SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2016, 11:46 AM   #151
Hitman
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Hitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,203
Downloads: 107
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
I have totally discard this feature (i guess you all know the ''No Fatigue'' mod) and i can't see what will be the difference (for the player) if the game is running a ,lets say perfect crew rotation system or the ''No Fatigue'' mod. In both cases , the player has not to bother himself with the crew 'actions'.

Am i missing something here ? may by ''good crew rotation'' system , people mean that player will have to make some specific actions himself?
Crew fatigue is an element of the game like engine damage, you can't run flank speed all the time because you blow the engines, and you can't run around in battlestations or in conditions that destroy your crew's stamina for a long time. This all introduces an important strategy element, you will f.e. not go after a ship that you can only slowly reach at flank speed, and you will maybe not be able to engage, or be more cautious if your crew is stressed after a big pursuit or a storm, or by two long months of patrol.

More than a crew rotation I think that what is needed is a good fatigue system combined with a battlestations mode (That's where Patsh3er would enter the equation).

To sum up, my ideal model of fatigue would be as follows:

1) You always generate a minimum of fatigue that progresses till your crew is exhausted after some time in patrol (This reflects the general stress of living in the uboat and being out at sea for some time).
2) There is a minimum of efficiency, i.e. an exhausted crew will anyway always be able to do their duties, but they will slow down considerably when totally.
3) At battlestations (quick icons for surface/submerged/aircraft attack) and during storms when surfaced there is a bigger and quicker increase in fatigue. The difference is that your crew can recover from this increased fatigue to the point where it should be according to the fatigue generated by the general patrol duration. They will slowly recover once the battlestations situation is finished and they can resume the normal watches (After one cycle of watches everyone has slept some hours and is recovered from the extra fatigue).

An example (Arbitrary numbers, the % are just examples)

-You are already a month at sea, and your crew's efficiency has dropped to 75% under the normal watch rotation (No battle engagements or specially long storms)
-You find a convoy, call battlestations and engage during 72 intense hours. The stress makes your crew lose efficiency to a 50%, which is the minimum.
-You disengage or lose the convoy, and resume normal navigation and crew shifts --> In 8 hours more the combat stress has dissapeared and the crew is now at 72% efficiency (It still has lost a 3% for the additional days at sea)
-After two months at sea, your crew's efficiency has dropped to 50%. It won't go any lower, but you should head back home. If you engage a ship or convoy during your return trip your crew ill not lose any more efficiency, but since they engage at a 50%, you have less chances of surviving.

I hope the example can be understood well
__________________
One day I will return to sea ...
Hitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 02:25 AM   #152
Leitender
Planesman
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 190
Downloads: 44
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi all,

I´ve been using the crew management intensively for a long time, because it adds another point to the commander for which he had to pay attention. 2 settings I prefere: First I use the GWX/8hour fatigue model delivered with SH3 Commander, which leads to similar "problems" Niedowidek describes above. The second point is to switch on "crew efficiency" for every crew sensor in the "sensors.cfg" file. With this function enabled, imho a tired watch will spot a target later then a relaxed one, a hydrophone contact will be reported later and so on. This forces me to exchange the watch continously.

Btw, typically the bridge watch had a 4 hour turn, the machine watch a 6 hour turn and the radio operators rotated every 4 hour during day and every 6 hour during night. I exchange the crew according to this schedule, one by one if necessary, what takes a long time of course and sometimes gets boring in a certain way, but because I always plot my course , mark sundown, sunrise and depth, log the wheather and check the technical systems, i therefore get a good feeling about my current sea-worthyness and the overall circumstances.

Next: Although I see the point of that general "fatigue" after a long patrol, NYGM doesn´t simulate the recurrent watch by watch fatigue. Because imho the latter has the more important influence on the commander´s decisions, I prefere the GWX model. I´m not sure if a crew that e.g. operated successfully during a several week patrol should be able to do its duty for only "75%" or "50%", only because they are on a long trip. Generally that seems to me a little bit overestimated.

Maybe that fatigue isn´t a question of physival but of mental exhaust, what could be simulated by that odd "motivation" factor instead? Does this motivation factor has an influence on the game at all? I´ve never noticed that.

Finally, thanks to Fader_Berg for his additional options. Especially the exchange of non-machine petty officers between the engine rooms is a really fine improvement!
Leitender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 09:50 AM   #153
makman94
Hellas
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,332
Downloads: 180
Uploads: 7


Default

ok , i understand your points guys.
Whatever 'crew system' that doesn't demand from the user to manually moving around the crew members is fine for me.

There are other areas of the game that will make (if improved) the gameplay way more challenging and interesting than a good 'crew rotation'.Spending time for creating complex 'crew rotations' seems,to me, a waste of time at this moment

just my two cents
__________________
Knowledge is the only thing that nobody can ever take from you...



Mediafire page:http://www.mediafire.com/folder/da50.../Makman94_Mods
makman94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 01:40 PM   #154
LGN1
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,112
Downloads: 144
Uploads: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leitender View Post
Hi all,

..., but because I always plot my course , mark sundown, sunrise and depth, log the wheather and check the technical systems, i therefore get a good feeling about my current sea-worthyness and the overall circumstances.

...

Maybe that fatigue isn´t a question of physival but of mental exhaust, what could be simulated by that odd "motivation" factor instead? Does this motivation factor has an influence on the game at all? I´ve never noticed that.
Hi Leitender,

just for curiosity: how do you plot your course, mark sundown, depth,...? And what technical systems do you check? It sounds very interesting!

Concerning the motivation factor: See this old post for an explanation what it does:

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...3&postcount=26

Regards, LGN1
LGN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 05:43 PM   #155
Leitender
Planesman
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 190
Downloads: 44
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi LGN1,

that´s quite simple: I use the given tools of the F5 map. After having drawn the course, I retrace the track by using the ruler for a persistent plot. At sundown / sunrise, I draw a horizontal line with appropriate length to the given time (e.g. when sunrise is at 06.15 i draw a horizontal line with 6.1km length) at the current position. So, when reading the map, I can predict the next sunrise and I can measure the distance having moved between two sunrises (a kind of daily "etmal"). The measuring time is when the redlight turns on or off.

Every few hours I also use the Atlas echolot to measure the depth (at least near the coast). I mark the depth in the map by using the "compass" and draw a circle with a radius appropriate to the depth. With this markings, I can see whether there´s a significant descent or an increase of depth without trusting the colour of the map too much.

Another thing is, if I use the same way for retour, I already know the dephts quite exactly.

Concerning the technical checks: I use my own improved and optimized gauges with switched-on control lights (so called Bordinstrumente_Patch) with which I can precisely read the correct values of the most important instruments. E.g., at the beginning of each patrol, I make a new speed table with knots and rpms for every machine status, thus I can immediatly see on the instruments if something is getting wrong. I also pay attention on the control lamps, because at 100% realism settings, I cannot look outside the boat and control if both screws are turning or not and if recharching the batteries is the reason for slower movement. Same with the compressed air and oxygen (really vital especially if you use h.sie´s resp. Stiebler´s oxygen mod).

What I also sometimes do is to check the diesel consumption by measuring distance and time and I compare the results with the report of my helmsman to predict my remaining operational area and to keep in mind the needs of getting back to my base. Btw, the the sea state has a huge influence on diesel consumption.

There are lots of helpful information giving by the game to use it in an operational or tactical way, although it sounds not that exiting. But surely the kaleuns then did that too.

Sorry for getting off topic

Best regards
Leitender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 11:02 PM   #156
utops
Planesman
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gdańsk,Poland
Posts: 194
Downloads: 175
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi,

Im new to this patch and what i saw so far it working for most part,but:
Code:
no_news_tc1                on
Do not.
Im running GWX with Conus wide screen mod and Fire damage by DarkWraith.
Any tips how to resolve this will be painted gold. :P

BTW. Thx for keeping Sh3 expierence alive.
utops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 12:41 AM   #157
Fader_Berg
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Uppland, Sweden
Posts: 252
Downloads: 39
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by utops View Post
Hi,

Im new to this patch and what i saw so far it working for most part,but:
Code:
no_news_tc1                on
Do not.
Im running GWX with Conus wide screen mod and Fire damage by DarkWraith.
Any tips how to resolve this will be painted gold. :P

BTW. Thx for keeping Sh3 expierence alive.
Hmmm... Are you sure it's news you're talking about and not BDU messages?
__________________
patSH3r-developer
Type II junkie
Fader_Berg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 04:19 PM   #158
utops
Planesman
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gdańsk,Poland
Posts: 194
Downloads: 175
Uploads: 0
Default

To be honest i can't tell the difference. They all are labeled as from BDu
utops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 04:48 AM   #159
utops
Planesman
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gdańsk,Poland
Posts: 194
Downloads: 175
Uploads: 0
Default

One more thing:
Was mangled by destroyer cannon,because IIA has periscope depth of 9 meters,so antena dipol is visible and that is the reason of my sub being shot at. Decided to rest on the bottom to stop flooding etc. Depth was 17 meters and after 10 minutes resting on seabed CE goes crazy with reports about sub being damaged and destroyer was not dc at that time or any time. Ths is the bug?I'll try to recreate this by simply resting on seabed in undamaged sub i report back with this.
Btw. Whats up with blank CE messages?
Edit again:

Uh there is no way to recover from flooding it says 0:00 past 1 h but still my sub is sinking and go hard against seabed and above aws trawler killing my carrer. This is feature or bug? ( and no i am not beaing sarcastic.)

Last edited by utops; 02-01-2016 at 06:52 AM.
utops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 10:55 AM   #160
Fader_Berg
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Uppland, Sweden
Posts: 252
Downloads: 39
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by utops View Post
One more thing:
Was mangled by destroyer cannon,because IIA has periscope depth of 9 meters,so antena dipol is visible and that is the reason of my sub being shot at. Decided to rest on the bottom to stop flooding etc. Depth was 17 meters and after 10 minutes resting on seabed CE goes crazy with reports about sub being damaged and destroyer was not dc at that time or any time. Ths is the bug?I'll try to recreate this by simply resting on seabed in undamaged sub i report back with this.
Btw. Whats up with blank CE messages?
Edit again:

Uh there is no way to recover from flooding it says 0:00 past 1 h but still my sub is sinking and go hard against seabed and above aws trawler killing my carrer. This is feature or bug? ( and no i am not beaing sarcastic.)
Maybe your hull integrity got so compromised that it couldn't stand 17 meters. That's all I can think of. patSH3r has no routines to make damage to the sub... yet.
Blank CE messages? Are you using a mod which need some extra messages somewhere. patSH3r probably has nothing to do with it.
All patSH3r does with the repair routine, is to alter the repair time factor (if you're using it in the config - and not using a hsie patched exe). It's a legit value that exist in UBI-code and is also used by the realistic repair time setting. Altering it should not change the behavior of the game in the sense of how the repair-code works. What's your repair time factor at in the patSH3r.cfg-file?
__________________
patSH3r-developer
Type II junkie
Fader_Berg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 01:38 PM   #161
utops
Planesman
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gdańsk,Poland
Posts: 194
Downloads: 175
Uploads: 0
Default

Code:
repair_time_factor      25.0 ; >= 1.0, 0.0 = off
Sorry my english is a mess for now and i have hard time to direct you on real problem. So maybe i try again:

Got struck by cannon near radio compartment so flooding is understandable, i assigned damage control team to fix that and they do it quite fast,because i have mechanic class in team,but flooding indicator in box always show 0:00 to flood recovery and my sub slowly sinking ,i don't have any control over it except i need to press blow balast from time to time and this often equals end of carrer by popping like a cork near angry AWS Patrol. This is not a problem while on deep waters,but in II class sub i often operate on shallow waters so brushing on seabed quickly drains hull integrety and causing compartment damages.
utops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2016, 01:51 AM   #162
utops
Planesman
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gdańsk,Poland
Posts: 194
Downloads: 175
Uploads: 0
Default

Ok,flooding recovery is not working as i like to, maybe in your idea is working correctly idk.I just damage my sub to cause flooding,after flooding was stoped,pumping water out of compartments take ages,so it's often end with death. There is any option to tune it?
utops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2016, 04:55 PM   #163
Michal788
Chief
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Holland
Posts: 316
Downloads: 123
Uploads: 0
Default Finally

I use Winhq on my Mac for playing SH3.
And the h.sie patch didnt work for me.
Even with the orginal sh3.exe.
Everytime if i patch the file sh3.exe the game is crashing or didnt start.

But this solution is working and i am happy.
I can finally play sh3 with the bug fixes.

Thanks Fader.
Michal788 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 03:10 AM   #164
Fader_Berg
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Uppland, Sweden
Posts: 252
Downloads: 39
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by utops View Post
Ok,flooding recovery is not working as i like to, maybe in your idea is working correctly idk.I just damage my sub to cause flooding,after flooding was stoped,pumping water out of compartments take ages,so it's often end with death. There is any option to tune it?
Maybe it has to do with the repair time factor. Try to shut it off (or at least make it smaller than 25). If it has to do with this, it's an unwanted side effect and I'll have to take a look on it.
__________________
patSH3r-developer
Type II junkie
Fader_Berg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 03:13 AM   #165
Fader_Berg
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Uppland, Sweden
Posts: 252
Downloads: 39
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michal788 View Post
I use Winhq on my Mac for playing SH3.
And the h.sie patch didnt work for me.
Even with the orginal sh3.exe.
Everytime if i patch the file sh3.exe the game is crashing or didnt start.

But this solution is working and i am happy.
I can finally play sh3 with the bug fixes.

Thanks Fader.
Nice. I've tried SH3 on linux a couple of times with wine, but there was too many graphical glitches. Is it working nice on mac?
__________________
patSH3r-developer
Type II junkie
Fader_Berg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim