SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2015, 11:38 AM   #1
jscharpf
Every Day Is Race Day
 
jscharpf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 243
Downloads: 229
Uploads: 0
Default How to know what time it is?

Sorry if this sounds like a stupid question, but is there any way on board my sub to indicate what time of day (local) it is? I see "base time" and I realize I'm several time zones off as I go west, but is there a way to set local or GMT time time in SH4?

Alternatively, I suppose I could find a chart online that shows time zones.. I was hoping for a clock in the game.
jscharpf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 11:43 AM   #2
HertogJan
Weps
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 367
Downloads: 114
Uploads: 0
Default

No there isn't... base time is what you're stuck with
HertogJan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 01:21 PM   #3
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 50,253
Downloads: 607
Uploads: 249


Default

SH3 had a Local Time function. They "fixed" it for SH4. Praise to you, jscharpf, for figuring it out. Most players (and there are a lot) just come in with "Why is the sun going down at 1300 hours?"
__________________
"If mankind minus one were of one opinion, then mankind is no more justified in silencing the one than the one – if he had the power – would be justified in silencing mankind."
—John Stuart Mill



Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 02:14 PM   #4
BigWalleye
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Beyond Black River - in Pict country, you betcha!
Posts: 1,978
Downloads: 464
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailor Steve View Post
SH3 had a Local Time function. They "fixed" it for SH4. Praise to you, jscharpf, for figuring it out. Most players (and there are a lot) just come in with "Why is the sun going down at 1300 hours?"
The US Naval Observatory website will provide charts of sunrise/sunset, moonrise/moonset, and beginning and end of nautical twilight for any lat/lon you specify, for each day of any calendar year you specify. And the times will be adjusted to whatever time zone you specify. So, for example, you can get a chart of sunrise/sunset times for Bungo Suido for 1943 with times shown in Honolulu Time. Copy/paste the chart to a text editor and print it out.

http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/docs/RS_OneYear.php

I find these charts very useful.
BigWalleye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 04:19 PM   #5
merc4ulfate
The Old Man
 
merc4ulfate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 1,582
Downloads: 184
Uploads: 0
Default

Just do the math ... it isn't that hard.

I never pay attention to what time it is.
__________________
Self-education is, I firmly believe, the only kind of education there is.
~Isaac Asimov~

Mercfulfate
将補
日本帝國海軍

merc4ulfate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 04:56 PM   #6
Crannogman
Weps
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 354
Downloads: 24
Uploads: 0
Default

I am curious what time zone is used for the times in the mission editor; GMT?
__________________
"The sea shall ride over her and she shall live in it like a duck"
~John Ericsson
Crannogman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 06:42 PM   #7
jscharpf
Every Day Is Race Day
 
jscharpf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 243
Downloads: 229
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks everyone, yes I understand that I can just do the math. I used to have a printed map of the world with all of the time zones relevant to Zulu. I think it was for FSX lol..
Anyway I was just hoping the game had a way to "set" the clock.

No big deal.
jscharpf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015, 02:46 AM   #8
TorpX
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3,993
Downloads: 153
Uploads: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crannogman View Post
I am curious what time zone is used for the times in the mission editor; GMT?
I was wondering about this too. If AI subs were to be scripted into a campaign, it would make sense to do it according to local day/night times.


TorpX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015, 08:12 AM   #9
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 50,253
Downloads: 607
Uploads: 249


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crannogman View Post
I am curious what time zone is used for the times in the mission editor; GMT?
I haven't played SH4 in awhile, but I'm pretty sure it's Base time, i.e. your home port.
__________________
"If mankind minus one were of one opinion, then mankind is no more justified in silencing the one than the one – if he had the power – would be justified in silencing mankind."
—John Stuart Mill



Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015, 09:04 AM   #10
Crannogman
Weps
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 354
Downloads: 24
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailor Steve View Post
I haven't played SH4 in awhile, but I'm pretty sure it's Base time, i.e. your home port.
But there's no base on the campaign layer
__________________
"The sea shall ride over her and she shall live in it like a duck"
~John Ericsson
Crannogman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015, 11:09 AM   #11
razark
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,589
Downloads: 350
Uploads: 10


Default

Does anyone know what was used by the boats during the war?

Did they all use one standard (Pearl? GMT?) Did they set their clocks to the base they started from? I imagine that changing time zones would make using "local" time problematic for coordination with other units, not to mention log-keeping.
__________________
"Never ask a World War II history buff for a 'final solution' to your problem!"
razark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015, 03:44 PM   #12
merc4ulfate
The Old Man
 
merc4ulfate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: florida
Posts: 1,582
Downloads: 184
Uploads: 0
Default

UTC?
__________________
Self-education is, I firmly believe, the only kind of education there is.
~Isaac Asimov~

Mercfulfate
将補
日本帝國海軍

merc4ulfate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 03:07 AM   #13
TorpX
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3,993
Downloads: 153
Uploads: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailor Steve View Post
I haven't played SH4 in awhile, but I'm pretty sure it's Base time, i.e. your home port.
If you say script a mission with a enemy battleship transiting between two islands at noon Dec. 24 1941, and put it into the campaign, it could be valid for any sub, from any base, no?

Or, are you saying scripted times would change according to your base?


TorpX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 01:01 PM   #14
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 50,253
Downloads: 607
Uploads: 249


Default

I think I was saying what I remember from playing the game years ago. I have no clue how it actually works, just what I thought I remembered.

Here's one for you: In SH3 the time of day you started your patrol was randomized. In SH4 it's always exactly the same time - I think 1100 hours. Why is that?
__________________
"If mankind minus one were of one opinion, then mankind is no more justified in silencing the one than the one – if he had the power – would be justified in silencing mankind."
—John Stuart Mill



Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 01:25 PM   #15
Crannogman
Weps
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 354
Downloads: 24
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailor Steve View Post
I think I was saying what I remember from playing the game years ago. I have no clue how it actually works, just what I thought I remembered.

Here's one for you: In SH3 the time of day you started your patrol was randomized. In SH4 it's always exactly the same time - I think 1100 hours. Why is that?
I started my last patrol at midnight...
__________________
"The sea shall ride over her and she shall live in it like a duck"
~John Ericsson
Crannogman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim