Click here to access the Helosim website
SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

BUYING GAMES, BOOKS, ELECTRONICS, and STUFF
THROUGH THIS LINK SUPPORTS SUBSIM, THANKS!

The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations!

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > General > Helosim.com and Flight Sims

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2007, 10:41 PM   #1
AFRIKAKORPS
Helmsman
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 104
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default Water Doesnt Look Like Its At 4....

Well its not really a problem, I just know my water can look nicer I guess. I've gone into the config.ini file and changed the water to 4, but now matter what number its on it always looks the same. Maybe I'm whining? Possibly, I just like my water to look watery I guess. In case you want to know I have a GeForce 8800GTS, so im sure its not my card.

Also I have a weird cut looking thing in the middle of the picture after changing the resolution to 1280x1024.

These are my current config settings:
[Render_DirectX]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=2
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=1
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=1
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=0
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=0
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=0
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=0
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=0

HardwareShaders=0

Shadows=1
Specular=3
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=1
Forest=0
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=15
ForceShaders1x=0
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.0625
PolygonOffsetUnits=-1.0
Water=4
Effects=2

[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=2
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=1
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=1
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=2
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=17
Water=4
Effects=2
ForceShaders1x=1

PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

Examples:

AFRIKAKORPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 11:15 PM   #2
Dowly
.
 
Dowly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 23,695
Downloads: 23
Uploads: 0


Default

IIRC, the lvl 4 water is broken. Just use the lvl 3 water.
Dowly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 02:30 PM   #3
AFRIKAKORPS
Helmsman
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 104
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dowly
IIRC, the lvl 4 water is broken. Just use the lvl 3 water.
Thanks Dowly, I've been messing around with some options and IL2 Sturmovik Stab and I finally got the level 4 water I was looking for.
AFRIKAKORPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 02:31 PM   #4
Biggles
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sweden (I'm not a Viking...)
Posts: 3,601
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

Please tell me, once and for all, how to change this feature?
__________________
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 02:46 PM   #5
Dowly
.
 
Dowly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 23,695
Downloads: 23
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggles
Please tell me, once and for all, how to change this feature?
Play the game in OpenGL mode (change that from the video options), choose perfect land detail from the vid options, quit, go to your IL2 folder, open a file called conf.ini, scroll down till you see openGL settings, then make sure the 'UseHardWareShaders' is '1', then just change the Water=0 to Water=1 or 2 or 3 or 4.
Dowly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 11:08 PM   #6
Dowly
.
 
Dowly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 23,695
Downloads: 23
Uploads: 0


Default

Apart from the large drop in FPS, what the heck does the dlls do? I see no difference to what I had previously.
Dowly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 11:14 PM   #7
Sir Big Jugs
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 895
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dowly
Apart from the large drop in FPS, what the heck does the dlls do? I see no difference to what I had previously.
They're only a fix in case you have flickering water.
Did you back them up before you downloaded? I've managed to "misplace" my original dll's and would need the originals back.
__________________

Sir Big Jugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 11:16 PM   #8
Dowly
.
 
Dowly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 23,695
Downloads: 23
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Big Jugs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dowly
Apart from the large drop in FPS, what the heck does the dlls do? I see no difference to what I had previously.
They're only a fix in case you have flickering water.
Did you back them up before you downloaded? I've managed to "misplace" my original dll's and would need the originals back.
Yeh, I packed them up. I'll send them to you when I get off from work. ~5:30PM GMT+2
Dowly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2007, 11:18 PM   #9
Sir Big Jugs
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 895
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dowly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Big Jugs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dowly
Apart from the large drop in FPS, what the heck does the dlls do? I see no difference to what I had previously.
They're only a fix in case you have flickering water.
Did you back them up before you downloaded? I've managed to "misplace" my original dll's and would need the originals back.
Yeh, I packed them up. I'll send them to you when I get off from work. ~5:30PM GMT+2
OK, 'bout the time I wake up here, should be just in time!
Thanks in beforehand!
__________________

Sir Big Jugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 07:44 AM   #10
Sir Big Jugs
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 895
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0
Default

By the way Dowly, how big was the loss in FPS you got?:hmm:
__________________

Sir Big Jugs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim