SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
The newest naval sim by Totem Games!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2017, 03:00 PM   #1
itadriver
Ensign
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italia Venezia
Posts: 222
Downloads: 117
Uploads: 0
Default Menu.ini/help

I would like to add other stern torpedoes, external and internal reserves. I know I have to manage menu.ini but I do not understand what. Can anyone help me please?
itadriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 03:41 AM   #2
Anvar1061
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 705
Downloads: 478
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by itadriver View Post
I would like to add other stern torpedoes, external and internal reserves. I know I have to manage menu.ini but I do not understand what. Can anyone help me please?

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom//sho...19&postcount=7
Anvar1061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 03:51 AM   #3
Anvar1061
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 705
Downloads: 478
Uploads: 0
Default


http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5074
Anvar1061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 08:46 AM   #4
itadriver
Ensign
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italia Venezia
Posts: 222
Downloads: 117
Uploads: 0
Default

thanks anvar, but i have a problem

I downloaded wolfie's tweek pack.
I followed the instructions. I copied the three files in my shiii directory and i make the shortcut with "wolfie", but when i clik on TweekSUB.exe
i got this message:

Silent hunter III folder not correct, missing
d:\giochi\shiii-wac_5_2\sh3.exedata\Cfg\basic.cfg!

I believe there shuold be a "\" after "sh3.exe" and before "data".
Can you help me?
itadriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 12:22 PM   #5
Anvar1061
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 705
Downloads: 478
Uploads: 0
Default

http://www.subsim.com/phpBB_archive1...asc&highlight=
Anvar1061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 12:38 PM   #6
mikey117us
Planesman
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 184
Downloads: 158
Uploads: 0
Default

The easy way is too edit the Basic.cfg by manual input. Just back up the file. I do that to correct things. For example the playable type XXIII. I add the aft batteries to the bow room as the two compartments are there under the floor. Also I manually unload torpedos to simulate maintenance. There was no provision for internal stores .I added two. but kept internal reserves at 0. That gave me the empty slots to unload the torpedos to. On the type XXI, wrongly the production type XXI u-boats had 0, no superchargers at all, they simply failed the designed diesels, ramping up manifold pressed so high that it could grenade the cylinder heads. Even without the superchargers cylinder head pressure and it's related heat could and did warp the exhaust manifolds, and the exhaust to outer hull vents. Through the basic.cfg I removed the automatic provided superchargers. Also the Type XXI has deficiency of power without the superchargers to recharge batteries. This is a realistic occurance. The KM work around works but first in Basic.cfg I needed to add the correct amount of battery compartments which is three not two. the Silent Running Motors were on a separate circuit and had a battery compartment under the central control room. While schnorkel recharging the type XXI ran recharge on primary batteries first , propulsion through the silent motors. Last recharge went to the silent moter batteries. In SH3 the addition of the third battery gives a longer battery life while submerged therefore a reduced and manageable recharge time. Endurance submerged is more realistic. let me know what u-boat you are modifying and I can post the modifications. You could then copy the changes to your Basic.cfg file.
mikey117us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 02:24 PM   #7
itadriver
Ensign
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italia Venezia
Posts: 222
Downloads: 117
Uploads: 0
Default

thanks to all
I've already modified the basic.cfg but I havent had any result. This is the reason i asked about the menu.ini

IXD2 basic.cfg
;[SUBMARINE_AMMO10];IXD2
[SUBMARINE_AMMO9]
Type=2
Version=3
ForeTubes=4
AftTubes=2
AftResIntern=2
AftResExtern=6 ;4
ShellSlots=16
NbYears=7
Renown=10

Year0=1939
ForeTube00=1
ForeTube01=1
ForeTube02=1
ForeTube03=1
AftTubes00=1
AftTubes01=1
AftResIntern00=1
AftResIntern01=1
AftResExtern00=1
AftResExtern01=1
AftResExtern02=1
AftResExtern03=1
AftResExtern04=1
AftResExtern05=1

but...


I do not need any fore reserves, because scharnhorst has only aft torps

itadriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 11:47 AM   #8
mikey117us
Planesman
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 184
Downloads: 158
Uploads: 0
Default

Did you try just adding internal reserves? External stores have to be manually dragged and dropped in an empty Internel reserve slot to begin transfer. After transfer it will automatically reload the tube. This will take forever. Having those torpedos internally will at least keep the reload process moving.
mikey117us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 02:42 PM   #9
itadriver
Ensign
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italia Venezia
Posts: 222
Downloads: 117
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey117us View Post
Did you try just adding internal reserves? External stores have to be manually dragged and dropped in an empty Internel reserve slot to begin transfer. After transfer it will automatically reload the tube. This will take forever. Having those torpedos internally will at least keep the reload process moving.
Yes mikey, i know. The torps in my previous picture works like you said.
But if I add internal reserves (even just one), when i press "I", I have a CTD.
Any idea?
Thanks
itadriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim