SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
The newest naval sim by Totem Games!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2017, 08:02 PM   #1366
J0313
Captain
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 531
Downloads: 1197
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks hauangua but It is something relatively simple. It is the only thing that isn't working correctly and that isn't bad considering how many mods I have installed. So I will just have to give it some thought and figure it out without uninstalling everything. But thanks for the advice mate.
J0313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2017, 12:19 AM   #1367
hauangua
Sonar Guy
 
hauangua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 383
Downloads: 877
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J0313 View Post
Thanks hauangua but It is something relatively simple. It is the only thing that isn't working correctly and that isn't bad considering how many mods I have installed. So I will just have to give it some thought and figure it out without uninstalling everything. But thanks for the advice mate.

TDW's DC Water Disturbance v4.0

The mod causes CTDs with NYGM.
__________________
Parked under the balcony with my U-27 waiting Juliet finish makeup
hauangua is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2017, 08:38 PM   #1368
Benzin1973
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 176
Downloads: 139
Uploads: 0
Default Why remove radio contact information?

I notice that on NYGM, radio contact reports do not have a speed report, and their reported heading used to be something more or less usable like NNE, SSW, N, etc. (something with say a 22.5º precision). But as of version 2017A (or maybe it was even before that?), we dont even get that, instead we get NE instead of NNE or ENE, or S instead of ESE.

We do get a speed report when the report comes in about a convoy or task group (via the messages window), but not for single ships. And the heading is just as innacurate (NE instead of ENE or NNE).

Personally i find that trying to intercept a radio report with such little information, (no speed and a 70º tolerant heading), is no longer a matter of doing carefull and accurate plotting for an intercept course followed by setting up an adecuate search pattern for the area, but has become more of a "luck" factor, just point the bow somewhere infront of the contacts general direction, make a saw pattern and maybe you find something.

Now, im not "complaining" about this, if thats the way the mod is, well thats that.
And besides, i allready made and use a small mod that restores speed (slow, fast, etc) and heading (NNE, ESE, etc) information on radio reports, both for convoys and single ship reports.

But i am curious why was this intentional lack of information implemented?
Is it historically accurate? only make the game "harder"?

Historically, Dint those reports come from the (few) German planes patroling, intercepted communications from the ships, lookouts on "neutral" ships and such?
If so then i think a more accurate heading like SSE and an aproximate speed would have been provided.

In any case, i must say i prefeer to have better contact information available, like speed (slow, medium, etc), and an estimate heading like NNE, ESE, etc.
One of my favorite parts of the game is getting a report, making the calculations to plot an intercept course with a set speed, considering the reported speed of the contact, plotting the course, the anticipation during the trip there if i will actually find something (if i did the math right), etc.
It felt like a "mini mission". Some purpuse other than just patroling random squares of ocean.
But i cant do any calculation to anything with just a "NE" and no speed.

Last edited by Benzin1973; 04-07-2017 at 04:51 AM. Reason: just correcting a few errors
Benzin1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2017, 06:20 AM   #1369
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,216
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 4
Default

@Benzin1973:
Quote:
I notice that on NYGM, radio contact reports do not have a speed report, and their reported heading used to be something more or less usable like NNE, SSW, N, etc. (something with say a 22.5º precision). But as of version 2017A (or maybe it was even before that?), we dont even get that, instead we get NE instead of NNE or ENE, or S instead of ESE.

We do get a speed report when the report comes in about a convoy or task group (via the messages window), but not for single ships. And the heading is just as innacurate (NE instead of ENE or NNE).
This is all deliberate in NYGM from the first NYGM version.
U-boats made inaccurate reports of convoy speeds and directions - not surprising, since the convoys kept zig-zagging unexpectedly.

If you don't like it, locate your original file of data\menu\en_menu.txt (in stock SH3), and copy as many lines as you think appropriate from entries 2110 onwards into the same file in NYGM_2017 (don't forget to de-install NYGM with JSGME first, before making the changes, then re-install. Don't forget too that other mods may alter en_menu.txt.)

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2017, 07:38 AM   #1370
Benzin1973
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 176
Downloads: 139
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiebler View Post
@Benzin1973:
This is all deliberate in NYGM from the first NYGM version.
U-boats made inaccurate reports of convoy speeds and directions - not surprising, since the convoys kept zig-zagging unexpectedly.

If you don't like it, locate your original file of data\menu\en_menu.txt (in stock SH3), and copy as many lines as you think appropriate from entries 2110 onwards into the same file in NYGM_2017 (don't forget to de-install NYGM with JSGME first, before making the changes, then re-install. Don't forget too that other mods may alter en_menu.txt.)

Stiebler.
Thanks for the reply stiebler!
Allready made a very small mod that makes those changes to menu.txt
Its no problem at all really. (i still love NYGM haha) I was just curious as to why it was decided it was to be this way.
Benzin1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2017, 07:43 AM   #1371
Benzin1973
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 176
Downloads: 139
Uploads: 0
Default About wolfpacks...

Here i am again with my dumb questions

Just to confirm: To use wolfpacks in NYGM, the only thing i have to do i check the "Wolfpacks" option in the HSIE options selector, and use that sh3.exe file. right? NYGM allready includes the Neccesary changes to the campaign files.
Correct?
Reason i ask, is because i tought id give it a try, so i enabled wolfpack in the hsie options selector, then on patrol came across a convoy, and the second i hit the "report contact" button, the game CTD.
Used the hsie options again, un-checked wolfpacks, loaded the game and the send contact report worked fine (no CTD). and no wolfpack of course.

Any idea of what i might be doing wrong?
Benzin1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 05:50 AM   #1372
Benzin1973
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 176
Downloads: 139
Uploads: 0
Default Works fine now...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benzin1973 View Post
Here i am again with my dumb questions

Just to confirm: To use wolfpacks in NYGM, the only thing i have to do i check the "Wolfpacks" option in the HSIE options selector, and use that sh3.exe file. right? NYGM allready includes the Neccesary changes to the campaign files.
Correct?
Reason i ask, is because i tought id give it a try, so i enabled wolfpack in the hsie options selector, then on patrol came across a convoy, and the second i hit the "report contact" button, the game CTD.
Used the hsie options again, un-checked wolfpacks, loaded the game and the send contact report worked fine (no CTD). and no wolfpack of course.

Any idea of what i might be doing wrong?
Just tried it again, reenabled wolfpacks in options selector, and called it in when i made contact with a convoy. No CTD at all (tried it 3 times). It worked as expected.
Must have been a glitch.
Benzin1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2017, 06:24 AM   #1373
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,216
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 4
Default

Benzin1973:

Glad you sorted out your wolf-packs problem.
I couldn't reproduce the fault here.

Still, you can now enjoy the full benefit of the H.sie/LGN1 wolf-packs option.
NYGM also has its own variant (non-coded) of other U-boats attacking convoys, and both methods function properly - sometimes both at the same time!

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2017, 02:42 AM   #1374
Benzin1973
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 176
Downloads: 139
Uploads: 0
Default Problem (and solution) for new thompsen ships silouettes

I noticed that when having map contact updates on, and using the optional IABLShipsforNYGM_New_Thomsen mod, if i zoom all the way in on the map, i can see the ship's silouettes. This is i assume a bug, since the other (regular) ships dont show their silouettes at all.

This is a Bug right?

So i made a little fix for it, it just replaces the XXX_shp.tga files for the thompsen ships silouettes so they dont show up.
(edit: its the xxx_shp.tga files i replaced, NOT the xxx_sil.tga ones!)

http://www.mediafire.com/file/417ivx...ouette_fix.zip

Just unzip, and activate with JSGME as usual anywhere after the IABLShipsforNYGM_New_Thomsen mod. No risk of any conflicts since its just a few .tga files.
Feel free to use it if you wish.

Last edited by Benzin1973; 04-27-2017 at 08:39 PM. Reason: posted wrong link!
Benzin1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 03:02 PM   #1375
JuanLiquid
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 50
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 0
Default

I have a lot of pages from my identification book without the merchant picture. I installed NYGM going step by step, all the evening, I did it twice, and still I miss a lot of merchants from that book.

What am I doing wrong?
JuanLiquid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2017, 01:07 AM   #1376
Benzin1973
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 176
Downloads: 139
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanLiquid View Post
I have a lot of pages from my identification book without the merchant picture. I installed NYGM going step by step, all the evening, I did it twice, and still I miss a lot of merchants from that book.

What am I doing wrong?
maybe a mod installed in the wrong order?
Please post your JSGME modlist.
Benzin1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2017, 08:37 AM   #1377
JuanLiquid
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 50
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi, this is my mod list:



And this is the result... only some ships appear, the most of them are like this and I cannot identify them:

JuanLiquid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2017, 08:55 AM   #1378
hauangua
Sonar Guy
 
hauangua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 383
Downloads: 877
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanLiquid View Post
Hi, this is my mod list:



And this is the result... only some ships appear, the most of them are like this and I cannot identify them:

Hi JuanLiquid
I see 2 errors in your mod list
1-You do not have to install iabl and mfm together ... either one or the other (by mainly page of NYGM :
If you install the MSM-interim-beta fleet, you *must not* install the earlier IABL fleet, file (4) above. )
2-envsimact always last mod
(by readme file of envsimact10:

This EnvSim_10 mod folder should always be the LAST mod installed with JSGME.
For example if you have Stiebler_4C_Revised hard-code package installed on top of the H.sie patch (it must always be installed after the H.sie patch), then the EnvSim_10 mod MUST follow after the Stiebler_4C_Revised mod.)

salute:
__________________
Parked under the balcony with my U-27 waiting Juliet finish makeup

Last edited by hauangua; 04-29-2017 at 09:23 AM.
hauangua is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2017, 12:01 PM   #1379
JuanLiquid
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 50
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 0
Default

Thank you hauangua, it was the first mistake, now I can enjoy fully

Btw, did someone noticed that nights aren't dark at all? Even in the stock SH3 you can see too much, but with NYGM they seem like an evening.
JuanLiquid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2017, 12:14 PM   #1380
hauangua
Sonar Guy
 
hauangua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 383
Downloads: 877
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanLiquid View Post
Thank you hauangua, it was the first mistake, now I can enjoy fully

Btw, did someone noticed that nights aren't dark at all? Even in the stock SH3 you can see too much, but with NYGM they seem like an evening.
maybe in moonlight or always you say?
__________________
Parked under the balcony with my U-27 waiting Juliet finish makeup
hauangua is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
torpedos through hull

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim