SUBSIM®  Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM® Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2017, 06:54 AM   #7111
Anvar1061
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 1,039
Downloads: 568
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niume View Post
Why i don't encounter airplanes at 1024 tc? anyway to fix it? I encounter them at 512x

Do not play at TC over 512!
Anvar1061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 09:38 AM   #7112
1mPHUNit0
Chief
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 313
Downloads: 60
Uploads: 0
Default

Kiel canal, 98km, on gwx are 190 KM
__________________
1mPHUNit0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 10:15 AM   #7113
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 50,092
Downloads: 606
Uploads: 249


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1mPHUNit0 View Post
Kiel canal, 98km, on gwx are 190 KM
Once again someone blames GWX for something that is not its fault. In the stock game there is no Canal. Someone made a mod that added in the Canal. It got incorporated into GWX. It was the SH3 developers who made Denmark as wide as it is. The person who put it in had a choice: make the Canal fit the game as it was or completely redraw all the land masses in the game.

Which would you have done?
__________________
"Conversation would be vastly improved by the constant use of four simple words: I do not know."
—Andre Maurois




Sailor Steve is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 11:25 AM   #7114
Aquelarrefox
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Buenos Aires
Posts: 250
Downloads: 138
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailor Steve View Post
Once again someone blames GWX for something that is not its fault. In the stock game there is no Canal. Someone made a mod that added in the Canal. It got incorporated into GWX. It was the SH3 developers who made Denmark as wide as it is. The person who put it in had a choice: make the Canal fit the game as it was or completely redraw all the land masses in the game.

Which would you have done?
First of all game works on plane coordinates, so you well never have real trip distances, so maybe in Ecuador.

Second, it's true, is a channel, no matter the long, is a solution.
__________________
from the kaisermarine to the ARA Independencia

yesterday: H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+gwx3.0+merchantfleet+Real navigation+MaGui WS+caws 1.61 for gwx3

now: H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+ NYGM & WAC5.0 mix+MFM(part)+vondos+Real navigation+MaGui WS+caws JFO Extra
Aquelarrefox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 11:57 AM   #7115
1mPHUNit0
Chief
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 313
Downloads: 60
Uploads: 0
Default

Blame what?
It's an hystorical fact....there are no opinion in my post
it's a game i know
__________________
1mPHUNit0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 10:50 PM   #7116
Pablo
Commodore
 
Pablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 630
Downloads: 121
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1mPHUNit0 View Post
Blame what?
It's an hystorical fact....there are no opinion in my post
it's a game i know
Hi!

SH3 uses a Mercator projection of the world, which produces increased distance distortion the further you get from the equator. The difference between the true length of the Canal and the length found in GWX seems consistent with that original SH3 distortion.

Hope this helps!
__________________

"...far better it is to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs even though checkered by failure, than to rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy much nor suffer much, because they live in the gray twilight that knows neither victory nor defeat."
- Theodore Roosevelt, speech before the Hamilton Club, Chicago, April 10, 1899
Pablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2018, 02:45 AM   #7117
makman94
Hellas
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,333
Downloads: 180
Uploads: 7


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
Hi!

SH3 uses a Mercator projection of the world, which produces increased distance distortion the further you get from the equator. The difference between the true length of the Canal and the length found in GWX seems consistent with that original SH3 distortion.

Hope this helps!
hi Pablo,

it doesn't seem to me that sh3 is using a Mercator projection , look at the following pic (source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_map_projections) :



Comparing the maps (like ,for example, the way it looks Greenland to South America or Australia) it seems that sh3 most likely is using an Equirectangular projection ( a projection that has little use in navigation or cadastral mapping
and finds its main use only in thematic mapping) and not a Mercator projection.

This has nothing to do ,of course,with gwx or any other supermod but with the sh3's engine itself, i believe that sh3 is 'following' the Equirectangular projection distortions
__________________
Knowledge is the only thing that nobody can ever take from you...



Mediafire page:http://www.mediafire.com/folder/da50.../Makman94_Mods
makman94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2018, 04:30 PM   #7118
Pablo
Commodore
 
Pablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 630
Downloads: 121
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by makman94 View Post
hi Pablo,

it doesn't seem to me that sh3 is using a Mercator projection , look at the following pic (source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_map_projections) :

Comparing the maps (like ,for example, the way it looks Greenland to South America or Australia) it seems that sh3 most likely is using an Equirectangular projection ( a projection that has little use in navigation or cadastral mapping
and finds its main use only in thematic mapping) and not a Mercator projection.

This has nothing to do ,of course,with gwx or any other supermod but with the sh3's engine itself, i believe that sh3 is 'following' the Equirectangular projection distortions
Hi!

Yes, you're correct. It's obviously been longer than I thought since I worked on GWX.

Pablo
__________________

"...far better it is to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs even though checkered by failure, than to rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy much nor suffer much, because they live in the gray twilight that knows neither victory nor defeat."
- Theodore Roosevelt, speech before the Hamilton Club, Chicago, April 10, 1899
Pablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 08:05 PM   #7119
_Cain_
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default Ship/port bugs?

Hi, I just installed GWX gold, and when I started the game, the ports looked rather empty. I did get to see the beautiful Tirpitz... but her guns were missing? Anyone know whats wrong?
_Cain_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 07:59 AM   #7120
Jimbuna
Chief of the Boat
 
Jimbuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 250 metres below the surface
Posts: 127,589
Downloads: 49
Uploads: 11


Default

The Tirpitz will not be completed early on but as time passes she will appear with her guns.
__________________
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.
Oh my God, not again!!


GWX3.0 Download Page - Donation/instant access to GWX (Help SubSim)
Jimbuna is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 09:43 AM   #7121
Anvar1061
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 1,039
Downloads: 568
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Cain_ View Post
Hi, I just installed GWX gold, and when I started the game, the ports looked rather empty. I did get to see the beautiful Tirpitz... but her guns were missing? Anyone know whats wrong?
The main caliber Tirpitz was installed at the end of 1940.
Anvar1061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 10:39 AM   #7122
_Cain_
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anvar1061 View Post
The main caliber Tirpitz was installed at the end of 1940.

I just did some research, and I must say I applaud the attention to detail like that. But are the ports usually this empty? I starts Aug. 1st 1939 in wilhelmshaven
_Cain_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 04:28 PM   #7123
_Cain_
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Has anyone else had problems with the game crashing every time you try to speed up time? not sure if its because I was in port or not, but my last few tries its crashed
_Cain_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 08:13 PM   #7124
stork100
Bosun
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 62
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0
Default

Yes, high time compression and ports don't really go together too well. I guess it's a PC performance thing. Just stay at a reasonable TC like 64 or 128 until you get out to sea a bit or you can bring on a CTD. Same applies when nearing a port at the end of a patrol.

As for your low traffic problem check your enabled mods in JSGME. Have Lite Harbor Traffic enabled and be sure to have the Black Sea and Indian Ocean Campaign files disabled for your Atlantic campaign. Otherwise you won't see any ships.

Hope this helps. GWX is a great mega mod. You'll love it.
stork100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 11:48 PM   #7125
hauangua
Commodore
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 611
Downloads: 1125
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Cain_ View Post
Has anyone else had problems with the game crashing every time you try to speed up time? not sure if its because I was in port or not, but my last few tries its crashed
Hi Caino
Your Mod list?
__________________
Parked under the balcony with my U-27 waiting Juliet finish makeup
hauangua is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim