SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III > SH3 Mission Designers' Forum
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2007, 07:49 PM   #61
ice599
Watch
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
Default antisub net

hi guys does anybody know how to put a antisub net with the mission editor
i can put them on the map but when i try to test the mission i made
lets say its a multiplayer map , i lose my connection on ubi
can anybody help me
thanks
ice599 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 10:24 PM   #62
ReallyDedPoet
Canadian Wolf
 
ReallyDedPoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The one and only East Coast
Posts: 10,495
Downloads: 891
Uploads: 5


Default

Bump Someone will get this.

RDP
__________________

Back in the Day



ReallyDedPoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 12:37 AM   #63
Dietrich
Sparky
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 152
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ice599
hi guys does anybody know how to put a antisub net with the mission editor
The anti-subnet comes from the "ordnance" section of the explorer task bar on the right. Click on "Ordnance" tab, expand "Roster", select the country and then click and drag a net onto the map. The default properties are usually okay, but feel free to tweak them.

Then, put a waypoint for the net. The net is NOT the unit, nor is it the waypoint, but it is instead placed allong the path between the two. With multiple waypoints, you can have different net shapes (they don't have to be straight lines).
Dietrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 11:11 AM   #64
sabretwo
Frogman
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 295
Downloads: 69
Uploads: 0
Default Location of Naval Bases & Campaign Question

I am currently working on a campaign for GWX based around the Med theater of operations. Scripted activity begins in October
41, the time uboats started arriving in the Med. It's designed in a manner that expects the player to start using SH3 Commander in Salamis/October '41.

I had an idea this morning and I am hoping you experienced guys could tell me if its possible...

I would ideally like the player to begin his career passing the Straits of Gibralter in October and then arriving at Salamis just as the early uboats did when arriving in the Med. Is it possible to place the Naval Base marker for Salamis 150 KM west of the Straits of Gibralter with an end date of say 7 October and then place a new Naval Base marker in Salamis after 7 October? Or do I need to edit the Flotilla file to make this work?

Any advice that saves me time in playing with this idea is greatly appreciated.
sabretwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:32 AM   #65
bigboywooly
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Swindon, England
Posts: 10,135
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
Default

Yes is possible to add a marker outside of Gib and have it disappear but you will need to alter Flotilla cfg to add this new marker as a start point
Simple to do
Shout if you get stuck
__________________


My mediafire page http://www.mediafire.com/?11eoq19bq9r41
bigboywooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 06:30 AM   #66
Wreford-Brown
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In sight of Stonehenge
Posts: 1,750
Downloads: 49
Uploads: 26
Default

Have you spoken to Hitman yet? He released a Mediterranean campaign that could be of use to you.
__________________

All my mods are available at MediaFire:
SH3 Mods
Other modders SH3 mods
SH4 Mods
...you can't please all of the people all of the time...
Wreford-Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 01:43 PM   #67
sabretwo
Frogman
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 295
Downloads: 69
Uploads: 0
Default

WB,

No, I haven't yet. It's my intention to check out his work soon.

I am still plugging away on each month. I'm in 1943 now. It's very tendious. Before I start e ach new month, I spend at least a week researching and writing up every naval action I can find reference to. Then I script them.
sabretwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 01:34 PM   #68
sabretwo
Frogman
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 295
Downloads: 69
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks to BBW's advice, its now working just great. If the user starts the campaign in September or October 1941, they start about 400km west of Gibralter and receive a radio message issuing them their new orders to report to Salamis.

The only downside is that if they arrive in Salamis before November '41, the game will order them to return to their original "port" (Titled in the mod as "Report to Salamis"). I wish I could find a way to override that.

Otherwise its now working perfectly!
sabretwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 12:00 PM   #69
bigboywooly
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Swindon, England
Posts: 10,135
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
Default

Cant recall what date you had Salamis set for but you can try altering its start date to Oct if your Gib base starts Sept
Or the Gib base to run from Oct will give the player 30 days to wait which you can always warn of by a message
Glad its all working ok
__________________


My mediafire page http://www.mediafire.com/?11eoq19bq9r41
bigboywooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 07:26 PM   #70
sabretwo
Frogman
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 295
Downloads: 69
Uploads: 0
Default

For what its worth, I got it working. If a player now starts the campaign in October 1941 using SH3 Commander, the player's U-boat is on patrol west of Gibralter. Later that day, a radio message gives a change of orders and issues instructions to report to Salamis.
sabretwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 07:31 AM   #71
gb027
Watch
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Queensland Australia
Posts: 18
Downloads: 155
Uploads: 2
Default Bouys in Harbours?

When creating a mission in early 1942, Is it realistic to mark anti-sub nets with red and green flashing light buoys in harbours and ports?
Or did they use some thing else to stop passing traffic from running into them, like charts or escorts?
thanks...

Last edited by gb027; 03-23-2013 at 10:17 PM.
gb027 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 09:02 AM   #72
Alpha Von Burg
Engineer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Unknown
Posts: 202
Downloads: 84
Uploads: 0
Default

From what I know the big buoys have flashing lights on it, color of these lights can vary. This was normal so as to prevent ships from colliding with them at night, whether they were nets or not, which were usually on the ends of nets, or mid-sections. The smaller buoys holding the net were not given lights as the larger buoys at the ends would naturally act as markers.

Historically, ships were normally given charts as to the proper course needed to navigate around these buoys, nets or even in some occasions, mines.

For ships without these charts, escorts were assigned.

Anyway, hope this helps on a historical note.

Cheers,
__________________
-Kapitänleutnant Richard L. Römer
Alpha Von Burg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 10:33 AM   #73
Dutchie-one
Officer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 249
Downloads: 255
Uploads: 0
Default New Harbours

Hello,

I play de Schnellboot mod so I wonder if I place a new harbour in the
locations file and make it a Navelbase do I have to
to change anything in the Layer files ?

Thanks for an anser

Dutchie-one
__________________
Old in Age but young of Heart





Dutchie-one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 11:37 AM   #74
Magnito
Watch
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: CG2343
Posts: 18
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutchie-one View Post
Hello,

I play de Schnellboot mod so I wonder if I place a new harbour in the
locations file and make it a Navelbase do I have to
to change anything in the Layer files ?

Thanks for an anser

Dutchie-one
No, but is important to check visual changes with the mission editor in the file
/Campaigns/Campaign/Campaign_land.mis to place it correctly.
__________________
Magnito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 04:50 PM   #75
Dutchie-one
Officer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 249
Downloads: 255
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks Mate, I will check it out

Dutchie-one
__________________
Old in Age but young of Heart





Dutchie-one is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim