SUBSIM®  Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM® Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2009, 12:25 PM   #166
Platapus
Fleet Admiral
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 15,021
Downloads: 63
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FIREWALL View Post
@ Platapus Simple fix. Pull out radioman for 24-48 hrs.

I don't go above 128 tc but, yes a batch of traffic can at times get annoying.
hmm If I remove the radio operator from his station that will stop all the annoying radio messages?

But then I would lose the radio contacts/interceptions that indicate possible ships.

I don't think I would want to lose the latter in favour of losing the former.
__________________
abusus non tollit usum - A right should NOT be withheld from people on the basis that some tend to abuse that right.
Platapus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 12:51 PM   #167
FIREWALL
Eternal Patrol
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: CATALINA IS. SO . CAL USA
Posts: 10,111
Downloads: 511
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Platapus View Post
hmm If I remove the radio operator from his station that will stop all the annoying radio messages?

But then I would lose the radio contacts/interceptions that indicate possible ships.

I don't think I would want to lose the latter in favour of losing the former.
I'm not sure if the batch of messages I get are the same or has skipped to the next ones.

I still get the convoy or task force messages tho with the radioman off duty.
__________________
RIP FIREWALL

I Play GWX. Silent Hunter Who ???
FIREWALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 01:30 PM   #168
Jimbuna
Chief of the Boat
 
Jimbuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 250 metres below the surface
Posts: 127,608
Downloads: 49
Uploads: 11


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Platapus View Post
Is there a way to delete the radio messages or their frequency by altering a game file?
Simply go to:

C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\GWX3.0\data\Campaigns\Campaign

You will see a text document entitled 'messages_en' this contains all the radio messages in English.

I suggest you move it to somewhere safe in case you ever need it again in the future.
__________________
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.
Oh my God, not again!!


GWX3.0 Download Page - Donation/instant access to GWX (Help SubSim)
Jimbuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 04:52 PM   #169
ivank
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huntington, Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,427
Downloads: 284
Uploads: 0
Default

I install SH3 1.4b, then SH3C, then GWX3?!
__________________
Head of The Surface Warfare Super-Mod Team

Leutnant z. S. David U. Ziegler
U-105 IXB On Patrol 1

ivank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 05:13 PM   #170
Alex
Dominant Wolf
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,143
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
Default

SH3 Commander at the end, mate.
__________________
Alex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 06:03 PM   #171
Jimbuna
Chief of the Boat
 
Jimbuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 250 metres below the surface
Posts: 127,608
Downloads: 49
Uploads: 11


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex View Post
SH3 Commander at the end, mate.
Like the man said
__________________
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.
Oh my God, not again!!


GWX3.0 Download Page - Donation/instant access to GWX (Help SubSim)
Jimbuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 07:54 PM   #172
ivank
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huntington, Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,427
Downloads: 284
Uploads: 0
Default

So I install GWX3GOLD, then SH3C, then any other mods?
__________________
Head of The Surface Warfare Super-Mod Team

Leutnant z. S. David U. Ziegler
U-105 IXB On Patrol 1

ivank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 07:59 PM   #173
JScones
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,512
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivank View Post
I install SH3 1.4b, then SH3C, then GWX3?!
You can install SH3Cmdr at ANY time. It is not connected in any way to SH3, GWX etc UNTIL you run it.

All you need remember is:
a) install the GWX config files before running SH3Cmdr
b) run SH3 first to set up the save game folder that SH3Cmdr requires access to
__________________
Download the JSGME Generic Mod Enabler
JScones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 01:02 PM   #174
Bronzewing
Helmsman
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Leicester
Posts: 108
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

I just checked my log for my last patrol, and I see I sank a C2 "SS Sea Nympg". Either a typo in SH3 Commander, or that ship was painted by a Dyslexic shipyard worker!
__________________
"I say Number one, my end is diving. What the hell is your end doing?"
Bronzewing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 02:54 PM   #175
Hitman
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Hitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,208
Downloads: 108
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
I just checked my log for my last patrol, and I see I sank a C2 "SS Sea Nympg". Either a typo in SH3 Commander, or that ship was painted by a Dyslexic shipyard worker!
Are you joking? Didn't you now that SH3 Commander also simulates real typo errors in the reports?
__________________
One day I will return to sea ...
Hitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 04:55 PM   #176
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 50,094
Downloads: 606
Uploads: 249


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bronzewing View Post
I just checked my log for my last patrol, and I see I sank a C2 "SS Sea Nympg". Either a typo in SH3 Commander, or that ship was painted by a Dyslexic shipyard worker!
A definite typo on my part. Thanks for pointing it out, and I'll fix it for the next update.
__________________
"Conversation would be vastly improved by the constant use of four simple words: I do not know."
—Andre Maurois




Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 08:22 PM   #177
TarJak
Fleet Admiral
 
TarJak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 17,631
Downloads: 150
Uploads: 8


Default

Yeah forgetting the I in Nympig is a common error.
__________________
It's my thread and I'll derail it if I want to.


]


GWX Website
TarJaks Funkraum
2008 Subsim Meet Photo Album
TarJak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 11:36 PM   #178
Graf Paper
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest United States
Posts: 1,151
Downloads: 41
Uploads: 2
Default



Still love the work both of you have done, Jaesen and Sailor Steve.

I'd sooner go without GWX, rather than be parted from my beloved and indispensable SH3 Commander!

And your contribution by adding that extra spice of realism with the "ships registry" for SH3C is like the cherry on top of an ice cream sundae, SS!

If I thought begging and groveling like the most piteous wretch to ever grace this earth would soften your heart enough to create SH4 Commander, I would do so with bells on, Jaesen. You are truly the greatest of unsung heroes here in the Mods Workshop.

Bless all your endeavors!
__________________
Still sailing the high seas, hunting convoys with those who join me.
Graf Paper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 02:56 AM   #179
JScones
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,512
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TarJak View Post
Yeah forgetting the I in Nympig is a common error.
Phew. I thought for a second that SS managed to replace a "ho" with a "g".
__________________
Download the JSGME Generic Mod Enabler
JScones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 02:59 AM   #180
JScones
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,512
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graf Paper View Post


Still love the work both of you have done, Jaesen and Sailor Steve.

I'd sooner go without GWX, rather than be parted from my beloved and indispensable SH3 Commander!

And your contribution by adding that extra spice of realism with the "ships registry" for SH3C is like the cherry on top of an ice cream sundae, SS!

If I thought begging and groveling like the most piteous wretch to ever grace this earth would soften your heart enough to create SH4 Commander, I would do so with bells on, Jaesen. You are truly the greatest of unsung heroes here in the Mods Workshop.

Bless all your endeavors!
What is this "SH4" of which you speak?

Unfortunately, SH4 lasted about 1 day on my hard drive. I might see what SH5 brings, although I think--if user comments are anything to go by--that the devs should now have the hint to include everything within the game, in which case no SH5Cmdr will be required. <fingers crossed>

Anyway, didn't a few others take over the controls for an SH4Cmdr (or equivalent)?
__________________
Download the JSGME Generic Mod Enabler
JScones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sh3 commander

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim