Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Modern-Era Subsims > Dangerous Waters
Forget password? Reset here

Old 05-29-17, 03:53 PM   #1
Coral
Seaman

Downloads: 142
Uploads: 0
Default Just getting back to DW

I just found some really great videos on how to play DW and with luck, I found my old disks and ring bound manual. I intend to begin learning the game using the basic game updated to 1.04 and the Win10 wrapper. So far so good working on my Win10 computer.

My question is: as I am just getting started, is there any really important mods that I need or can I just play the plain vanilla game and then later install some mods. If there are some important mods that I need now, what are they and were?

I have downloaded RA 1.41 and 2 updates, but have not installed them as I don't want to break any part of the basic game or original missions.

Does anyone have any thoughts on the above?

Thanks in advance.
Coral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-17, 03:51 AM   #2
Wildcat
Engineer

Downloads: 69

Play the original with the latest patch if you wish, but the RA mod provides a far more interesting and (maybe) realistic experience. The AI seems to be smarter, detection ranges more believable, weapons seem to behave as you'd expect them to, CM's etc also seem to be more effective.

But the missions that come with RA don't seem that spectacular and I'm not sure where people are uploading new missions anymore.
Wildcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-17, 06:34 AM   #3
Nippelspanner
Stowaway

Downloads:
Uploads:

Welcome back Coral.
(Great, now I always hear Rick Grimes when I read your name... )

I can only advice to go for RA. There's little reason not to play with it, as DW vanilla is simply lacking in all departments.

You can play all old missions with RA, except FFG missions, as RA basically created a new class, which renders the mission unplayable - but this can be easily edited/fixed in the editor if needed.

All others work and are generally compatible.