SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III > SH3 Mission Designers' Forum
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2005, 09:18 PM   #1
Wolf52
Helmsman
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 109
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default Minefield Question

I created a short little mission to see how ships take minefields. One thing i noticed was that no matter what speed i set the ships to take on their waypoints into the minefield, they would always slow to a crawl just before they came into the minefield. Even with the crews set to "Poor" they can still see them. Another thing that annoys the heck out of me is when a ship will be dead in the water because it cant decide which direction to go. Every two seconds it reverses the propellers. Is there any way a can stop these two things?
Wolf52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 02:45 AM   #2
Gizzmoe
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,671
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Default Re: Minefield Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf52
Is there any way a can stop these two things?
Yes, don´t use minefields. Or subnets. They are a nightmare for the pathfinding algorithm.

You can use them for blocking side entrances to ports or places where you don´t expect any cargo or warship traffic. If you want to use them in other places make sure that the minefields or subnets are not too wide.
Gizzmoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2005, 09:01 PM   #3
Krieg-Schwein
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 129
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I haven't found that to be true myself
I am making a mission in NY Harbor and have some docked ships protected by a dense minefield ( 0.1 waypoint radius, Density (units/SQ.KM) = 500 ) nice and thick but not to wide
because you can shoot torpedoes over top of subnets, any way I constantly have stupid ships running into them even when I make the way points to stay away. I wish I knew why your don't
__________________
This is my U-Boat. There are many like it, But I like this one, its mine.

HI REZ MOON MOD
Krieg-Schwein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2005, 04:46 PM   #4
FAdmiral
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 1,079
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

Are you using minefields to protect surface ships from subs?
If that is the case, set the mines just deep enough to not
harm surface ships but will impact submerged subs if they
hit one....


JIM
__________________
If you\'re not taking losses, you\'re not doing enough.
RAdm. Kelly Turner, USN

**********************************
www.fairtax.org
FAdmiral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 02:46 PM   #5
WilhelmSchulz.
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Virgina Beach
Posts: 1,302
Downloads: 14
Uploads: 0
Mine fields Cant get them to apear

I know how to creat minefields but I cant seem to get them to apear. Ive added them before.
__________________
"Some ships are designed to sink others require our assistance."

WilhelmSchulz. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 08:53 AM   #6
Respenus
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,169
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I believe that there is an option when in the mission editor that says "Show mines" or domething similar. But I only used it once, so my knowledge is very much limited.
__________________

Respenus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 03:00 PM   #7
WilhelmSchulz.
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Virgina Beach
Posts: 1,302
Downloads: 14
Uploads: 0
Default

Well nevermind I had fuigured it out and I meant in the game. But thanks for halping.
__________________
"Some ships are designed to sink others require our assistance."

WilhelmSchulz. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 10:34 AM   #8
sonar_PL
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: czestochowa
Posts: 123
Downloads: 32
Uploads: 0
when you set on map minefield You must set a weapoint for this...

in option set how many mines on 1 km and its all... there You can set min and max depth minefield too...

next move is enable all animation in editor and You can see mines mosition as black dots...
__________________

sonar_PL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 04:09 PM   #9
WilhelmSchulz.
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Virgina Beach
Posts: 1,302
Downloads: 14
Uploads: 0
Default

DEAD THREAD!
__________________
"Some ships are designed to sink others require our assistance."

WilhelmSchulz. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 06:29 PM   #10
Seacondor
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 11
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Minesweeper issues

I had my first look at the Grey wolfs addon. I liked it a lot. I was very pleased to see the Tboots and German minesweeper in there that Serg and I made. The only issue I have is it looks like the smoothing groups of these two ships didn't translate well. In my Max they look right. Is there a way this could be fixed if I made availble the source models or worked with some one that knew how to get them back in the game and sort the weopans? I did these in Gmax which made it differcult for Serg to translate.
But now I have Max2010 so can export these a lot easier. The only issue is I know it isn't easy to get the weopans setup etc. So I will need to work with someone. Is Serg still around?
Seacondor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 10:38 AM   #11
sergbuto
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Downloads: 15
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi Seacondor,

Yes, I am still around. I have already replied in your thread in the SH3 modding forum. There are some pointers for starters there. Do not hesitate to PM me as well with more detailed description of the problems.

I am not sure whether you are talking about "smoothing" problem which can be simply corrected by detaching some elements in the polygons or
something else which would require other type of work.

A few months ago I had an intension to import minesweeper to SH4 and did detaching some elements. This improved the look significantly. But I never finished the work.

Since I do not play SH3 any longer (actually since SH4 release) I did not bother to improve the look of the minesweeper and other ships for SH3.
__________________
Serg's SH4 and SH3 pages
sergbuto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2019 Subsim