take from you...



Mediafire page:http://www.mediafire.com/folder/da50.../Makman94_Mods
makman94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 01:01 PM   #98
Tycho
Weps
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 368
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 1


Default

According to above information, I decided that attack periscope didn't have illumination.
So, I decided to rework a little my scopes reticle:

tga files:
 




Attack periscope, day and night:
 






Observation periscope, day and night:
 






UZO, day and night:
 




__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 06:33 PM   #99
BigWalleye
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Beyond Black River - in Pict country, you betcha!
Posts: 1,969
Downloads: 464
Uploads: 0


Default

Tycho, this work is very interesting. Could you please post a link to the .tga files for the graticles? I would like to try them. Thanks.
BigWalleye is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 02:50 PM   #100
Tycho
Weps
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 368
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigWalleye View Post
Tycho, this work is very interesting. Could you please post a link to the .tga files for the graticles? I would like to try them. Thanks.
Sent you PM.
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 06:21 AM   #101
BigWalleye
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Beyond Black River - in Pict country, you betcha!
Posts: 1,969
Downloads: 464
Uploads: 0


Default

Thanks, Tycho.
BigWalleye is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2017, 05:55 AM   #102
Tycho
Weps
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 368
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 1


Default

I'm not doing anything about SH3 these days.
Yet, from time to time, in my thoughts something interesting emerges.
In my recent dealing with sh3.exe, during the spring, I saw something.

Now I think, that it will be possible, for example, to take some of kriegsmarine grid and to move and rearrange its lines, in order to create new grid.

Looking over SH3 kriegsmarine grid representation, I see the grids that are absolutely not needed, like: PA, PB and PC, and maybe GK.
So, why not to move, rearrange and rename these, and create for example: CL and CP (Black sea and East Med) .
Or maybe: AA, AB, AC and AT, for north operations.
 

When I will do that, I don't know. I have other priorities to do in SH3 for this winter.
First I will test the possibilities, and if it is possible, through the next year will make something about that.
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2017, 09:02 AM   #103
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,195
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Interesting topic

In the past I have been messing with SH5's terrain types, I even had some clues by one of the devs, and I must say that things haven't changed much from SHIII to SH5.

Thank you for sharing your knowledge Tycho & Co.
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2017, 06:38 AM   #104
Tycho
Weps
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 368
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 1


Default

Not much time for SH3 lately, but here I made something to enhance my game.
I sail hardcore way. Without my boat on map, I use dead reckoning and coastal navigation. Deep in the sea, except dead reckoning, two or three time per day I make fixes by ctrl+left click, if the sky objects are visible.
First, look over this thread by Sjizzle:Long / lat.

So, if debug is activated in EnvSim controller, we will have this thing on screen.
It will be on every external camera directly over the scene, under the Gui. The whole looks:
 


I decide to make use of this.
Well, I need only Long/Lat information, now let's dig, from where this come. Probably from the EnvSim.act file, and yes I found it there.
First, I don't need this red compass thing, it show the camera orientation with respect to the world directions. Found some bool and switch it off.
Next are these color index/ratio informations, also not needed. Just changed its color to transparent, now this part is invisible.
Now, where to put Long/Lat? First, I thought about upper right corner of the screen.
Ops, setback. There is only one byte for vertical coordinate, I can't move it more than FF.
For horizontal coordinate it is the whole word, so no problem there.

And here a idea come in my mind. I moved the Long/Lat information in the lower left part of the screen and cut a hole in my interface.
Then I took the Stiebler's Weather meter graphic element, moved and changed it, to cover the Long/Lat. Made "none fog" and "light fog" with some transparency, medium and havy fog without transparency.
So in bad weather Long/Lat is covered and not visible. Screens:
 



Yes, there have weather conditions, that spoil the impression, like: light fog and overcast clouds.
But, I have enough self control, to not use it in these cases.
If it is possible for Stiebler to make the weather meter to count also the clouds state, not only fog state....?
Screen:
 


Now, what to do with this? Calculate and plot on map. Let's do it.
 

What we have here, Long: -8,19221 and Lat: 43,42171
Obviously, we are at 8° and a something West of the Greenwich, 43° and a something North of the Equator.
In SH3 world, 1° is 120 km. So we take the number after decimal, like whole and multiply it by 1.2
We get the distance in meters. Plot it on map after appropriate degree.
We can use a calculator, or by hand on paper, but I like to do it directly in game, so I use sliderule, and it come to this.
We multiply 19 and 1/4 by 1.2 and the result is 23km and 50m, and plot this on map:
 


Then, multiply 42 and a little by 1.2 and the result is 50km and 500m, and plot this on map:
 


Now, the tricky part, take the horizontal (Long) line, grab the zero side and move it straight up and make it vertical.
The same with vertical (Lat) line, grab the zero side and make it horizontal. The two line must cross, and where they cross is our position.
Screens:
 


If we do it with calculator, the results are:
19220x1.2=23064
42171x1.2=50605

If we check the exact position, it is on mark 1.
Screen:
 

So, with calculator it will be absolutely correct.
But, when you sail without boat on map, you get used to that your exact position is not so important and needed.
In fact, the real U-boat almost all of the time are not on exact position, but on assumed position.
Even for a few hours after fix they have accumulated several miles of incorrectness.
You can see this in most of U-boat KTB's. And probably, their Celestial fixes were also not so accurate, a few hundred meters are not a problem, there.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you all.
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim