SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2010, 01:35 PM   #1
conus00
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: DB85
Posts: 803
Downloads: 165
Uploads: 0
[REL] Conus' SH3GWX Widescreen Mod

SH3GWXWS 3.2

First of all let me point out a few facts:
The mod itself which allows the game to run in wide screen is NOT my idea. The ddl and config files were created by Rubini and Seeadler. I just built on their idea and buit complete wide screen interface with a few improvements of my own and some files from other modders. Thank you for developing it and allowing me build on it!

Secondly, I started this project for my personal use and didn't really intend to release it but with amounting time I've spent developing it I thought that I might share the result with the community. Because I started this project on my already modded SH3 I couldn't help it but to use graphic elements from other modders.
I would like to thank these following people because I used some of the graphic files or their portions in my mod:
Hitman
JCWolf
Karamazovnew

HanSolo78
Gentlemen,
(a) if you feel like I wronged you by using some of your elements and you would like them removed from the mod please let me know
(b) if used your gaphics but didn't credit you and you don't mind leaving it in the mod, please let me know as well

Lastly this mod includes (with his permission) Anvarts' GWX_SH4StyleFlag_fullModel with the flag textures replaced by mine to match the rest of the mod.

Ok, this being said, what is actually SH3GWX?

It is an mod which allows you to run SH3GWX in 1360x768 without stretching and distorting any images. Unfortunately there is no way how to make this mod to cover multi-resolutions (for people who run SH3GWX in other resolutions you may still use it but you MAY experience some weird graphic glitches). Also this mod is NOT compatible with any other mod with changes in Cameras.dat and menu_1024_768.ini.
The recent release is ver 3.2 but please note that there are no versions 1.0 - 3.1. The numbering was for my sole purpose of development and I will keep the first release under 3.2 because it will help me in making any changes in the future.

What can you expect in this mod?

-All loading screens and all background screens were resized (but not just stretched) to fit 1360x768
-Ranks and medals were replaced with better resolution ones
-All officers faces are modified stock icons, all petty officers and sailor icons were created from scratch
-The font used in messages screen was adjusted so small caps "j" is no longer being cut off
-All pull-out icons and order icons were completely re-created
-Pull-down flags list was re-created
-Recognition manual flags were replaced
-Small changes in the TDC files, bearing strip
-Binocular, Attack & Observation Periscopes and UZO view was replaced with historically accurate ones
-included my retextured Minnensucher
...multiple other small changes I lost track of.

Here is the D/L link: http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?gmwvyzuxkuk

If you have any comments/suggestions/constructive criticism, all are welcome.
Hope you enjoy it.
Cheers,

-Libor

Few screenies








__________________

Last edited by conus00; 05-30-2010 at 12:30 PM.
conus00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 01:36 PM   #2
conus00
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: DB85
Posts: 803
Downloads: 165
Uploads: 0
Default

Here is first tiny update for people who do not want medals or ranks on crew and want to use my Rank_Deco_ND.tga.
This one removes just medals - No Medals On Crew For SH3GWXWS: D/L http://www.mediafire.com/?ywmh2nm2yiw
This one removes both medals and ranks - No Medals No Ranks On Crew For SH3GWXWS: D/L http://www.mediafire.com/?gewjo3gjmtc

Gentlemen as of today my computer is boxed up and loaded on United VanLines semi along with my other stuff to be moved to Florida. I am stuck back in Ohio, tying some loose ends and don't expect to leave here for week or so.

I still have (albeit very limited) access to the internet but any file changes will have to wait until it is delivered to Tampa. I will still try to answer as many questions as you might have as possible.
__________________

Last edited by conus00; 06-02-2010 at 08:06 AM.
conus00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 02:03 PM   #3
reaper7
sim2reality
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: AM 82
Posts: 2,278
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 32
Default

Conus00, what can I say. Brilliant stuff, I'm tempted to turn of my internet (DRM can go ta hell - SH5) and just go play this instead.
Will see some hours put into playing this with GWX. Now all thats needed is Hitman to bring out his optics mod for this

And don't forget to take a well deserved rest.

Edit: Sorry noticed that his optics are already included.
Does it aslo contain the RAOBF?

Last edited by reaper7; 05-26-2010 at 02:25 PM.
reaper7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 02:53 PM   #4
conus00
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: DB85
Posts: 803
Downloads: 165
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reaper7 View Post
Conus00, what can I say. Brilliant stuff, I'm tempted to turn of my internet (DRM can go ta hell - SH5) and just go play this instead.
Will see some hours put into playing this with GWX. Now all thats needed is Hitman to bring out his optics mod for this

And don't forget to take a well deserved rest.

Edit: Sorry noticed that his optics are already included.
Does it aslo contain the RAOBF?
Unfortunately the mod does not contain Hitman's Optics only some graphic elements of it. Same goes for RAOBF.
I am not THAT skilled modifying menu_1024_768.ini.
__________________
conus00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 03:17 PM   #5
Magic1111
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany - Sailing on U-552 in North Atlantic
Posts: 4,414
Downloads: 777
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi conos00 !

Wonderful MOD, many thanks !!!

But I´ve one question and a big wish: Is it possible to become the Rank_Deco_ND.tga, which comes with your MOD, without medals ?

Best regards,
Magic
Magic1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 03:52 PM   #6
Anvart
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia ®
Posts: 2,354
Downloads: 65
Uploads: 1
Default

__________________
Alex ®
Anvart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 04:01 PM   #7
reaper7
sim2reality
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: AM 82
Posts: 2,278
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by conus00 View Post
Unfortunately the mod does not contain Hitman's Optics only some graphic elements of it. Same goes for RAOBF.
I am not THAT skilled modifying menu_1024_768.ini.
Ok, maybe I'll attempt it down the road after my other project.
reaper7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 04:07 PM   #8
nemo7
Weps
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Averof's bunk
Posts: 357
Downloads: 370
Uploads: 0
Default

Ahoy mate. I'd love to use this great mod but I'm getting the error message "can not initialize 3D engine". Loading via JSGME on a fresh GWX3.0, monitor res 1366x768. Any ideas?
__________________
Deep into that darkness peering, long I stood there wondering, fearing,
Doubting, dreaming dreams no mortal ever dared to dream before...

Last edited by nemo7; 05-26-2010 at 04:21 PM.
nemo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 04:41 PM   #9
Seeadler
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Northern Germany
Posts: 1,395
Downloads: 165
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nemo7 View Post
Ahoy mate. I'd love to use this great mod but I'm getting the error message "can not initialize 3D engine".
if you use a NVIDIA card, see here
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...7&postcount=10
__________________
--
Vapor-ware is always easier to sell because there's no limit what it can do!
Seeadler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 05:12 PM   #10
KING111
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 172
Downloads: 194
Uploads: 0
Default

thanks m8 great work its working ok on my 28 inch
with a nvidia card at 1600x1200
i would like to get it up to 1920x1200
but if i try and run the game at that
it crashes saying the game 3D engine well not run?
the crash is nothing to do with your mod
it all ways does it even if i have no mods on
KING111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 06:00 PM   #11
nemo7
Weps
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Averof's bunk
Posts: 357
Downloads: 370
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seeadler View Post
I'm on my laptop matey; Mobile Intel 4500MHD.
__________________
Deep into that darkness peering, long I stood there wondering, fearing,
Doubting, dreaming dreams no mortal ever dared to dream before...
nemo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 07:18 PM   #12
nemo7
Weps
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Averof's bunk
Posts: 357
Downloads: 370
Uploads: 0
Default

Found it. Just correct the res values in the d3d9.ini file from 1360x768 to 1366x768.
Great job matey!
__________________
Deep into that darkness peering, long I stood there wondering, fearing,
Doubting, dreaming dreams no mortal ever dared to dream before...
nemo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 07:49 PM   #13
Herr-Berbunch
Kaiser Bill's batman
 
Herr-Berbunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AN72
Posts: 14,292
Downloads: 75
Uploads: 0
Default Sterling work

Tip top Conus, all I need now is my new 22" widescreen monitor and it's a big thumbs up.
__________________
Herr-Berbunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 09:22 PM   #14
iblitz
Helmsman
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Subwolves Lair...
Posts: 102
Downloads: 196
Uploads: 0
Default

Great job! Just finished editing to get it working with FM's Interior and the Super Turm mod.....
__________________
Cry "HAVOC!", and let slip the dogs of war


BdU - Wolves at War
Uboat War 1939-1945
iblitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 08:20 AM   #15
Turd Ferguson
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Downloads: 31
Uploads: 0
Default

Fantastic job. Thanks very much!

G.
Turd Ferguson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim