SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
The newest naval sim by Totem Games!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2016, 10:32 AM   #31
VikingGrandad
Commerce Raider
 
VikingGrandad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: AM93
Posts: 90
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 0
Default

My second-hand SH3 DVD (1.4b, no Starforce) arrived yesterday, so I un-installed Steam SH3 and installed a fresh copy of the game from disc. No problems so far!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BL!TZKR!EG View Post
This proves to me that your installation is either not at that EXACT location, or otherwise screwed up.
It was definitely at that exact location - I checked it in Windows Explorer too. So that must mean my Steam SH3 installation was screwed up (even on a fresh install?) or perhaps there is simply something about my Steam SH3 installation that SFSF is not expecting?

Could it be a problem caused by installation Steam in a non-standard root location? The two locations I tried were:

C:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\Silent Hunter 3 (this is my main Steam folder; it contains the Steam app and a few other games; when I first installed the Steam application, I used this folder, outside the 'Program Files (x86)' folder, but I can't remember why I did this - maybe it was because I'd heard about problems with some other games when they are installed there)

E:\Steam\steamapps\common\Silent Hunter 3 (this is in my second Steam folder, the one I created because I don't have much space on my C drive for installing games; most of my other Steam games are also installed in E:\Steam\steamapps\common\)


As you know, the normal Steam SH3 installation location is:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Silent Hunter 3\

Maybe SFSF needs the Steam SH3 installation to be there?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BL!TZKR!EG View Post
The tool verifies that two files exist IN or relative to the provided path:
  1. sh3.exe
  2. data\cfg\basic.cfg
And so it says that your installation is not valid.
1. sh3.exe - this was definitely in the correct location on each of my attempts to use SFSF:

C:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\Silent Hunter 3\sh3.exe

and then:

E:\Steam\steamapps\common\Silent Hunter 3\sh3.exe

2. data\cfg\basic.cfg - I've already un-installed Steam SH3, so unfortunately I can no longer check if this file was in the correct place. So I'm wondering if that file might have been the problem. Does that file normally get installed there, or is it created when the game runs for the first time?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BL!TZKR!EG View Post
I am VERY irritated about STEAM creating another "SH3"-subdirectory inside the SH3-installation-folder. What's in there?

Don't say that THERE is data/cfg/basic.cfg out of a sudden
Unfortunately, I can't check what was in that SH3 directory but I did look in there before I un-installed Steam SH3, and I'm 90% certain it contained these sub-folders and one file:

\SH3\data\cfg\main.cfg

(probably like the main.cfg file in C:\Users\[user name]\Documents\SH3\data\cfg ?)
__________________

VikingGrandad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 02:08 PM   #32
Niume
Commander
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Lithuania Marijampole reg. Lithuania is near Poland if you din't know
Posts: 474
Downloads: 198
Uploads: 0
Default

Blitzkrieg So how is stiebler patch going I really need it
__________________
Niume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 05:51 PM   #33
Jeff-Groves
Knight of the Richards
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,645
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BL!TZKR!EG View Post
I am trying to provide help for something that I have never used.


Maybe you could help a little more by actually testing it first hand?
I can offer a lot of advise on SH files but I find 'Hands on' is much better then just being a Richard at times.
__________________
Hex Editing Master. The last of a dying Breed.
"He didn't give us many fish. He taught us to fish."
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 08:50 PM   #34
BL!TZKR!EG
•[MEXiCO U-BOOT]•
 
BL!TZKR!EG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ensenada/Condesa, Delegación Cuauhtémoc, Hipódromo 06100 Ciudad de MEXiCO, Distrito Federal
Posts: 2,929
Downloads: 40
Uploads: 78


Default

What does "being a Richard" mean?
Has that something to do with you?

Well, you may voice your opinion. But at least I have changed my mind and try to provide help instead of bashing a tool or system (in this case STEAM).

For most of the 11 years of SH3's existence we said: Drop it, do not use it - and alike.

This is an attempt of help and as much as I can afford... and I have loads more on my 2do-list, so yes, I am doing all I can - and what have we got a community for?

See ya, Jeff!
BL!TZKR!EG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 08:57 PM   #35
BL!TZKR!EG
•[MEXiCO U-BOOT]•
 
BL!TZKR!EG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ensenada/Condesa, Delegación Cuauhtémoc, Hipódromo 06100 Ciudad de MEXiCO, Distrito Federal
Posts: 2,929
Downloads: 40
Uploads: 78


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VikingGrandad View Post
My second-hand SH3 DVD (1.4b, no Starforce) arrived yesterday, so I un-installed Steam SH3 and installed a fresh copy of the game from disc. No problems so far!
Good! I got mine from eBay - and even with Starforce. And it works well, too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VikingGrandad View Post
perhaps there is simply something about my Steam SH3 installation that SFSF is not expecting?
Well, I wrote above what SFSF is expecting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VikingGrandad View Post
Could it be a problem caused by installation Steam in a non-standard root location?
I believe not. SFSF simply reads the REGISTRY-key, so that should not matter.

What irritates me is this "SH3"-subfolder. And exactly that one file that an earlier version of SFSF verifies, is in there? What a coincidence I thought - and changed that part of the code. SFSF no more looks for that file in the current version. No errors coming in since then.

I guess that has solved it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VikingGrandad View Post
Maybe SFSF needs the Steam SH3 installation to be there?
As above: I believe not. SFSF simply reads the REGISTRY-key, so that should not matter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VikingGrandad View Post
... and I'm 90% certain it contained these sub-folders and one file: \SH3\data\cfg\main.cfg

(probably like the main.cfg file in C:\Users\[user name]\Documents\SH3\data\cfg ?)
As said, I changed that code. So that should not be a problem anymore.
But for what reason does STEAM move this file "main.cfg" out of SH3's original subdirectory-structure and create this seperate folder SH3 and store it there?

I have no clue.

I again: I changed that code anyway. And I am enforcing the testers to use the latest version, so I am not expecting any more errors of this kind.

MANY THANKS FOR YOUR YOUR DETAILED HELP!
BL!TZKR!EG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 09:04 PM   #36
BL!TZKR!EG
•[MEXiCO U-BOOT]•
 
BL!TZKR!EG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ensenada/Condesa, Delegación Cuauhtémoc, Hipódromo 06100 Ciudad de MEXiCO, Distrito Federal
Posts: 2,929
Downloads: 40
Uploads: 78


Icon14 = SUMMARY of 1 month testing =

Quote:
BL!TZKR!EG'S STARFORCE & STEAM-FiX V1.0.0.2a

VALID DIR: D:\SilentHunterIII\
dd: 1
STARFORCE-FiX APPLIED!
Quote:
BL!TZKR!EG'S STARFORCE & STEAM-FiX V1.0.0.2a

VALID DIR: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Silent Hunter 3\
VALID TARGET: C:\Users\Amado\Desktop\
Silent Hunter 3
dd: 1
MOVE OK.
STEAM-FiX APPLIED!
Quote:
BL!TZKR!EG'S STARFORCE & STEAM-FiX V1.0.0.5a

VALID DIR: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Silent Hunter 3\
VALID TARGET: C:\SHIII\Stock\
Silent Hunter 3
dd: 1
MOVE OK.
STEAM-FiX APPLIED!
Quote:
BL!TZKR!EG'S STARFORCE & STEAM-FiX V1.0.0.5a

VALID DIR: D:\SH3\
dd: 1
STARFORCE-FiX APPLIED!
Quote:
BL!TZKR!EG'S STARFORCE & STEAM-FiX V1.0.0.2a

VALID DIR: D:\SilentHunterIII\
dd: 1
STARFORCE-FiX APPLIED!
Quote:
BL!TZKR!EG'S STARFORCE & STEAM-FiX V1.0.0.5a

VALID DIR: D:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Silent Hunter 3\
VALID TARGET: C:\Users\Hawk\
Silent Hunter 3
dd: 1
MOVE DID NOT WORK!!!!!
STEAM-FiX NOT APPLIED!
only minutes later same user tried it again and it worked:

Quote:
BL!TZKR!EG'S STARFORCE & STEAM-FiX V1.0.0.5a

VALID DIR: D:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Silent Hunter 3\
VALID TARGET: D:\
Silent Hunter 3
dd: 1
MOVE OK.
STEAM-FiX APPLIED!
Quote:
BL!TZKR!EG'S STARFORCE & STEAM-FiX V1.0.0.5a

VALID DIR: D:\SH3\
dd: 1
STARFORCE-FiX APPLIED!
Quote:
BL!TZKR!EG'S STARFORCE & STEAM-FiX V1.0.1.9a

VALID DIR: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Silent Hunter 3\
VALID TARGET: C:\SH3\
Silent Hunter 3
dd: 1
MOVE OK.
STEAM-FiX APPLIED!
BL!TZKR!EG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 09:38 PM   #37
Jeff-Groves
Knight of the Richards
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,645
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BL!TZKR!EG View Post
What does "being a Richard" mean?
Has that something to do with you?
Ya. I'm a Richard.



Quote:
See ya, Jeff!
I hope someday we do meet Mate!
__________________
Hex Editing Master. The last of a dying Breed.
"He didn't give us many fish. He taught us to fish."
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 09:54 AM   #38
VikingGrandad
Commerce Raider
 
VikingGrandad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: AM93
Posts: 90
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BL!TZKR!EG View Post
What irritates me is this "SH3"-subfolder. And exactly that one file that an earlier version of SFSF verifies, is in there? What a coincidence I thought - and changed that part of the code. SFSF no more looks for that file in the current version. No errors coming in since then.

I guess that has solved it.

MANY THANKS FOR YOUR YOUR DETAILED HELP!
Glad to hear my report helped you out.

This is a useful tool, because I'm sure other people will do what I did: purchase SH3 from Steam because it's easy and instantly available - and not think about the implications for adding mods, etc.

Maybe I should write a SH3 review on Steam that warns people about the downsides.
__________________

VikingGrandad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 01:57 PM   #39
BL!TZKR!EG
•[MEXiCO U-BOOT]•
 
BL!TZKR!EG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ensenada/Condesa, Delegación Cuauhtémoc, Hipódromo 06100 Ciudad de MEXiCO, Distrito Federal
Posts: 2,929
Downloads: 40
Uploads: 78


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VikingGrandad View Post
This is a useful tool, because I'm sure other people will do what I did: purchase SH3 from Steam because it's easy and instantly available - and not think about the implications for adding mods, etc.
I think so too. And this module is going to be included with the next version of S3F so we got it all in one package then.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VikingGrandad View Post
Maybe I should write a SH3 review on Steam that warns people about the downsides.
Í already did.
See: STEAM and other Download-Versions of SH3
__________________


Lieblings-U-Boote: U-107 (IXB), U-156 (IXC), U-530 (IXC/40), U-995 (VIIC/41), U-256 (U-Flak)
» HONOR, AMISTAD Y RESPETO! «
» SUPPORT THE
[S3A] AND GET MEDIAFIRE «
» - S3F - S3G - TS3 «
BL!TZKR!EG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 03:30 PM   #40
VikingGrandad
Commerce Raider
 
VikingGrandad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: AM93
Posts: 90
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BL!TZKR!EG View Post
I meant writing a review here: http://store.steampowered.com/app/15...p_reviews_hash - so that Steam users have a chance to see it before they buy SH3 there (I don't think many people would visit Subsim first)
__________________

VikingGrandad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 05:18 PM   #41
BL!TZKR!EG
•[MEXiCO U-BOOT]•
 
BL!TZKR!EG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ensenada/Condesa, Delegación Cuauhtémoc, Hipódromo 06100 Ciudad de MEXiCO, Distrito Federal
Posts: 2,929
Downloads: 40
Uploads: 78


Default

Ah, I see. Well, then go ahead, everything that supports SH3 is good.

You on Shore leave btw?
BL!TZKR!EG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 07:32 PM   #42
VikingGrandad
Commerce Raider
 
VikingGrandad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: AM93
Posts: 90
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BL!TZKR!EG View Post
You on Shore leave btw?
Er... I don't know why my icon and label changed to that.
What does it mean, in Subsim.com terms??

EDIT: Now it's changed to something more 'normal' again!
__________________

VikingGrandad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2016, 10:30 AM   #43
BL!TZKR!EG
•[MEXiCO U-BOOT]•
 
BL!TZKR!EG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ensenada/Condesa, Delegación Cuauhtémoc, Hipódromo 06100 Ciudad de MEXiCO, Distrito Federal
Posts: 2,929
Downloads: 40
Uploads: 78


Icon14

Don't know. Neal and his clique sometimes have strange ways
At least your avatar now shows that you are sober again.

Another updated version is out:
Quote:
Originally Posted by BL!TZKR!EG View Post
- 20161012 - [RELEASE] V1.0.2.2b - Fixed two messages that appeared in the wrong moment.
But aside of that, we are almost done here.
BL!TZKR!EG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2016, 11:10 AM   #44
mosher
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi all!

Sorry if the answer is obvious, but where can I get the newest version of the tool? The download link directs to an old one (2016-08-31), which just tells me to get an up to date version when I try to run it.

Cheers!
mosher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2016, 08:50 AM   #45
BL!TZKR!EG
•[MEXiCO U-BOOT]•
 
BL!TZKR!EG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ensenada/Condesa, Delegación Cuauhtémoc, Hipódromo 06100 Ciudad de MEXiCO, Distrito Federal
Posts: 2,929
Downloads: 40
Uploads: 78


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mosher View Post
Hi all!

Sorry if the answer is obvious, but where can I get the newest version of the tool? The download link directs to an old one (2016-08-31), which just tells me to get an up to date version when I try to run it.

Cheers!
No!

Try again.
BL!TZKR!EG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
automatic , fix , starforce , steam

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim