SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2018, 06:13 PM   #1
Fader_Berg
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Uppland, Sweden
Posts: 263
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default SH3rryPick

makman94 sent me a message a month ago which reminded me of SH3. I couldn't resist to dust off that captains hat again off course. Ahead full with it again.

I'm messing around with mods to build my setup and started to write a tool to ease the pain. It's a sorry little bastard but if you find it useful, you're more than welcome to use it.

Precondition Rules for ini-files:
  • Line length MUST NOT be longer than 255 bytes
  • Items MUST be separated by -at least - one blank line
  • Item data MUST NOT contain a blank line
  • Text UP TO the first item ([Gxx Ix]) is left as is

Help:
Code:
Usage: SH3rryPick [options] base_file [file1, file2, ...]

  Options:

    -d        diff a file with base_file
    -m        merge a file with base_file
    -o fn     output to file instead of stdout
    -h        print this help and exit
    -r        renumber items in base_file
    -v        print version and exit
Diff:
Compares two main.ini-files and outputs items that are different to the ones- or non-existent; in the base_file. Comments, group- and id number set aside.

Code:
SH3rryPick -d menu_1024_768.ini other_menu.ini > menu_diff.ini
Merge:
Merges items in a file to the ones in the base_file and outputs a renumbered version containing all items.

Code:
SH3rryPick -m menu_1024_768.ini other_menu.ini > new_menu.ini
Renumber:
Outputs a renumbered version of base_file.

Code:
SH3rryPick -r menu_1024_768.ini > menu_new.ini
Don't look straight at the bugs. You have been warned.


Download:

r26 : https://fb.tuxxor.net/SH3rryPick.exe


Appendix:
  • Windows Command Line Tutorial - #13
__________________
patSH3r-developer
Type II junkie
https://fb.tuxxor.net

Last edited by Fader_Berg; 12-03-2018 at 05:20 AM.
Fader_Berg is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 11:52 PM   #2
Anvar1061
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 1,145
Downloads: 580
Uploads: 0
Default

Anvar1061 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 12:37 PM   #3
Fader_Berg
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Uppland, Sweden
Posts: 263
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default

Updated to r15.

[more info]
__________________
patSH3r-developer
Type II junkie
https://fb.tuxxor.net
Fader_Berg is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 12:22 PM   #4
Fader_Berg
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Uppland, Sweden
Posts: 263
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default

Updated to r20
  • Added 'merge' option

Put items from one file into another and renumber the result.

[more info]
__________________
patSH3r-developer
Type II junkie
https://fb.tuxxor.net
Fader_Berg is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 12:42 PM   #5
Anvar1061
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 1,145
Downloads: 580
Uploads: 0
Default

I install this program but nothing happens.
Anvar1061 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 12:57 PM   #6
Fader_Berg
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Uppland, Sweden
Posts: 263
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anvar1061 View Post
I install this program but nothing happens.
Hi Anvar1061.

This is not a program you need to install. You just download it, put i where you want and run it from there.
You have to run it from the command prompt (CMD) though. If you double click it, it will start a command prompt window and shut it down again so fast that you won't be able to see it.

Say you've downloaded it and put it in your SH3-folder. Open a command prompt and CD your way to your SH3-folder.

Type:
Code:
SH3rryPick -h
...and go from there.

__________________
patSH3r-developer
Type II junkie
https://fb.tuxxor.net
Fader_Berg is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 01:17 PM   #7
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,990
Downloads: 33
Uploads: 0


Default

Write a few batch files. Lots easier then the cmd stuff.
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 05:52 PM   #8
Fader_Berg
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Uppland, Sweden
Posts: 263
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
Write a few batch files. Lots easier then the cmd stuff.

Yes. Those who thinks cmd is hard can write batch-files, which in turn has nothing to do with cmd at all.


Good point.
__________________
patSH3r-developer
Type II junkie
https://fb.tuxxor.net
Fader_Berg is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 05:58 PM   #9
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,990
Downloads: 33
Uploads: 0


Default

http://codecaged.com/visual-command-line
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 07:03 PM   #10
Fader_Berg
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Uppland, Sweden
Posts: 263
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post

Ha, ha, ha... omfg. Is that convenient?



Have a look at the producers 'Window Hider' while you're at it. Amazing ideas... He's probably working on a 'Icon Clicker' too.
__________________
patSH3r-developer
Type II junkie
https://fb.tuxxor.net
Fader_Berg is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 02:46 AM   #11
Anvar1061
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 1,145
Downloads: 580
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fader_Berg View Post
Hi Anvar1061.

This is not a program you need to install. You just download it, put i where you want and run it from there.
You have to run it from the command prompt (CMD) though. If you double click it, it will start a command prompt window and shut it down again so fast that you won't be able to see it.

Say you've downloaded it and put it in your SH3-folder. Open a command prompt and CD your way to your SH3-folder.

Type:
Code:
SH3rryPick -h
...and go from there.


Nothing's happening. "Cannot find SH3rryPick"
Anvar1061 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 03:32 AM   #12
Fader_Berg
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Uppland, Sweden
Posts: 263
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default

Updated to r25
  • Major bug-fixes.

[more info]
__________________
patSH3r-developer
Type II junkie
https://fb.tuxxor.net
Fader_Berg is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 03:46 AM   #13
Fader_Berg
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Uppland, Sweden
Posts: 263
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anvar1061 View Post
Nothing's happening. "Cannot find SH3rryPick"
I have no clue what's generating that error message. It's not from the Windows Command Line.

Check out a tutorial...
__________________
patSH3r-developer
Type II junkie
https://fb.tuxxor.net
Fader_Berg is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 04:31 AM   #14
Fader_Berg
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Uppland, Sweden
Posts: 263
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default Keeping your s*it together

A modest guide

I've just installed NYGM to a setup 'cause I want to try it out. I normally play GWX and it's been a while since I've been around.




I've got a couple setups for SH3, and there is some stuff I always want to use in my SH3-setups. So I've copied them into a MOD-like structure.



One thing needs to be added to the menu.ini-file. And I put it in a file called 'fader_bergs-setup.ini'.



Now I want to make a 'Fader_Berg-setup'-MOD that seamlessly adds my items. So I run SH3rryPick to generate a new menu.ini-file with my nomograph added.



Now my stuff is JSGME-compatible, so I copy the 'Fader_bergs-setup'-folder to the MODS-directory and install it.



Nice...


Later on, I decide to install the widescreen stuff too. I remove my Fader_bergs-mod with JSGME and install the WYGM instead. I rerun SH3rryPick with my little ini-file against the latest menu.ini in the SH3-data\Menu-directory and get a updated Fader_bergs-mod to install



Nice again...
__________________
patSH3r-developer
Type II junkie
https://fb.tuxxor.net
Fader_Berg is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim