Click here to access the Helosim website
SUBSIM®  Radio Room Forums

BUYING GAMES, BOOKS, ELECTRONICS, and STUFF
THROUGH THIS LINK SUPPORTS SUBSIM, THANKS!

The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations!

Go Back   SUBSIM® Radio Room Forums > General > Helosim.com and Flight Sims

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2015, 01:45 PM   #1
USNSRCaseySmith
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Right Under Your Carrier
Posts: 1,293
Downloads: 162
Uploads: 0
Default FSX Steam Edition any good??

Just as the title says, are there any real improvements over the original??

The original I had a bit of tough times running it on my laptop before but I'd like to know if maybe this is something worth keeping an eye on??

Casey
__________________
“When you want to succeed as bad as you want to breathe, then you’ll be successful.”-- Unkown
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
USNSRCaseySmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 03:50 PM   #2
CCIP
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Waterloo, Canada
Posts: 8,947
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 2


Default

It's FSX - it is a little optimized though, and the new publisher ships it with some extra planes. Considering it's regularly on sale for as low as $5.50, you can't really go wrong with it.

The only issue with it right now is that some of the payware add-ons made for FSX are still not compatible with it. Most are.
__________________

There are only forty people in the world and five of them are hamburgers.
-Don Van Vliet
(aka Captain Beefheart)
CCIP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 04:00 AM   #3
USNSRCaseySmith
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Right Under Your Carrier
Posts: 1,293
Downloads: 162
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CCIP View Post
It's FSX - it is a little optimized though, and the new publisher ships it with some extra planes. Considering it's regularly on sale for as low as $5.50, you can't really go wrong with it.

The only issue with it right now is that some of the payware add-ons made for FSX are still not compatible with it. Most are.

Yeah I noticed it was 5$ and snatched it up.. and honestly I feel like either they took ALOT of scenery out, or they made some real improvements. I am getting 25-30 FPS on ground at KLAX and Chicago O'hare and like 40-60 in the air no problem... but I suspect maybe they took some things out?? I feel like KLAX is just.. dead while I am there. I don't have the original to compare.. but I guess I am happy i can make flights without CTDs now.

I might start picking up a freeware add on here and there.

EDIT: I should mention this is on ALL Ultra settings.. I have never been able to go with all ULTRA settings before.
__________________
“When you want to succeed as bad as you want to breathe, then you’ll be successful.”-- Unkown
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
USNSRCaseySmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 03:54 AM   #4
GSpector
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 676
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default

One improvement I noticed was that, if you take the training courses and wish to print the Certificates, you can now

Also, they fixed the missing script problem with the training missions. Seems the scripts got messed up when FSX was converted to Steam.

All seems fine and so far, they have released a couple patches and I think I heard that will be releasing another one soon.

Rumor has it, Dovetail games may be working on the next Flight Sim for Microsoft.
__________________
Specter
GSpector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2015, 01:03 PM   #5
ReallyDedPoet
Canadian Wolf
 
ReallyDedPoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The one and only East Coast
Posts: 10,495
Downloads: 891
Uploads: 5


Default

Can someone point me to where I can get this:

VRS Aircraft Configuration Manager.

And have folks had much luck with it regarding FSX Steam.

Thanks.
__________________

Back in the Day



ReallyDedPoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2015, 06:45 PM   #6
GSpector
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 676
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default

Here are 2 links that refer to it.

http://vrsimulations.com/FA18EFSX.htm
http://www.simhq.com/_air15/air_546a.html


As far as I can tell, the "VRS Aircraft Configuration Manager" is not a stand-alone add-on but part of an add-on.
__________________
Specter
GSpector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2015, 07:53 PM   #7
ReallyDedPoet
Canadian Wolf
 
ReallyDedPoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The one and only East Coast
Posts: 10,495
Downloads: 891
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GSpector View Post
Here are 2 links that refer to it.

http://vrsimulations.com/FA18EFSX.htm
http://www.simhq.com/_air15/air_546a.html


As far as I can tell, the "VRS Aircraft Configuration Manager" is not a stand-alone add-on but part of an add-on.
Thanks
__________________

Back in the Day



ReallyDedPoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 06:35 AM   #8
Herr-Berbunch
Kaiser Bill's batman
 
Herr-Berbunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AN72
Posts: 14,292
Downloads: 75
Uploads: 0
Default

I bought FSXSE not long after it was released for just a few GBP, finally got it installed and just had a quick couple of flights. Doesn't seem greatly optimised to me, or maybe I need a bit of fine tuning to get the best. Out of the box everything was on ultra which I dialled down but still quite blocky.

Take something like the Extra around Edwards AFB, lots of aircraft to see, F-16, B-1B, F-117, Shuttle (and transporter 747), Ospreys, B-52...

Won't take some of my add-ons but haven't tried them all yet.

In short, the jury's still out.
__________________
Herr-Berbunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 08:30 AM   #9
Herr-Berbunch
Kaiser Bill's batman
 
Herr-Berbunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AN72
Posts: 14,292
Downloads: 75
Uploads: 0
Default

Used this to set my config file, then tweaked a little more. Happy now. http://www.venetubo.com/fsx.html

No longer looks like it was created in Minecraft.

__________________
Herr-Berbunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 08:33 AM   #10
GSpector
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 676
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default

There have been a couple of updates since the release last December. There were a lot of issues with 3rd party add-ons that have been addressed. So if you have not been to Steam to let it update, you might see an improvement.

The downside is, Dove Tail Games dose not have the rights to change (or upgrade) the core files. All they can do is try to improve what is there. So, they can't even convert it to 64bit or change to Direct-X 11 oe 12.

So far, DTG is giving almost no information about the new Flight Sim (DFS) that they are working on. There may be info released later December or early 2016.
__________________
Specter
GSpector is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim