SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Old 02-26-18, 02:54 AM   #1
wizardmatt
Helmsman

Downloads: 58
Uploads: 0
Default Inaccurate weather and/or weather report bug

I am using a heavily modded GWX install. The issue is, when I ask my Watch Officer for a weather report, very often his report does not match the weather I can see when I am stood on the deck. It varies each time. On one occasion it may be that the report says "no rain" when it is clearly raining; on another occasion it may be that the report says "heavy clouds" when the game is visibly showing a "partially cloudy" state, ie. I can see fluffy white clouds below a blue sky, instead of a grey, overcast sky.
Like I said, it is a heavily modded install. But I've been playing SH3 for many years now, on and off, and I don't remember experiencing this issue before. Major changes with my current setup, compared to my previous setup, are:-

- in the past, I used the OLC Ubermod for the GUI and environment, compared to MaGui F for the UI and MEPv5/MEPv6/SH5 Water for the environment (I haven't decided which environment to settle on yet, I want to try them all)

- both h.sie's and Stiebler's hardcode fixes (including the improved weather fix)

- Just Follow Orders!

Minus a few minor tweaks here and there, the above 3 changes are the big ones. But it doesn't seem to be the environment causing the problem, because my issue has happened on all 3 of the ones listed above. I thought it could be the sensors sub-mod of MEPv5/v6 causing the issue, but, as I've just said, it happens on SH5 Water - which doesn't include such files - too. So maybe it could be MaGui F incorrectly reporting the actual weather state.