SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
The newest naval sim by Totem Games!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Sonalysts Combat Sims > DW Mod Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-05-2017, 04:35 PM   #1
Polak2
Torpedoman
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 120
Downloads: 36
Uploads: 0
Default 3dsmax J3D export plugin.

Thanks to Wildcat I successfully managed to install 3dSMax 3.1 and made some trial exports of some 3d to j3d format. All basically works, however there is limit of model complexity in j3d theoretically maxing up to 32768 vertices.

This would be not end of the world , however in practice this limit appears to be quite lower. I have a difficulty to export anything above 10K verts and this is little to low for visible and possibly improved results. At the same time, I see, that some of the models recently introduced to RA DWX (like Kara) has over 20K vertices so there must be a way.

Anyone kind enough possibly to shed some light on this problem?

PS. Thanks to Wildcat again for finding elusive and hard to get max 3.1

Last edited by Polak2; 07-05-2017 at 05:24 PM.
Polak2 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2017, 06:31 PM   #2
Stewy1
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 126
Downloads: 40
Uploads: 4
Default

Sorry, can't help with the technical question - but just wanted to voice my support for your project, mate.

Hope you're able to get some new (or modified) models in game!

Stew
Stewy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 09:19 AM   #3
Wildcat
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 214
Downloads: 62
Uploads: 0
Default

Glad I could help!

I have read on some forums for Fleet Command and Sub Command that models start to cause crashing between 10,000 and 12,000 polys.

I am not sure how RA can get higher polycounts. I may have more free time next week so I will see if I can get any information about this from them (Or you can register on the RA forum and ask) and I'll also look around the internet to find some more info.
Wildcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim