SUBSIM®  Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM® Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2009, 10:47 AM   #181
Silent Steel
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Immer am Periskop
Posts: 1,731
Downloads: 618
Uploads: 0
Don't get to work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubini View Post
January, 21 2009
Wide Screen mod for SH3 open pre beta V1.0
======================================
Mod by Rubini.
======================================
Compatible with GWX 2.1/3.0

Credits:
Skwas' S3D tool
GWX team

Usage and actual progress:
This mod allows SH3 to run in a wide screen mode without streched 3D images.
I and others already have tryed to find a way to get this in the past but without any progres until I find the solution some days ago.
In this stage the mod is already useful and ready to be used. Note that for now only (but the more important ones) 3D views are adjusted. All the 2D tgas (loading screens, TDC, masks, etc, etc) yet need to be adjusted folowed by it's needles, text, buttons position, etc. This will be a huge work (but not difficult) that needs a team to work on.
Also the Periscope and Uzo views are yet streched. The Bino view is already adjusted. I only can adjust the Peri/Uzo after we adjust the mask.

Downsides:
1. Event camera will continue streched - I can't find it's camera parameters...if someone knows where it is please contact me (obviously i already looked at EventCameras.dat). Seems that it's hardcoded.
2. Sunhalo only appears at the extrem left part of the screen, no fix until now, besides the majority of DX10 cards have problems with sunhalo even on stock game, linked to the AA/Gama_correction settings.

Files content:
data\library\cameras.dat
data\Interior\NSS_Uboat2\NSS_Uboat2_CR.cam (this is where the type II A/D interior fore camera parameters are)

Installation:
JSGME ready, you can enable it at any point on your campaign. It's totally harmless, if you don't like it just disable using JSGME and continue your game.

============================================

F.A.Q.

How it works?
What make it work is the parameter "Right" at Viewport section on Cameraparams controller, Cameras.dat file. The value range for 16:9 is 1.4 to 1.45. To 16:10 is 1.35 to 1.4. I put them all on 1.4, this way it will work for both 16:9 or 16:10. (original values are set at 1.0)
I also made small cameras' angles adjusts just to fit the new "zoom"aspect of the wide screen mode.

Will work with the HighResolution mod?
Yes, at any resolution!

Do I really need a widescreen monitor to play with this mod?
Yes, obviously...only WS monitors have the physical size with 16:9 or 16:10 aspect ratio.

How the better resolution? How I must adjust my monitor?
1. using the High resolution mod at the exactly resolution of your WS monitor is the best option. (HighResolution mod don't allow to alt tab in some systems and also have some others small issues, it's up to you use it or not)
2. if you don't use HR mode, so you will run at stock 1024x768. Ok just let your WS monitor fulfill the entire visual area and you will have the game in correct WS aspect using this mod. No FPS losses in any way.

Any future mod differences to fit 16:9 or 16:10 WS monitors?
My Sony LCD TV monitor have 1360x768 pixels, physical size in exact 16:9. So i don't know for sure about 16:10...but i guess that it will work out of the box for both without need different set of files.

Future of this WideScreen mod...
Well, I will stop right here if I don't receive help from the experts on menu_1024/texture guys. The work necessary to adjust all that things exposed above is too much for one guy.
I'm also an eye candy freaking guy and the problems with the event camera and sunhalo really annoy me...I almost drop the mod after not find a solution for them...although after have played an entire patrol with the mod enabled I then really becomes very excited with it again.

Last minutes comments:
I just really tested it with a Type IID and with a Type VIIC. I guess that it will work with any uboat. If you tested it with some other uboat, please post here yours observations. This will help a lot.
In the end, this is an open community mod, so, obviously, your feedback (good or not) is absolutely important and necessary!

Have fun!
Rubini.

Links:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/jngzyn...een_SH3_V1.rar
http://rapidshare.com/files/18732044...een_SH3_V1.rar


Hi mates

I found this mod and thought it must be an outstanding mod so I extracted it an enabled through JSGME.
Now, the 3D screens look OK. The other ones get stretched and as before they look OK first when I go back to 4:3.
I've tried to find out what possibly can be wrong but...
I run SH III stock, GWX 3.0 and JSGME


Anyone?

Last edited by Silent Steel; 12-12-2009 at 12:06 PM.
Silent Steel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 08:44 PM   #182
Reece
CINC Pacific Fleet
 
Reece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down Under
Posts: 21,958
Downloads: 171
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi, if you read through the thread (a bit long though) you'd see that it will not work with ATI cards!
__________________

Sub captains go down with their ship!
Reece is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 01:51 AM   #183
Silent Steel
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Immer am Periskop
Posts: 1,731
Downloads: 618
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reece View Post
Hi, if you read through the thread (a bit long though) you'd see that it will not work with ATI cards!

Thanks mate,
Still, since i run an nVidia 8800 GTX I don't get it.
Anyhow thanks for the tip!
Silent Steel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 02:05 AM   #184
Reece
CINC Pacific Fleet
 
Reece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down Under
Posts: 21,958
Downloads: 171
Uploads: 0


Default

Hmm, well it should work then, most that have tried this mod with nvidia cards got it working ok maybe someone will assist.
__________________

Sub captains go down with their ship!
Reece is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 02:11 AM   #185
Silent Steel
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Immer am Periskop
Posts: 1,731
Downloads: 618
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks Reece

You know what - I just got it to work.
Just had to tweak my GPU a bit.
Increased AA and decreased it back to the value I had before.
(nHancer)

Funny ...

Thanks for your help anyway.
Silent Steel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 04:43 AM   #186
Reece
CINC Pacific Fleet
 
Reece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down Under
Posts: 21,958
Downloads: 171
Uploads: 0


Default

No problems. I answered your PM but you can just disregard it now, glad it's working!
__________________

Sub captains go down with their ship!
Reece is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 08:23 AM   #187
urfisch
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Deep down in Germany
Posts: 1,954
Downloads: 39
Uploads: 0
Default

is there actually a version of it, which works with vista? i always have crashes, when loading a mission. and also the widescreen seems only be stretched, but not "widened"...the game also crashes, when i deactivate the mod. only when removing the d3d files from the game folder, it works again. installed latest directx version 9.27

play on 1600x900
vista 32 bit

?
__________________


urfisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 01:44 AM   #188
fig79
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

1. Is this mod compatible with GWX 3.0 Gold ?
2. How to install? first GWX 3.0 Gold then this mod? or first this mod then GWX 3.0?

Thank you in advance
fig79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 08:18 PM   #189
Rubini
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: São Paulo Brazil
Posts: 2,754
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fig79 View Post
1. Is this mod compatible with GWX 3.0 Gold ?
2. How to install? first GWX 3.0 Gold then this mod? or first this mod then GWX 3.0?

Thank you in advance
1.Yes.
2.GWX 3.0 first, then this mod.

EDITED: oh sorry! Please don´t use this one but here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=166094

This last one is a much better and improved version, also gwx 3.0 compatible, install GWX first.
__________________
One gamer's must-have mod is another gamer's waste of time.
-Sailor Steve
Rubini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim