SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2016, 06:05 AM   #1066
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,299
Downloads: 956
Uploads: 0


Default

A Warm Welcome To The Subsim Community > BristolBrick
Find Help & Useful Information In My SHIV & SHV Signature Thread Links.
Subsim <> How To Donate <> See The Benefits <> Support The Community
Treat Yourself To The Wolves Of Steel Mega Mod <> SH5 The Dawn Of A New Beginning
The Wolves Of Steel Frequently Asked Questions + Campaign Fix In >FAQ’s & Game Tips (Please Look Here First Before Posting A Question)
Silent Hunter III from 2005 bring your game play to 2015 with the
LIVING SILENT HUNTER III EDITION 2015 Mega Mod
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2016, 04:19 PM   #1067
geosub1978
Captain
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Salamis Base
Posts: 542
Downloads: 181
Uploads: 0
Default

Does anyone know how I can change the availability of the 29th flotilla from DECEMBER 1941 to SEPTEMBER 1941?

Thank you!!!
__________________
geosub1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2016, 05:03 PM   #1068
BL!TZKR!EG
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,927
Downloads: 40
Uploads: 76


Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by geosub1978 View Post
Does anyone know how I can change the availability of the 29th flotilla from DECEMBER 1941 to SEPTEMBER 1941?
Why should you?

DEC 1941 is accurate, as can be read here:
Quote:
29th U-boat Flotilla ("29. Unterseebootsflottille") was formed in December 1941 in La Spezia in Italy ...
Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/29th_U-boat_Flotilla
BL!TZKR!EG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 10:19 AM   #1069
geosub1978
Captain
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Salamis Base
Posts: 542
Downloads: 181
Uploads: 0
Default

The reason is that submarines used to operate in the mediteranean since September even though they didm't have their own flottila. I want to start a carreer earlier there, without transiting!
__________________
geosub1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 06:18 AM   #1070
BL!TZKR!EG
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,927
Downloads: 40
Uploads: 76


Default Bug in "PERSONNEL FILE" creation subroutine

I think I have discovered a bug, unless this has been discussed before. I really have not the time to read through all the previous hundreds of messages.

Description:
S3C creates a very nice PERSONNEL FILE with a summary that we in |DEF| use for our SP-campaigns.

The file is created in
%My Documents%/Personnel Files/SH3/2teFlottille1/Personnel_File.html

However this should be (according to SH3's own way):
%My Documents%/SH3/Personnel Files/2teFlottille1/Personnel_File.html

so that if you play in a multiple installation environment, you would have:

%My Documents%/SH3/Personnel Files/2teFlottille1/Personnel_File.html for stock 1.4b
%My Documents%/GWX/Personnel Files/2teFlottille1/Personnel_File.html for GWX
%My Documents%/WAC/Personnel Files/2teFlottille1/Personnel_File.html for WAC

My questions are:

1)
Has this bug been found and described previously?

2)
Is there a patch fixing it?
Cause I might put out a fix for this.

3)
Has anybody got a working contact-email-address of Jaesen?
Cause the one I have tried is out of service.

Constructive responses appreciated.



BL!TZKR!EG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 06:41 AM   #1071
SquareSteelBar
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U-73
Posts: 1,614
Downloads: 463
Uploads: 0
Default

IIRC Jaesen lives in Australia.

Do you have a Facebook account?

Maybe this is the right one. With regard to the URL and the uncommon spelling of his first name there's a good chance.
SquareSteelBar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 01:40 AM   #1072
areo16
Weps
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 356
Downloads: 57
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SquareSteelBar View Post
IIRC Jaesen lives in Australia.

Do you have a Facebook account?

Maybe this is the right one. With regard to the URL and the uncommon spelling of his first name there's a good chance.
Honestly I wouldnt bother him with something so trivial. It's an easy fix really. I would bother him though about getting the source code
That way we could upload it onto github and make it an open source community project. Then we would see some great modules for SH3 Commander.

Last edited by areo16; 06-01-2016 at 02:12 AM.
areo16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 08:43 AM   #1073
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 50,261
Downloads: 607
Uploads: 249


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by areo16 View Post
I would bother him though about getting the source code
A very long time ago someone asked him that same question. He replied then that his code was also used for one or more commercial project, and that to release it would invalidate his copyrights. I doubt if that has changed.
__________________
"If mankind minus one were of one opinion, then mankind is no more justified in silencing the one than the one – if he had the power – would be justified in silencing mankind."
—John Stuart Mill



Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 12:31 PM   #1074
areo16
Weps
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 356
Downloads: 57
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailor Steve View Post
A very long time ago someone asked him that same question. He replied then that his code was also used for one or more commercial project, and that to release it would invalidate his copyrights. I doubt if that has changed.
Thanks for the clarification.
areo16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 04:53 PM   #1075
RoaldLarsen
Weps
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Control Room
Posts: 355
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Does anybody know of a way to start a new career with SH3 Commander in August 1939 instead of September?

The "Set up for a new career" dialog won't seem to let me choose a date earlier than 1939 09, and I haven't found any obvious configuration values to change.

I'm using version 2.7.0.130
__________________
100% realism, DiD
Harbor Traffic 1.47(incl. RUB)
Using SH3 Commander to implement many custom realism tweaks
Covered 1939-1945; now restarting in 1939 again.
Completed 39 careers, 210 war patrols, 4.7Mt sunk, 19 subs lost
RoaldLarsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 05:13 PM   #1076
Jimbuna
Chief of the Boat
 
Jimbuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 250 metres below the surface
Posts: 128,650
Downloads: 49
Uploads: 11


Default

Try the final version:

http://www.mediafire.com/download/v8.../SH3Cmdr32.exe
__________________
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.
Oh my God, not again!!


GWX3.0 Download Page - Donation/instant access to GWX (Help SubSim)
Jimbuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 07:55 PM   #1077
RoaldLarsen
Weps
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Control Room
Posts: 355
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbuna View Post
Thanks for the link, Jim.

I have uninstalled 2.7, installed 3.2 and, by God, I have read every one of the SH3 Commander usage tips. And yes, v3.2 allows August 1939 career starts.

Now I am about to find out if there was a good reason I didn't update all those years ago when I last played but which I have now forgotten. Time to break out WinMerge and compare configuration files...
__________________
100% realism, DiD
Harbor Traffic 1.47(incl. RUB)
Using SH3 Commander to implement many custom realism tweaks
Covered 1939-1945; now restarting in 1939 again.
Completed 39 careers, 210 war patrols, 4.7Mt sunk, 19 subs lost
RoaldLarsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2016, 08:54 AM   #1078
Jimbuna
Chief of the Boat
 
Jimbuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 250 metres below the surface
Posts: 128,650
Downloads: 49
Uploads: 11


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoaldLarsen View Post
Thanks for the link, Jim.

I have uninstalled 2.7, installed 3.2 and, by God, I have read every one of the SH3 Commander usage tips. And yes, v3.2 allows August 1939 career starts.

Now I am about to find out if there was a good reason I didn't update all those years ago when I last played but which I have now forgotten. Time to break out WinMerge and compare configuration files...
SINK EM ALL!!
__________________
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.
Oh my God, not again!!


GWX3.0 Download Page - Donation/instant access to GWX (Help SubSim)
Jimbuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2016, 11:33 AM   #1079
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 50,261
Downloads: 607
Uploads: 249


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoaldLarsen View Post
Thanks for the link, Jim.

I have uninstalled 2.7, installed 3.2 and, by God, I have read every one of the SH3 Commander usage tips. And yes, v3.2 allows August 1939 career starts.

Now I am about to find out if there was a good reason I didn't update all those years ago when I last played but which I have now forgotten. Time to break out WinMerge and compare configuration files...
Just a comment on my own play. I'm in the habit of running multiple careers side by side. One of them started in August, and someone showed me this:
http://www.uboatarchive.net/BDUKTB.htm

I use Commander to assign myself one of the boats that historically left Wilhelmshaven on August 19th. I do a "false patrol" on the 1st, cruising around the harbor for fun, and then set up the boat the way I want it. I set 'Days In Base' to '18', which allows me to leave on the 19th. I also go the long way around, as they were ordered to, and then wait for the war to begin. After that I reset 'Days In Base' to 'Random' and let it have its way. All in fun, of course.

But that's just me.
__________________
"If mankind minus one were of one opinion, then mankind is no more justified in silencing the one than the one – if he had the power – would be justified in silencing mankind."
—John Stuart Mill



Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 03:30 PM   #1080
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi,

I've just downloaded SH3 Commander (S3C). I have a few questions before using it, because i don't want to corrupt all my precious mods ! So, here they are :

1. Where is located the SH3 Commander folder ?

2. Before changing game options with S3C, should I disable first all my mods installed with JSGME ?

3. When I do a "rollback" of SH3, does it mean that I will then have to reset all the S3C parameters ? How is it with files that I have put in the SH3 Commander folder (like GWX Skin Pack which is a huge folder !!!!!) ?

4. Can I change S3C parameters when playing a career ?

Sorry if some of my questions seem a little stupid, i'm just a newbie..... so be kind with me.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sh3 commander

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim