SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
The newest naval sim by Totem Games!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2017, 07:46 PM   #16
Jeff-Groves
Knight of the Richards
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,645
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0


Default

If you work in Max a simple script can import all models and another can re-size them then a 3rd to mass export.

If you do them 1 at a time I have a program for that I can upload.
__________________
Hex Editing Master. The last of a dying Breed.
"He didn't give us many fish. He taught us to fish."
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 04:10 AM   #17
Kendras
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 874
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Icon2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
If you work in Max a simple script can import all models and another can re-size them then a 3rd to mass export.

If you do them 1 at a time I have a program for that I can upload.
I'm only working with Wings, but I could install Max just for the purpose. Does your program work only with Max ? Maybe the easiest way is that I send you the files, you resize them and you send them on my Mediafire page ? What do you think ?
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 12:33 PM   #18
Jeff-Groves
Knight of the Richards
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,645
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0


Default

Send the files if you want.
But it will be several days before I have all my 3D software loaded back up.
__________________
Hex Editing Master. The last of a dying Breed.
"He didn't give us many fish. He taught us to fish."
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 12:50 PM   #19
Kendras
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 874
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
Send the files if you want.
But it will be several days before I have all my 3D software loaded back up.
Thank you. PM sent !
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 12:53 PM   #20
eslytd
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Downloads: 94
Uploads: 0
Default hello

Hello
eslytd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 01:26 PM   #21
Jeff-Groves
Knight of the Richards
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,645
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0


Default

Example file link sent.
__________________
Hex Editing Master. The last of a dying Breed.
"He didn't give us many fish. He taught us to fish."
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 06:59 AM   #22
Anvart
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia ®, E-burg
Posts: 2,351
Downloads: 65
Uploads: 1
wolf_howl15

@Kendras
If you want to make another flag animation, go ahead! Use (trial or student license) 3ds Max, Maya or other 3D editor. 3ds max has the script that allows you to get the key frames for future animation... These frames you must to pack into animation file for Silent Hunter, using S3D (skwasjer).
If you position yourself as modder you just need to learn everything yourself and make own work. No problems.
Sorry, if ... It's my opinion only.
__________________
Alex ®

Last edited by Anvart; 03-14-2017 at 09:37 AM.
Anvart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 07:16 AM   #23
Kendras
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 874
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anvart View Post
@Kendras
If you want to make another flag animation, go ahead! Use (trial or student license) 3ds Max, Maya or other 3D editor. 3ds max has the script that allows you to get the key frames for future animation... These frames you must to pack into animation file for Silent Hunter, using S3D (skwasjer).
Thank you for the tip.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anvart View Post
If you position yourself as moder you just need to learn everything yourself and make own work. No problems.
Yes I know. I'm learning everything from myself (and tutorials, and advice from other members) about SH3, S3D, JSGME, mission editor, Wings3D, Audacity, Paint.net etc. for now several years. I've just given up with hex edition ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anvart View Post
Sorry, if ... It's my opinion only.
Don't be sorry for your opinions.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 10:28 AM   #24
Anvart
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia ®, E-burg
Posts: 2,351
Downloads: 65
Uploads: 1
wolf_howl15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
... Wings3D ...
Why not the Blender?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras
... I've just given up with hex edition ...
Skill to work with a Hex Editor is very important...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras
... Don't be sorry for your opinions.
Just, some people misunderstand me...
__________________
Alex ®
Anvart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 01:23 PM   #25
Jeff-Groves
Knight of the Richards
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,645
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anvart View Post
Skill to work with a Hex Editor is very important...
To be the best you can be at Modding?
Hex editing is the Master of all tools and skills.
Anvart is one of my teachers.
I do not think there is anyone else left here at SubSim that know the SH files and hex editing as well as the two of us.


I can do things with 010 Hex editor that S3D nor other released tools can do.
I can do things faster then S3D and other tools can do.
Time is money to me. Given a free tool that limits me?
I'll pay for the tool that does not limit me in any way.
__________________
Hex Editing Master. The last of a dying Breed.
"He didn't give us many fish. He taught us to fish."
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 11:42 AM   #26
Anvart
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia ®, E-burg
Posts: 2,351
Downloads: 65
Uploads: 1
wolf_howl15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
To be the best you can be at Modding?
...

Maybe I did not understand correctly your phrase... but, from January 2006 to mid-2009, for the creation of my mods, I used hex editor and my working code for unpacking and packing of 3D models and some controllers.
Now I use a hex editor only when I can not do without it.
__________________
Alex ®
Anvart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 11:36 PM   #27
Jeff-Groves
Knight of the Richards
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,645
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anvart View Post

Maybe I did not understand correctly your phrase... but, from January 2006 to mid-2009, for the creation of my mods, I used hex editor and my working code for unpacking and packing of 3D models and some controllers.
Now I use a hex editor only when I can not do without it.
My point exactly.
How would you change crew animations?
S3D will not do that on it's own.
__________________
Hex Editing Master. The last of a dying Breed.
"He didn't give us many fish. He taught us to fish."
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 05:07 PM   #28
Anvart
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia ®, E-burg
Posts: 2,351
Downloads: 65
Uploads: 1
wolf_howl15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
My point exactly.
How would you change crew animations?
S3D will not do that on it's own.
3ds Max - Motionbuilder, Maya, iClone, CLO Enterprise (cloth) and so on...
__________________
Alex ®
Anvart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2017, 06:22 PM   #29
Jeff-Groves
Knight of the Richards
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,645
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anvart View Post
3ds Max - Motionbuilder, Maya, iClone, CLO Enterprise (cloth) and so on...

You know S3D will not import them properly without hex editing.
__________________
Hex Editing Master. The last of a dying Breed.
"He didn't give us many fish. He taught us to fish."
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 01:58 PM   #30
Anvart
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia ®, E-burg
Posts: 2,351
Downloads: 65
Uploads: 1
wolf_howl15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
You know S3D will not import them properly without hex editing.
S3D perfectly packs up a series of poses to the animation file for animation files... if mesh animation has type '0500' - MeshAnimationData (© skwas)... if you want to have '0580' type (MeshAnimationData2 - © skwas), you can use hex editor...
if you remember the body2 has '0500' animation type in POS_WR.anm orig. file...
__________________
Alex ®

Last edited by Anvart; 03-26-2017 at 01:55 AM.
Anvart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim