SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2017, 12:02 PM   #1336
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiebler View Post
Other problems fall into 4 categories:
1. Other mods that have also been installed onto this NYGM foundation.
2. Corruption of some of the game files in My Documents\SH3\....
3. Corruption of your basic SH3 set-up by mis-use of JSGME. (You have changed some files in your setup that have been added with JSGME, and therefore they have not been removed.)
4. Corruption caused by misuse of SH3Commander. (Useful, but not required with NYGM.)

Strategies for problems 1-4 above:
1. Remove non-NYGM mods from your mixture and try again.
2. Rename your My Documents\SH3\data\.... to My Documents\XXXSH3XXX\data.... This means you will start again with a completely fresh series of files, but you can if necessary recover your game-save data at a later date from the XXXSH3XXX\data folder.
3. Use JSGME to UNLOAD all your mods from your current set-up. At the end, you should be left with only the basic SH3 game files pre-dating the end of 2006 (I don't know about Steam versions, they might have later dates). Having established the integrity of these files, use JSGME to reload the basic NYGM components up to and including NYGM_2017 again. Test that this combination functions correctly. Then continue by adding your other preferred mods.
4. I have little knowledge of SH3Commander, so can't help much. Check the main SH3Commander thread. However, I recall that not unwinding past changes before starting new changes can cause a lot of problems.

Adopting the above strategies will certainly get NYGM running for you properly again, at least up to the NYGM_2017A level.
Honestly, that's what I've done :
- disabled all mods with JSGME
- then testing without mods --> it worked (so, no corruption of the files, fresh install after all)
- testing with only one new mod at once --> with the first NYGM, I couldn't repair some compartments.

I don't use SH3 Commander.

I believe you when you say that NYGM mods are stable.

I will try to re-enable your damage.cfg files to be 200 % sure.

Maybe Benzin1973 can confirm with his electric engine ?
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 12:15 PM   #1337
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

OK. I think I've found the problem.

I have compared the stock damage.cfg files with yours. The only differences between them : in your files, there is ";" at the beginning of the following lines :

In damage_0.cfg :
;[ICON1] ; RadioSonar
;[ICON2] ; CommandRoom
;[ICON3] ; Diesel Engine
;[ICON4] ; Electric Engine
;[ICON5] ; Bow Torpedo

In damage_1.cfg :
;[ICON1] ; Mini7Radio
;[ICON2] ; Mini7Command
;[ICON3] ; Mini7Diesel
;[ICON4] ; Mini7Electric
;[ICON5] ; Mini7BowTor
;[ICON8] ; Mini7SternTor

In damage_2.cfg :
;[ICON1] ; Mini9Radio
;[ICON2] ; Mini9Command
;[ICON3] ; Mini9Diesel
;[ICON4] ; Mini9Electric
;[ICON5] Mini9BowTor
;[ICON8] ; Mini9SternTor

Is it normal ? ...
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 12:28 PM   #1338
FUBAR295
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Decks awash in the North Atlantic
Posts: 175
Downloads: 228
Uploads: 0
Default

The semicolon ( tells the program to ignore the following after the ; as you most likely know. Not sure why those files are like that.

Did notice that you have a missing ; after the ICON5 Mini9bowTor as below. Not sure if that is a problem.

In damage_2.cfg :
;[ICON1] ; Mini9Radio
;[ICON2] ; Mini9Command
;[ICON3] ; Mini9Diesel
;[ICON4] ; Mini9Electric
;[ICON5] Mini9BowTor
;[ICON8] ; Mini9SternTor

I have used NYGM since the beginning and seldom had any significant issues, mostly with add on mods and just need to get them in the correct order. I never experienced what you are currently seeing.
__________________
Good judgment comes from experience. Unfortunately, the experience usually comes from bad judgment



FUBAR295 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 12:31 PM   #1339
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FUBAR295 View Post
Did notice that you have a missing ; after the ICON5 Mini9bowTor as below. Not sure if that is a problem.
Yep, but it changes nothing because the whole line is ignored.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FUBAR295 View Post
Not sure why those files are like that.
I don't know. I've downloaded the mod from the "official" page : http://www.subsim.com/mods1/nygm/
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 02:33 PM   #1340
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,231
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

@Kendras:
I've downloaded the existing version of NYGM_2.5 Tonnage War from the official SubSim-NYGM site and checked the damage files you showed.
The icons that you mentioned are all commented out, for example as in
damage_0.cfg :
;[ICON1] ; RadioSonar
;[ICON2] ; CommandRoom
;[ICON3] ; Diesel Engine
;[ICON4] ; Electric Engine
;[ICON5] ; Bow Torpedo

Thus somehow you have installed a false copy of these damage_n.cfg files (and perhaps other files as well.)
I suggest downloading the main NYGM files again and reinstalling.

Incidentally, it was Observer, one of the founders of NYGM, who created the damage model. I have little knowledge of it myself.

Anyway, I hope that helps,
Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 03:33 PM   #1341
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stiebler View Post
@Kendras:
I've downloaded the existing version of NYGM_2.5 Tonnage War from the official SubSim-NYGM site and checked the damage files you showed.
The icons that you mentioned are all commented out, for example as in
damage_0.cfg :
;[ICON1] ; RadioSonar
;[ICON2] ; CommandRoom
;[ICON3] ; Diesel Engine
;[ICON4] ; Electric Engine
;[ICON5] ; Bow Torpedo
But precisely, the problem comes from these semi-colons at the beginning of each lines which have to be deleted in order to be able to repair the compartments !
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 04:44 PM   #1342
Benzin1973
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 177
Downloads: 143
Uploads: 0
Default

I can confim that my damage_0.cfg - 3 files, are exactly like the ones kendras posted. And just like in his case, uncommenting those [ICON] lines so they are like the vanilla files resolves the problem of not being able to repair some compartments on the sub.

In fact i compared those files with the vanilla ones using winmerge, and those commented out lines are the only diference.

Last edited by Benzin1973; 03-23-2017 at 04:52 PM.
Benzin1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 04:47 PM   #1343
Benzin1973
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 177
Downloads: 143
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
Why not ?

Just send me a screenshot at scale 1:1 with the Options screen displayed.
Thanks, what screen do you mean, the realism options screen?
Benzin1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 05:00 PM   #1344
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benzin1973 View Post
Thanks, what screen do you mean, the realism options screen?
No no. Only click on "Options" in the main menu screen. You should see graphic and sound options for example.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 06:01 PM   #1345
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Another question : the small icons that enables to quickly assign crew to specific tasks (damage control, submerged attack, submerged cruise ...) are not working. Is it intentional ?
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 06:30 PM   #1346
Tycho
Weps
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 374
Downloads: 264
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
Another question : the small icons that enables to quickly assign crew to specific tasks (damage control, submerged attack, submerged cruise ...) are not working. Is it intentional ?
Yes.
And this too:
Quote:
damage_0.cfg :
;[ICON1] ; RadioSonar
;[ICON2] ; CommandRoom
;[ICON3] ; Diesel Engine
;[ICON4] ; Electric Engine
;[ICON5] ; Bow Torpedo
This is NYGM No Damage Control Mod:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Der Teddy Bar View Post
The idea for the NYGM No Damage Control Mod was gouldjg’s. It was his request for this that prompted me to search out a way to stop the use of the Damage Control team for certain compartments. Now, the Damage Control Team can only be used for the crew quarters, the conning tower & AA/Deck guns. All damage for a compartment must be done by the men within that compartment. We have also moved the repair (only) of the batteries from the crew quarters to the bow torpedo room. The only times that you will have a use for the Damage Control Team is for flooding of the crew quarters or for external repairs.
So, do not hurry to declare a problem or bug, it is a feature. First get to know more about the NYGM.
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2017, 07:57 AM   #1347
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,231
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

Hi Tycho,
Nice to hear from you again.

And thanks very much for your clarification of the NYGM damage model. I play only NYGM and I had forgotten the differences between the NYGM damage model and stock SH3 and other super-mods like GWX (which uses the stock damage model - I've just checked.)

Reported Difficulties with NYGM Damage Model.
This still leaves the issue of how Kendras and Benzin1973 have files without the necessary commenting out of the icons, eg ;[ICON1].

If you download NYGM 2.5 Tonnage War from the SH3-SubSim site again, you can confirm for yourselves that the damage1-3.cfg files have various icons commented out. So all you have to do is use JSGME to remove all existing mods from your SH3 set-up, then reinstall the NYGM 2.5 Tonnage War mod again to overwrite completely your incorrect damage1-3.cfg files (and any other incorrect files). Then load the other parts of NYGM into place.

And can I be the first to remark?, before anyone else does, that the FuMB37XXIIIINYGM mod, intended for overlay of NYGM in 1944-5, contains a menu\cfg\damage3.cfg file that does NOT have the icons commented out. This is for compatibility with Tomi's XXIII U-boat, an excellent model. This does not affect any of the other U-boats (unless you are still using a Type II, which is supposed to be obsolete by 1944 anyway!).

Restore magnetic/impact pistol switch in NYGM. This was removed by Der Teddy Bar (fixed magnetic switch) in order to simulate the unreliability of torpedoes early in the war. Therefore I do not recommend that you change this mod.
However... if you are also using H.sie's hard-code patch, which also makes the torpedoes less reliable, then probably it is better to allow the magnetic/impact pistol switch again.
Locate file Data\Menu\Cfg\Dials.cfg (make a back-up somewhere).
Open Dials.cfg in Notepad and search for 'DIAL_TORP_PISTOL' - there should be four entries, numbered differently depending on whether you are using the original NYGM optics, or the same file in Hitman's Optics mod, which is supplied as part of the NYGM_2017A package in folder 'Documentation'. (Hitman's Optics is much superior to the stock system.)

For these four search hits, change the associated value of DialVal=45,45 to DialVal=-45,45. That is all that is required.
[Edit - I forgot to mention that Hitman's Optics mod included with NYGM_2017A already includes the change of the four DialVals to -45,45.]
[Edit 2 - Belatedly noticed that the NYGM_2017A.7z download file contains both NYGM_2017 AND NYGM_2017A. Of course, you need to install only NYGM_2017A. I've put another copy of NYGM_2017A.7z onto the SubSim-NYGM web-site, identical to the previous except that it lacks the unwanted NYGM_2017 folder. Sorry about that.]

Stiebler.

Last edited by Stiebler; 03-24-2017 at 08:21 AM.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2017, 10:46 AM   #1348
Warsteiner
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Downloads: 331
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks for the answer, but maybe I don't express myself well in English, since it is not my native language. What I would like to ask is how to insert the torpedo pistol dial graphic into the pericope and uzo screens of Hitman Optics.
I mean the TDC part of these screens.
I think it would be better not having to go to another screen just to change the switch. As Hitman stated in the readme, he repositioned the "Lock" button in the place where the torpedo pistol dial was.
Warsteiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2017, 04:16 PM   #1349
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,231
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

@Warsteiner:

I regret that I cannot help with your request.
You will have to ask Hitman - if he can still remember after making the mod many years ago.

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2017, 07:15 PM   #1350
Benzin1973
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 177
Downloads: 143
Uploads: 0
Default

Hello Stiebler,
I think there has been a misunderstanding regarding this whole repairs & [ICON] stuff
Our files (mine at least, but think i can speak for Kendras as well) as downloaded with the NYGM mod are in fact correct. With the proper [ICON] sections commented out.

Kendras and myself tought that not being able to assign the repair team to certain compartments was a bug of some sort, and that uncommenting those sections ([ICON]) in the files fixed this "bug".
But as Tycho pointed out, there is no bug. It was i (we) who dint understand how the NYGM repair mod worked.
Youre right Tycho, i should have read the NYGM manual more carefully.

So dont worry, there is no bug. Just a couple of users who dint understand how this feature works.

On a side note, the more i (carefully) read the manual, the more i fall in love with NYGM. Its hard, but realisticly hard. Ibe played with GWX most of my 500hrs of SH3, and was allways bothered by certain things wich i considered unrealistic. Like an escort sometimes detecting me "somehow" at 15km, at night, while im submerged and standin still (saw my persicope @ 15km at night i guess?), so much that i made a mod to tweak these things i dint like.
In NYGM on the other hand, every aspect of the game that seems "severe" or "unfair", has a perfectly realistic explaination behind it.
So again, Thank you for this great mod.
Benzin1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
torpedos through hull

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim