SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
The newest naval sim by Totem Games!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2016, 08:19 PM   #16
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 48,832
Downloads: 587
Uploads: 246


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomfon View Post
It is probable that it will be displayed correctly next time i sink a M02X.
I hope so, but I'm not sure it will happen. My skills lie mainly in making lists. I don't have a complete understanding of how these things work.

Quote:
I've gone through the listings of English Names.cfg. There is no other identical entry. Is there any other .cfg file i should check?
Not that I know of. Sorry.

Quote:
P.S. It is not a big deal if a type of ship doesn't show up correctly.
It's a big deal to me. I wish it always worked the way it's supposed to, and I wish I knew all the answers to things like this. I don't, but I keep trying to learn.

Quote:
Sorry to bother you. I was just curious to find out what happened.
No bother at all. I'm on Subsim every single day, and I like it when things work, and I like to be able to help. I'm sorry I wasn't more help this time.
__________________
"I am not well versed in history, but I will submit to your recollection, whether liberty has been destroyed most often by the licentiousness of the people or by the tyranny of the rulers."
-Patrick Henry, speaking against the Constitution at the Virginia Ratification Convention


Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 03:44 AM   #17
ivanov.ruslan
Commodore
 
ivanov.ruslan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pleven,BG
Posts: 638
Downloads: 783
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
tomfon: Is there any other .cfg file i should check?
What language play?
ivanov.ruslan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 04:06 AM   #18
tomfon
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: CK7662
Posts: 908
Downloads: 148
Uploads: 4


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanov.ruslan View Post
What language play?
English,is the language.
__________________
"I would rather have questions that can't be answered than answers which can't be questioned." - Richard P. Feynman [1918/1988]
Mods for SH3
tomfon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2016, 07:22 AM   #19
tomfon
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: CK7662
Posts: 908
Downloads: 148
Uploads: 4


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailor Steve View Post
It's a big deal to me. I wish it always worked the way it's supposed to, and I wish I knew all the answers to things like this. I don't, but I keep trying to learn.

No bother at all. I'm on Subsim every single day, and I like it when things work, and I like to be able to help. I'm sorry I wasn't more help this time.
It's OK SS. The good news are that the "Leonidas" type is displayed in the museum with no further problems. Let's wait and see. The other way is that i could make a small mission just to sink the "Leonidas" type and see if it will be showed as "Leonidas" or "M02X" in the list of sunken ships. But to be honest i won't do this for the time being.

Cheers!
__________________
"I would rather have questions that can't be answered than answers which can't be questioned." - Richard P. Feynman [1918/1988]
Mods for SH3
tomfon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2016, 05:15 AM   #20
tomfon
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: CK7662
Posts: 908
Downloads: 148
Uploads: 4


Default

Hey, Sailor Steve. I encountered The "Leonidas" type in a convoy. It seems that the quick fix worked out well. I didn't sink it so as to verify whether it will be registered as "Leonidas" or "M02X" but i think there will be no further problems.

Just this. Thought you might want to know.
__________________
"I would rather have questions that can't be answered than answers which can't be questioned." - Richard P. Feynman [1918/1988]
Mods for SH3
tomfon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2016, 12:03 PM   #21
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 48,832
Downloads: 587
Uploads: 246


Default

Good to hear. Thanks for the heads-up.
__________________
"I am not well versed in history, but I will submit to your recollection, whether liberty has been destroyed most often by the licentiousness of the people or by the tyranny of the rulers."
-Patrick Henry, speaking against the Constitution at the Virginia Ratification Convention


Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2016, 12:36 PM   #22
tomfon
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: CK7662
Posts: 908
Downloads: 148
Uploads: 4


Default

You're welcome.
__________________
"I would rather have questions that can't be answered than answers which can't be questioned." - Richard P. Feynman [1918/1988]
Mods for SH3
tomfon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2016, 06:54 PM   #23
GT182
Ocean Warrior
 
GT182's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Castle of Delaware
Posts: 3,223
Downloads: 657
Uploads: 0
Default

Steve, will your "Ship Names April 2015" mod work with all of the SH3 Super Mods?

And one little question. I'm not being picky but am wondering...... Why flags on the ship's sides fore and aft, and not on the mast? Or am I just seeing things?

And thanks for your hard work on this. Much much better than the way it is done in the vanilla SH3.
__________________
Gary


"If you do not take an interest in the affairs of your government, then you are doomed to live under the rule of fools." – Plato

I'm a Deplorable, and proud of it.
GT182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2016, 07:57 PM   #24
J0313
Captain
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 505
Downloads: 1157
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GT182 View Post
Steve, will your "Ship Names April 2015" mod work with all of the SH3 Super Mods?

And one little question. I'm not being picky but am wondering...... Why flags on the ship's sides fore and aft, and not on the mast? Or am I just seeing things?

And thanks for your hard work on this. Much much better than the way it is done in the vanilla SH3.
You see that alot even to this day. Merchant shipping with the flags of the registering country painted on the sides. It isn't uncommon. And i think you have the MFM skins if I'm correct. IABL was pretty comprehensive when he made that mod.
J0313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2016, 08:14 PM   #25
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 48,832
Downloads: 587
Uploads: 246


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GT182 View Post
Steve, will your "Ship Names April 2015" mod work with all of the SH3 Super Mods?
It works exclusively with SH3 Commander, and replaces the Ship Names files in that program. This places it outside of SH3 proper, so yes, it will work with any supermod or no supermod at all, as long as Commander is set up properly.

Quote:
And one little question. I'm not being picky but am wondering...... Why flags on the ship's sides fore and aft, and not on the mast? Or am I just seeing things?
Neutral ships made as big a display as possible of their nationality, so there would be no mistake. The flags and registries on the sides are a function of the MFM skins while the flags on the masts are applied by SH3 itself, so it is entirely possible to have the hull say one country and the flag another.
__________________
"I am not well versed in history, but I will submit to your recollection, whether liberty has been destroyed most often by the licentiousness of the people or by the tyranny of the rulers."
-Patrick Henry, speaking against the Constitution at the Virginia Ratification Convention


Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 01:04 PM   #26
tomfon
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: CK7662
Posts: 908
Downloads: 148
Uploads: 4


Default

Hey, Sailor Steve.

While the "Leonidas class" is now properly registered in my logs, it seems that there is another type of ship missing, i guess.

Any idea on how to fix this?

__________________
"I would rather have questions that can't be answered than answers which can't be questioned." - Richard P. Feynman [1918/1988]
Mods for SH3

Last edited by tomfon; 01-23-2016 at 01:09 PM.
tomfon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2016, 11:17 AM   #27
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 48,832
Downloads: 587
Uploads: 246


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomfon View Post
Any idea on how to fix this?
I'm sorry it took me six months to read this. I somehow completely forgot about it, and only noticed it now because I was showing a new member that he didn't have to try to do this because it was already done.

Yes, I have an idea how to fix it. It seems that while I was tying the 'X' classes to the 'B' classes I simply missed that one. The class name and Ship Names are tied to two different files, so you got one but not the other. Go into the Ship Names file in Commander, scroll down and add M31X=M31B.
__________________
"I am not well versed in history, but I will submit to your recollection, whether liberty has been destroyed most often by the licentiousness of the people or by the tyranny of the rulers."
-Patrick Henry, speaking against the Constitution at the Virginia Ratification Convention


Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 04:41 PM   #28
tomfon
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: CK7662
Posts: 908
Downloads: 148
Uploads: 4


Default

Thanks a lot. Your reply solved the issue.

Regards,
tomfon
__________________
"I would rather have questions that can't be answered than answers which can't be questioned." - Richard P. Feynman [1918/1988]
Mods for SH3
tomfon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2017, 02:48 AM   #29
Solyom2
Watch
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 22
Downloads: 31
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi!

I installed your ship names mod last year. Its great work!
In the last days, I started to seach a net, and i found ships that arent in the database. I collect them in an excel table, and I would like to add them to the game.

I examined the Ship names cfg. Its a littly tricky for me first time.

I found class names like
[KMCSHeito]
[NTSHP]

But I guess the [GerenericMerhcantsAndTankers ] is neither used.

These classes aren't in the game, so I guess the yill never appear (I play MFM + GWX).
I would like to add them to a ingame Ship class, so they will be used.

Is it possible without crashing the game?
Solyom2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2017, 10:53 AM   #30
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 48,832
Downloads: 587
Uploads: 246


Default

Generic Merchants was the file used when they first created SH3 Commander. They had all the ship classes that were in the game but had a lot more names which they didn't know where they should go, so they created the 'Generic' classes. That is exactly why I started the Ship Names mod back in 2008 - to have classes those names could fit into. Originally there were something like 9,000 names in the file. I got it down to a few hundred as I found out what those ships looked like. The others are all in one of the game classes or one of the MFM classes. I had eventually hoped to move all the ships, so the Generic file wouldn't be necessary. My goal was to add them in properly, not just pick a file at random. To that end I purchased several books and used a couple of websites to determine what they looked like.

That said, it should still work even with so few names.
__________________
"I am not well versed in history, but I will submit to your recollection, whether liberty has been destroyed most often by the licentiousness of the people or by the tyranny of the rulers."
-Patrick Henry, speaking against the Constitution at the Virginia Ratification Convention


Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim