SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-16, 10:42 AM   #46
Tycho
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 384
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 1


Default Uboat Aces screen

Uboat Aces screen.

Let's say, that for me is not interesting to compare myself with the real Uboat Aces.
It's not relevant, even with my over 100% realism game, I pretty quick overtake them.
So, why not to use the Uboat Aces screen to compare all of mine captains.
If you play with different the captain name for every new career and want this, it's very easy to do.
All you need, is notepad. And for more easy, JSGME.
I recommend to make it JSGME ready. So first, go in "SH3/MODS" directory and create there a folder "UboatAces", in this folder create folder "data", in data create folder "cfg".
Now go in "SH3\data\Cfg", copy from there the file "UboatAces.cfg" and paste it in the new mod folder.
From here on, after every patrol you disable this mod, edit the cfg file and enable it again.
All is very understandable if you look at the original UboatAces.cfg, but however I will explain.

After your first patrol, you open the file "UboatAces.cfg", delete everything and start from the beginning:
Code:
[INIT]
Nb=1   ;;;for now it is one captain, rise by one with every new captain

[ITEM0]   ;;;your first captain
Name=Hans Reitz   ;;;captain name
NbVal=1  ;;for now it is one patrol, rise by one with every new patrol for this captain

Date0=1939   ;;;end date for the first patrol
Month0=10
Day0=4
Tonnage0=8400   ;;;tonnage for this patrol
After second patrol, you rise NbVal= by one and add new date and tonnage.
Pay attention: the first patrol is Date0(Tonnage0), the second is Date1, the third is Date2 and so on:
Code:
[INIT]
Nb=1

[ITEM0]
Name=Hans Reitz
NbVal=2  ;;;now are two patrols

Date0=1939
Month0=10
Day0=4
Tonnage0=8400

Date1=1939   ;;;end date for the second patrol
Month1=12
Day1=8
Tonnage1=2400   ;;;tonnage for this patrol
OK. Let's kill this captain and start with new one. In the beginning of the file you rise by one
"[INIT]
Nb="

Then, after last entry of the first captain you add new one "[ITEM1]".
Pay attention: the first captain is [ITEM0], the second is [ITEM1], the third one is [ITEM2] and so on:
Code:
[INIT]
Nb=2   ;;;now are two captains

[ITEM0]
Name=Hans Reitz
NbVal=2

Date0=1939
Month0=10
Day0=4
Tonnage0=8400

Date1=1939
Month1=12
Day1=8
Tonnage1=2400

[ITEM1]   ;;;your second captain
Name=Walter Kuhl
NbVal=1

Date0=1940
Month0=1
Day0=18
Tonnage0=3000
And so on... Now for me is more interesting.
After you have 4-5 or more captains behind your back, they are compared and arranged according their tonnage in that time, and you see how your current captain do the job compared with your past captains.
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-16, 10:45 AM   #47
Tycho
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 384
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 1


Default Some objects - texturing

Some objects - texturing.

How to look from where exactly some model takes its texturing.
Because SH3 use one texture for many things.
Again, let's use UZO for example:

You open the Turm .dat file with S3D, select Uzo node and look which texture is used.
 


Open this texture with graphic editor (I use PaintNet), and look the resolution.
Now in S3D, you select the 3D model and make its UV map preview with the same resolution. Save as PNG.
 


Next, in the graphic editor, you add this PNG like second layer over the texture, and now you see from where exactly UZO takes its texture.
 


If you want, you may make a new texture. The resolution is not matter, now it is 512x512, or 256x256.
 


And create a new material with this texture.
 


Now if you give this new material to the Uzo model, you will have a new texture for the UZO, that is not cross with other objects.
 


Well, this is a very silly method, but is done only with S3D and graphic editor.
It is better to remap a little the texture coordinates, but this require more programs and time, and I will not explain it right now.
 
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.

Last edited by Tycho; 05-30-16 at 05:28 AM.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-16, 04:48 AM   #48
Tycho
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 384
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 1


Default

I'm away of SH3 now, but this morning with coffee and cigarette, the idea has come to me, will be funny mod.
I go in the wild for the weekend, but after that I'll experiment with feasibility of this thing.
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-16, 04:22 PM   #49
Tycho
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 384
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho View Post
I'm away of SH3 now, but this morning with coffee and cigarette, the idea has come to me, will be funny mod.
I go in the wild for the weekend, but after that I'll experiment with feasibility of this thing.
Ok, ready.

I know, that some people make a die roll to simulate different things in SH3 and SH4.
For one example, look this thread: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom//sho...d.php?t=134809
I also use dice for some specific things and decisions.
So, why not to make it directly in the game:
 
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.

Last edited by Tycho; 12-18-16 at 08:02 AM.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-16, 12:51 AM   #50
ivanov.ruslan
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pleven,BG
Posts: 1,577
Downloads: 901
Uploads: 0
Default

Great job Tycho !
ivanov.ruslan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-16, 12:44 PM   #51
Tycho
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 384
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 1


Default

I come back to the SH3 terrain. For now, I start with this:
Code:
[IdxConversion]
IDX 1=0;	/ Generic		/ 1 season
IDX 2=1; 	/ Ice			/ 1 season
IDX 3=2; 	/ Tundra		/ 2 seasons (winter, summer)
IDX 4=3; 	/ Taiga			/ 2 seasons (winter, summer)
IDX 5=4; 	/ Temperate North	/ 4 seasons (winter, spring, summer, autumn)
IDX 6=5; 	/ Temperate South	/ 4 seasons (summer, autumn, winter, spring)
IDX 7=6; 	/ Chaparral		/ 2 seasons (winter, summer)
IDX 8=7; 	/ Desert		/ 1 season
IDX 9=8; 	/ Jungle		/ 1 season
IDX 10=9; 	/ Savanna		/ 2 seasons (summer, winter)
IDX 11=10; 	/ Grassland North	/ 2 seasons (winter, summer)
IDX 12=11; 	/ Grassland South	/ 2 seasons (summer, winter)
The textures, I have reached so far to the Chaparral.
But during the work on that, began to add transitional seasons, for example between autumn - winter, so gradually the seasons will increase.
How the Chaparral looks for you?
 


 


 
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.

Last edited by Tycho; 12-18-16 at 08:04 AM.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-16, 05:37 AM   #52
radiator
Electrician's Mate
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Leningrad
Posts: 138
Downloads: 78
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho View Post
How the Chaparral looks for you?
Oh, man, this is awesome! It seems how SH5 ... You could create it in a mod? Unlike ordinary users, you perfectly understand this. It would be nice to download your mod and look at it in the game... It's real?
radiator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-16, 07:03 AM   #53
Tycho
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 384
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radiator View Post
you perfectly understand this.
I didn't understand so much, just wasting my time to experiment with this, instead of playing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by radiator View Post
Oh, man, this is awesome! It seems how SH5 ... You could create it in a mod? Unlike ordinary users, you perfectly understand this. It would be nice to download your mod and look at it in the game... It's real?
To do mod, unlikely.
I work with 256x256 textures, and today's users want HD, 1024 even 2048.
Plus, I make things only in terms of how its looks from ConningDeck camera. With external camera from above or close, some things do not look good, but I don't care, because in the campaign I play without external cameras.

But soon, I will explain what I make. And it is not a problem when I finish, to ask and I will send you my files.
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-16, 11:59 AM   #54
radiator
Electrician's Mate
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Leningrad
Posts: 138
Downloads: 78
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho View Post
I work with 256x256 textures, and today's users want HD, 1024 even 2048.
Add texture to the game with the other resolution is not as difficult as opposed to what you're doing...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho View Post
And it is not a problem when I finish, to ask and I will send you my files.
That would be great, we will wait!
radiator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-16, 09:57 AM   #55
Tycho
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 384
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 1


Default How the terrain texturing work.

How the terrain texturing work?

First, my TerrainTypes.raw now looks like this:
 

And I have this IdxConversion:
 
Quote:
[IdxConversion]
IDX 1=0; / Generic / 1 season
IDX 2=1; / Ice / 1 season
IDX 3=2; / Tundra / 2 seasons (winter, summer)
IDX 4=3; / Taiga / 2 seasons (winter, summer)
IDX 5=4; / Temperate North / 4 seasons (winter, spring, summer, autumn)
IDX 6=5; / Temperate South / 4 seasons (summer, autumn, winter, spring)
IDX 7=6; / Chaparral / 2 seasons (winter, summer)
IDX 8=7; / Desert / 1 season
IDX 9=8; / Jungle / 1 season
IDX 10=9; / Savanna / 2 seasons (dry, wet)
IDX 11=10; / Grassland North / 2 seasons (dry, wet)
IDX 12=11; / Grassland South / 2 seasons (dry, wet)

Now, let's look over the textures for the terrains.

In Terrain.cfg for every TerrainTypeDef, have a set of four textures:
Quote:
Tex01=data/Terrain/Textures/Generic/1.tga
Tex02=data/Terrain/Textures/Generic/2.tga
Tex03=data/Terrain/Textures/Generic/3.tga
Tex04=data/Terrain/Textures/Generic/4.tga
Like you see, you are able to point to specific texture, you are able to separate the textures in different folders for different terrain types or seasons, for example.

You have some control over the first three textures, through some parameters in the Terrain.cfg.
Like "TexTilesPerKM=" - obviously means, how many textures the game will use for 1 km of the terrain.
TexTilesPerKM=3 is equal to 3x3 or 9 textures for 1 square km.
Looks:
 

If you work with HD textures, maybe is good idea, to expand the area of covering, so you lower the TexTilesPerKM.
TexTilesPerKM=1, looks:
 

Tex01= is for seabed plus some height above water, according to this parameter - MaxHeightForTex01=
Tex02= is for ground, plain area texture
Tex03= is slope texture

Tex04= is special, you control it through "DetailTextureTileFactor=".
With the default factor = 2, the texture cover 2.5 square km and lies above the first three textures.
With two previous examples, TexTilesPerKM= 3 and 1, looks:
 



I work with resolution 256x256 for textures and original parameters of:
TexTilesPerKM=3
DetailTextureTileFactor=2
Are good for me, but if you work with high resolution, maybe is reasonable to experiment with these.

TexTilesPerKM=1 / 1 square km for Tex01,02 and 03.
DetailTextureTileFactor=1 / 5 square km for Tex04.
Looks:
 


This texture act like shadow map over Tex01,02 and 03.
And because one Tex04= covers many of the lower textures (contiguous textures receive a different shade),
this help a lot, to hide the tiling effect and give character to the terrain.

Let's experiment.
I choose for textures 01, 02 and 03, these ones:
 
--

First, let's be without Tex04= (well, it is not without, but is completely white, which is the same):
 



The tiling effect is visible over slope texture, repetition of the one and the same texture. Also is visible from certain angle over the grass.
And all terrain is... just simple.

Second, will be with the default "Tex04". The original game, used one Tex04 texture (Detaile.tga) for every terrain type.
 

Now the terrain looks:
 



I don't know the terminology for these things, but I don't like it. Didn't have character, and the tiling over slope is still visible.
If you watch carefully, you will see it over grass too.

Finally, let's see, what I made.
I take the copy of the Tex03 texture and transform it to this, and use it for Tex04.
 
----->

Not for every terrain type I use the third texture, but in this concrete example, it is good for the purpose.
Now the same terrain looks:
 



Oh yes, I like it. This is terrain with character.

After the textures, is the forest file. The forest cover 5 square km, and the game places it only around the coast.
Deep inside the terrain will be waste of the resources.
 



But for the forests, I'll tell you another time.
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.

Last edited by Tycho; 12-27-16 at 01:53 PM.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-16, 12:48 PM   #56
the_frog
Commander
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 456
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

I somehow missed this thread so far. I like the information given and the style
__________________
the_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-16, 03:52 PM   #57
makman94
Hellas
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,325
Downloads: 182
Uploads: 7


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_frog View Post
I somehow missed this thread so far. I like the information given and the style
+1 ....excellent reading
__________________
Knowledge is the only thing that nobody can ever take from you...



Mediafire page:http://www.mediafire.com/folder/da50.../Makman94_Mods
makman94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-16, 05:53 AM   #58
astradeus
A-ganger
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 76
Downloads: 281
Uploads: 0
Default

Hello . I am testing new vegetation textures for sh5.
I am also shocked that the vegetation of the Mediterranean climate is not represented in the game and the very weak diversification of the vegetation in general. By doing research on the "TerrainTypes", I saw your subject. I notice that you have a good technical understanding of the subject. Maybe we could move forward this area of the game that has not yet exploited.

Some tests.

spring taïga and autumn taïga:





exemple texture full résolution :


astradeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-16, 12:55 PM   #59
Tycho
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 384
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by astradeus View Post
Hello . I am testing new vegetation textures for sh5.
I am also shocked that the vegetation of the Mediterranean climate is not represented in the game and the very weak diversification of the vegetation in general. By doing research on the "TerrainTypes", I saw your subject. I notice that you have a good technical understanding of the subject. Maybe we could move forward this area of the game that has not yet exploited.
Hi, astradeus!
I don't know nothing about SH5, I'm not familiar with SH5 files.
In SH3, now I work on new forest files, including Mediterranean, but it is tedious work, will not finish soon.
I'm with old computer, so I'm careful about computer resources and use low res textures.
And I accomplish my trees in completely different approach than original game.
But yours trees look very good, I'm tempted to test them in the game.

My Vegetation_kit.dat looks:
 


For Mediterranean, probably will use this set:
 
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-16, 03:47 PM   #60
astradeus
A-ganger
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 76
Downloads: 281
Uploads: 0
Icon14

Bravo, I see that you have advanced.

As you point out, it's a long task to modify the climatic regions of the "TerrainTypes.raw" file, add new missing regions in silent hunter and create unique textures for each region and seasons.

It seems that we had the same idea and intention almost at the same time.
I no longer play sh3. But according to your previous explanations, there are many common points between sh3 and sh5 files.

For information, sh5 uses two essential files in common:

C: \ Ubisoft \ Silent Hunter 5 \ data \ Terrain \ Terrain.cfg

C: \ Ubisoft \ Silent Hunter 5 \ data \ Terrain \ TerrainTypes.raw

The difference may be in the system of vegetation textures.

In sh5, textures are stored in

C: \ Ubisoft \ Silent Hunter 5 \ data \ Terrain \ Textures_and_Vegetation

They are 2048x256. Each texture is composed of 8 trees, representing a season. So there are 4 textures for a climate region.

The textures of the seasons are orgnanize with .ini files
like this one .

https://mega.nz/#!eEE3XSpY!VQyjJShr8...NKsDvf40Z6sQA4

I work on textures of 4096x512 and 2048x256 to create 2 versions.
One normal and one full resolution.

The graphics and the artistic part are the areas where I feel at ease. Conversely, the technical part bothers me and annoys me.

So I decided to concentrate for now, on the climatic regions that already exist in the game.

I will follow closely the evolution of your project.

Last edited by astradeus; 12-20-16 at 04:30 PM.
astradeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.