SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
The newest naval sim by Totem Games!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2008, 02:06 AM   #31
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,216
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 4
Default

@Hitman:
Thanks for your feedback. Glad you like the new version.
Quote:
You should contact Onelifecrisis for his horizon fix mod -makes the horizon be sharp and allows a correct visualisation of tops of masts-, as after playing some time with it I now miss it a lot in NYGM
OK.

JSGME-compatible Mod to restore original weather: OK.

@xristoskaiti:
Thanks for the links. I've downloaded and examined the ASW mod. Most of what it offers is already installed with NYGM, including aerial depthcharges which explode at 35 meters. The Catalina, Sunderland, Wellington bombers already drop depthcharges in NYGM.
The Liberator, which is used a lot, does not drop depth-charges. This should be pretty easy to alter, and I am testing it now.

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 06:35 AM   #32
Hitman
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Hitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,111
Downloads: 106
Uploads: 2


Default

One more detail I have noticed: In 29th Flotilla careers started in March 1942 it is not unusual to get assigned to grid CJ26, which is in the north-east coast of Italy in the adriatic Unless there is some historic action there I can't remember now, I would say that the assignement is an error?

I have customized my own Flotillas cfg replacing CJ26 with something more appropiate, and of course SH3 commander or SH3 patrol can solve the problem, but again it could be worth doing the 30 seconds job of changing it for the next NYGM patch/released fix
__________________
One day I will return to sea ...
Hitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 01:02 PM   #33
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,216
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 4
Default

@Hitman,

Yes, being sent to the north-eastern Adriatic in March 1942 (or at *any* time!) is a pretty poor patrol area.
I wonder how it arose originally? Anyway, thanks for the information, and I shall correct it.

Incidentally, don't forget that SH3Patrol (included with NYGM) will reassign patrol areas for you (although not for the very first patrol of a career):

SH3Commander uses the devs' original tables in flotilla.cfg for grid assignments. These grids are assigned according to your current flotilla, regardless of how inappropriate they may be (eg being directed from Norway in late 1944 with a giant IXD2 into the heavily-patrolled English Channel!)

SH3Patrol uses its own table created from a sampled and verified selection of patrol grids, taking only the most common patrol areas. These grids apply to your current U-boat type, the date, and the base. SH3Patrol mostly alters files different from SH3Commander, so that the two mods do not conflict.

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 01:05 PM   #34
Hitman
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Hitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,111
Downloads: 106
Uploads: 2


Default

Thanks yes I already mentioned it:
Quote:
and of course SH3 commander or SH3 patrol can solve the problem
but the problem is exactly as described by you: This grid is assigned to you in the first patrol when starting in 1942
__________________
One day I will return to sea ...
Hitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 03:11 PM   #35
Kaleu_Mihoo
Medic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Poland/Germany
Posts: 161
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
I'd like to thank the NYGM team for their fabulous work! The XXIII is really so much fun The only little disturbing thing I noticed is the position when on the bridge (F4) because of the UZO right before your nose. The way around this prob is adding

[2]
DropDownName=Position
search,UseInitialLocalPos,2,byte,>2,UseInitialLoca lPosition
search,InitialLocalPos,4,single,>2,Captain´s viewpoint X-Value
search,InitialLocalPos,4,single,>6,Captain´s viewpoint Y-Value
search,InitialLocalPos,4,single,>10,Captain´s viewpoint Z-Value

to the minitweaker's NSS_Uboat21_cam.txt. Then alter the Y-Value to 0.1867 or whatever you want, making you see over the UZO.

The idea comes from the tweakfiles from DivingDuck and is only added by myself to the 21_cam, as this was the only file missing in his package.

greets
__________________
Beide Maschinen AK voraus, hart backbord, auf 107 Grad gehen! Anlauf beginnt!...NYGM 3.0

Last edited by Kaleu_Mihoo; 07-20-2008 at 05:03 AM.
Kaleu_Mihoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 05:58 PM   #36
nirwana
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 380
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default doh!

Making it with 14 knts surfaced in the night through a swarm of escorts, elcos and destroyers from the atlantic to gibraltar harbor and attacked the anchored southhampton and being shot by every available gun (include the cooks dirty knives) of it caught by surprise since o am not used to anchored ships biting back in other supermods. So i went back to a saved game 1hr back in time and still 20 km away from the cruiser surounded by forts and lots of small warships previously not detecting me. As soon as the game finished loading every gun and searchlight in a 7 km range zeroed in unloading their weapons.

It is intended that u cannot save a game being surounded by enemies without being attacked after reloading the game when u exchanged fire before ? I tried another save just at the entrance of the straight with 4 escorts close by and they acted in the same way.
nirwana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 10:39 AM   #37
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,216
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 4
Default

@Nirwana,

What you are describing is stand behaviour in the original un-modded SH3 game.

It is always a risk to save a game when other ships are nearby.
It is a bigger mistake to save a game if there is a convoy nearby - you often get a Crash-to-Desktop (CTD) when you reload.
It is the biggest mistake to save a game if there is more than one convoy nearby - you will often get a CTD after reloading the game.

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 07:05 AM   #38
caspofungin
Commander
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 458
Downloads: 23
Uploads: 0
Default

been away from sh3 for positively ages, thought i'd reinstall and give it a whirl -- an lo and behold, there's a brand new version of tonnage war out. sweet. nice work, stiebler and co, your efforts are appreciated.

are any versions of the longer repair time mod compatible with this?

also, are you considering making u-boat mods for sh4 at any point in the future?
caspofungin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 12:37 PM   #39
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,216
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 4
Default

@Kaleu_Mihoo:

Thanks for the information concerning the _cam.txt file. I shall try it soon.

@caspofungin:

Thanks for the kind words. NYGM already incorporates a longer repair time mod. I don't know whether any other version might be compatible.

There is unlikely to be a version of NYGM for SH4. If there is, I shall not be part of the team, since I am largely ignorant about US fleet boats.

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 03:25 AM   #40
caspofungin
Commander
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 458
Downloads: 23
Uploads: 0
Default

but you're decidedly well-informed on u-boats -- what i meant was, now that the ubm add-on has brought u-boats to the sh4 engine, will you consider porting the work of nygm to sh4/ubm? ie a realism-oriented mod for the u-boat afficionados out there?
caspofungin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 06:19 AM   #41
Hitman
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Hitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,111
Downloads: 106
Uploads: 2


Default

Well I hope there could be at least a limited version of NYGM for the U-Boat missions expansion and who knows, maybe in the future add other small theatres like the Mediterranean and Arctic, or the so well worked "Inshore Campaign" for late war periods
__________________
One day I will return to sea ...
Hitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 05:15 AM   #42
rascal101
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 769
Downloads: 190
Uploads: 0
Default POroblems with downloading files

Hi to all I wonder if some one can help, I've just downloaded both the Fulon and latest NYGM3 via Flashget

I just tested both files before installing them via JSGMe and both report that they have broken files.

Now I have been having a lot of trouble downloading items from the net, not just games or patches, so I dont think its a problem with your site or where the files are lodged for people like me ot download them.

I wonder if there is someone out there with decent computer experience who can say what may be going on or suggest a sollution. Whenever I download a patch or mod, 7 out of ten times its corrupt or broken, whatevfer is not usable.

There is nothing about my computer not my internet that seems to be at fault, I use XP and Kaspersky anti virus.

Any ideas

Reascal
rascal101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 05:59 AM   #43
kranz
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,660
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

while trying to decompres 7z files from filefront-nygm etc using 7z software i got this message-try using power archiever, u may use it free for a few weeks-it always helped
kranz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 08:21 PM   #44
rascal101
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 769
Downloads: 190
Uploads: 0
Default An interesting comparison

I just tried the same files with 7zip as you suggest and no problem. Is there some issue with rar?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikhayl
What's your decompressing program ? With winrar, quite often I have the "archive corrupted" message on opening, and when I open the same file with 7zip no problem at all.
rascal101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 06:09 AM   #45
rascal101
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 769
Downloads: 190
Uploads: 0
Default Finally SH# modded to lates NYGM 3 and all working!

Now for a second request, is there a list of NYGM3 compatible mods so those of us who cant refrain from fiddling can have something to fiddle with

R
rascal101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
torpedos through hull

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim