SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2018, 01:21 AM   #1
Greystone
Helmsman
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Francisco area
Posts: 105
Downloads: 110
Uploads: 0
Default That !*@#< default screen

When surfaced and the lookouts spot a contact, a screen pops up requesting that the player choose one of three actions, with a choice to make one of them default. It's a pain & just gets in the way. Is there a way to stop it from appearing? (playing vanilla) Thanks.
Greystone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 01:27 AM   #2
schlechter pfennig
XO
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 436
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greystone View Post
When surfaced and the lookouts spot a contact, a screen pops up requesting that the player choose one of three actions, with a choice to make one of them default. It's a pain & just gets in the way. Is there a way to stop it from appearing? (playing vanilla) Thanks.
Decide which action you want as default, tick the default box and select OK. My suggestion is to tick "current action" as that enables you to decide what to do each and every time.
schlechter pfennig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 04:05 AM   #3
stork100
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 74
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
Default

Try this: Find the SH3 folder in My Documents and open data/cfg/GameplaySettings.cfg. Should find this:

[MiscSettings]
AlwaysAutotargeting=0,0,0,0,0;for warships, merchants, uboats, air and, respectively, land targets

The numbers might be different if you've selected any default actions before. Just change all the numbers to 1's, which I think is the option to maintain current orders, and the small screen shouldn't appear any more.

Not sure if this works as I've not tried it, but this is definetly the thing that controls that. Personally, I really like it. Gives me a thrill when it comes up after staring at my map view for over an hour of real time!
stork100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 05:09 AM   #4
hauangua
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 661
Downloads: 1162
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stork100 View Post
Try this: Find the SH3 folder in My Documents and open data/cfg/GameplaySettings.cfg. Should find this:

[MiscSettings]
AlwaysAutotargeting=0,0,0,0,0;for warships, merchants, uboats, air and, respectively, land targets

The numbers might be different if you've selected any default actions before. Just change all the numbers to 1's, which I think is the option to maintain current orders, and the small screen shouldn't appear any more.

Not sure if this works as I've not tried it, but this is definetly the thing that controls that. Personally, I really like it. Gives me a thrill when it comes up after staring at my map view for over an hour of real time!
More easy and sure @schlechter pfennig solution
__________________
Parked under the balcony with my U-27 waiting Juliet finish makeup
hauangua is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2018, 12:15 AM   #5
Greystone
Helmsman
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Francisco area
Posts: 105
Downloads: 110
Uploads: 0
Default

I gave your suggestion a shot, stork100, and no screen has shown up with the last 4 or 5 air contacts. Looks like that's the solution.
Thanks for the help...
FWIW, I tried the method of choosing the current action and then defaulting it and exiting the screen but the screen continued to show up. Since it apparently works for others, it may be something in my hardware/software, whatever, that keeps it repeating in my case. But, as mentioned, stork100's solution did the trick.

Last edited by Greystone; 03-20-2018 at 09:12 PM.
Greystone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2018, 01:15 AM   #6
stork100
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 74
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
Default

Nice. I'll have to try it myself sometime.
stork100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim