SUBSIM®  Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM® Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2009, 10:49 PM   #46
Rubini
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: São Paulo Brazil
Posts: 2,754
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reece
@ Rubini, has a fix ever been found for the cursor that dissapears by the amount greater than 1024 x 768 (hope you know what I mean).
Hi Reece,

Sorry to not reply this question before. I guess that was the rush to finish the mod and my real life...

Yes, I know what you mean...and AFAIK it continues there on highresolution mod and then also in WS mod if you use it with HR mod...I frequently play the game in stock 1024x768 because in my system the HR mod don´t allow me to alt tab what is essential to make/test mods. Also, frequently, when making mods I play windowed...then I don´t notice this bug from ages!
__________________
One gamer's must-have mod is another gamer's waste of time.
-Sailor Steve
Rubini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 11:58 PM   #47
Reece
CINC Pacific Fleet
 
Reece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down Under
Posts: 21,941
Downloads: 171
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
when making mods I play windowed...then I don´t notice this bug from ages!
Cripes I never thought of running in a window, if it works then I would say that the mouse simply uses the system driver, not it's own.
__________________

Sub captains go down with their ship!
Reece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 01:11 PM   #48
StarLion45
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Stavanger,Norway
Posts: 895
Downloads: 78
Uploads: 0
Default Here's the screenshot , Rubini

Hi

I've been thinking . The sub looking good as you can see .
I can live with the periscope looking oval , but the sun halo , I can't stand
I looked at my " d3d9.dll " file , I see there's gamma settings in it . I using the "famous " " nHancer 2.4.2 " (august 2008 ) , with pleasure You wrote in the "nHancer" post sometime ago that gamma correction must be turned off . Ok,,
here's the question , can it be possible to change , and maybe turn of the gamma settings in the "d3d9.dll" file in away :hmm: ' Cause the sun looking ugly .


Anyway here is the screenshot :


__________________
GWX 3.0 . GOLD .
SH3 CMDR 3.2
JSGME


StarLion45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 02:31 PM   #49
Rubini
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: São Paulo Brazil
Posts: 2,754
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 0
Default

StarLion,

So, it's working. Good.
About periscope and all others 2D masks, as I said in the first post, they are not yet fixed but it's doable. This is just a pre beta to we "taste" the mod.

Sun halo and event camera seems that are hardcoded and perhaps never will be fixed. Anyway I yet have some hope on sun halo problem...because as it is now its a no go to me too. I'm too eye candy freaking guy to live without it.
__________________
One gamer's must-have mod is another gamer's waste of time.
-Sailor Steve
Rubini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 02:42 PM   #50
Rubini
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: São Paulo Brazil
Posts: 2,754
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 0
Default

Now about Gamma correction.
The gama AA correction in the nhancer/nvidia driver isn't the same that are in HR mod. HR mod settings is just about shine and contrast (Gama) of the middle tones.

The Gama AA correction on nhancer/nvidia is about a polished way to apply AA, what have some problems in some games. In Sh3 the main problem is about sun halo.

But...in the widescreen mod this is not the same problem. The problem here is linked to the camera position wich is modified by the mod; probably something hardcoded or at least difficult to find a solution until now. We have sun halo on the WS mod, but only at the far left side of the window...also totally normal in the event camera (because the event camera wasn't modded in truth); this is what intrigues me...must be a solution in some place on the Sh3 files. I already tried a lot of things on scene.dat, cameras.dat but no dice. Perhaps one day...:hmm:
__________________
One gamer's must-have mod is another gamer's waste of time.
-Sailor Steve
Rubini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 03:16 PM   #51
Fubar2Niner
Silent Hunter
 
Fubar2Niner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London. UK
Posts: 4,244
Downloads: 252
Uploads: 0


Default

@Rubini

Just taken your beta for a whirl after work held me up sooooooo long . What can I say......... stunning shipmate abso bloody lutely stunning !!!!!!!!!!

Just 2 example screenshots;

1st without w/screen fix:

Then in full WIDESCREEN GLORY:


If this is a taste of things to come, I feel we all @ SubSim owe you enough beer to ground your boot in. More tests and shots to follow.

Best regards.

Fubar2Niner
__________________


My Mediafire account:
http://www.mediafire.com/?pq6fesgls2il0
Fubar2Niner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 06:05 PM   #52
Rubini
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: São Paulo Brazil
Posts: 2,754
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks Fubar2Nine!

Yeah, the immersion feeling is really boosted a lot.
It´s a pit that the event camera and the sun halo have the above exposed problems. Like I said, perhaps one day we can find at least the solution for sun halo.
__________________
One gamer's must-have mod is another gamer's waste of time.
-Sailor Steve
Rubini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 08:21 AM   #53
Reece
CINC Pacific Fleet
 
Reece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down Under
Posts: 21,941
Downloads: 171
Uploads: 0


Default

Can anyone show a snapshot of the sunHalo problem please?
__________________

Sub captains go down with their ship!
Reece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 12:52 PM   #54
-SWCowboy.
Commodore
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Japan
Posts: 624
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

If you need help with anything graphics wise I'd love to help out with any photoshopping necessary.
__________________
SaltwaterCowboy
-SWCowboy. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 02:07 PM   #55
StarLion45
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Stavanger,Norway
Posts: 895
Downloads: 78
Uploads: 0
Annoying problem

Ahoy all

Reece asked if anyone could take a screenshot of the sun halo in this widescreen mod . So I did exactly that , and get this annoying , irritating , thing that appeared on my screen Everytime , no matter what I do
I use the "new" res.fix with those two batch files .
And I use also " Screenhunter 5.0 Free " , but the " screen hunter 5.0 free "
not seem to work properly in Rubinis " Widescreen mod " .

Here it is . What is the problem :


__________________
GWX 3.0 . GOLD .
SH3 CMDR 3.2
JSGME


StarLion45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 03:56 PM   #56
jimmie
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 258
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

This is great! I'm fiddling with the value now.

I'm not sure but isn't scope view stretched yet? (not 2D tga but the 3D world in the view inside of scope)
jimmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 06:50 PM   #57
Reece
CINC Pacific Fleet
 
Reece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down Under
Posts: 21,941
Downloads: 171
Uploads: 0


Default

@ StarLion & Rubini, that sun is stuffed, has anyone tried changing the sun size settings in the scene.dat file, I have changed it (experimenting) in the past & had this effect happen, could be a clue, also changing the sunhalo tga size, alpha I think, had this effect, I still haven't got my widescreen yet, still waiting for delivery, so can't do much to help!!
__________________

Sub captains go down with their ship!
Reece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 06:53 AM   #58
Rubini
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: São Paulo Brazil
Posts: 2,754
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 0
Default No, it's not a square.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reece
@ StarLion & Rubini, that sun is stuffed, has anyone tried changing the sun size settings in the scene.dat file, I have changed it (experimenting) in the past & had this effect happen, could be a clue, also changing the sunhalo tga size, alpha I think, had this effect, I still haven't got my widescreen yet, still waiting for delivery, so can't do much to help!!
In my computer, using WScreen mod, I only not have the sunhalo at the entire screen, but not this annoying square like StarLion. The sun is a correct ball with correct light and even the sun halo is present but only at the far left of the screen.

And yes, I already tried everything that I could imagine on scene.dat, cameras.dat, even tried to make a new sunhalo using particles controllers but no dice. So, or we have the correct WScreen aspect and will live with the sun halo only at the left border (in the event cameras it continues correct) or we drop the mod and continues only with the 4:3 aspect.
It's a **** anachronistic stock limitation from SH3. Why the sun halo don't render correctly when all , absolutelly all others things do it?

SWCowboy,
Thanks by the offer, will be very helpfull IF we carry the WScreen mod ahead. The sun halo, even not so intense problem like in the StarLion shoot, is present as I described above and its a downside anyway.
__________________
One gamer's must-have mod is another gamer's waste of time.
-Sailor Steve
Rubini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 07:55 AM   #59
Reece
CINC Pacific Fleet
 
Reece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down Under
Posts: 21,941
Downloads: 171
Uploads: 0


Default

Just another thought Rubini, is there any difference between 8 & 16k? wonder what the SH4 Scene.dat shows? Wish I had the damned monitor for testing!!
__________________

Sub captains go down with their ship!
Reece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 08:05 AM   #60
Rubini
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: São Paulo Brazil
Posts: 2,754
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Reece,

I didn't tested it on 16km. Can you or somebody do it?

The mod only modify the cameras, so I guess that it will work and have the same problems as the 8km which I tested.:hmm:
__________________
One gamer's must-have mod is another gamer's waste of time.
-Sailor Steve
Rubini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim