Click here to access the Helosim website
SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

BUYING GAMES, BOOKS, ELECTRONICS, and STUFF
THROUGH THIS LINK SUPPORTS SUBSIM, THANKS!

The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations!

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > General > Helosim.com and Flight Sims

Old 10-08-09, 06:45 AM   #1
Skybird
Soaring

Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0

Default BOB II: WoV

First memories of a complete newby

My 2nd hand copy of BOBII has arrived very early this morning, and first test flights have been conducted.

I need to crochet a scarf for Dowly's precious neck, for it seems I very much like what I have seen so far.

I had printed the manual (450 pages) some days ago, and already sudied most of what it said about setting up the sim, and plane flying, the campain chapters I just started to read into.

Obviously this sim needs a lot of trial and error and experimentation before it runs the way you want it to on your system. Some of the recommend settings simply did not work for me as described, and I had to use settings that were not recommended, ingame resolution, for example: it took me a while before I managed to increase the ingame-resolution from 640x480 to 1680x1050 - but then it was a real beauty to watch.

The flight model feels every good, and much more complex than the toy-FM in IL2, it also is more complex and features details that I look for in vein both in IL2 and even the Spirtfire by RealAir for FS9. The stiffening controls at higher speeds is such a detail. the plane's manouverability gives a very solid, realistic feel, too, much more belieavble than the often over-sensitive planes in other flightsims. All in all, flying these prop babes is a totally different thing than in European Air War, IL2 or FS. It all feels way much more realistic and close to how it really was, than IL2. I also like the somewhat pale colour palette, reminds me of SBP .