SUBSIM®  Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM® Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2017, 02:10 PM   #121
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
But you can remove the halo effects, or make them smaller, don't you? If navigation light's halos were that big in reality, it wouldn't be possible to screen them off at certain angles
Yes, but the halo will disappear at medium distance, so you won't be able to spot it from your submarine...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Did you assign different materials to each copy of the original lantern, before combining them in a single object?
No, for 2 reasons : 1/ i can't do that, 2/ if i assign 2 different materials to the object in S3D, they should be both used ? ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Make sure that S3d, in the Uv map previe section, diplays two map channels for the recently imported object.
Yes, it does.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Also make sure that you didn't accidentally switch the two matirials: their position matters.
It was the correct order.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2017, 02:52 PM   #122
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,201
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
Yes, but the halo will disappear at medium distance, so you won't be able to spot it from your submarine...
Well, I think it is a matter of finding the right size for an aptimal balance between light arcs and their visible range. By the way, those are the interantional rules on light visibility:

http://navruleshandbook.com/Rule22.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
No, for 2 reasons : 1/ i can't do that, 2/ if i assign 2 different materials to the object in S3D, they should be both used ? ...
That's the likely reason for your night lights not working. Stop asking yourself impertinent questions (lol) and strictly follow my instructions

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
  1. Select one of the two objects in body selection mode.
  2. Switch to face selection mode.
  3. Right click on the geometry window.
  4. Right click on 'Material' in the following context menu.
  5. Enter the new material name.
  6. Undo the selection (space bar).
  7. Repeat the steps 1-5 for the other copy of the same object, using a different material name.
  8. When you have finished, select both objects in body selection mode.
  9. Right click on the geometry window.
  10. Choose 'Combine' from the context menu.
PS: If S3D asks you whether you want to import one of the subsets separately, or raather collapse collapse the two of them in one object, choose the latter option
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 01:32 AM   #123
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,435
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi mates!
While waiting for this gorgeous lights work, i'm reworking a little some details.
Here are first funnel horns pipes (2 with Y shape, not 2 vertical):



Best regards,
Vd
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508

Last edited by VonDos; 10-08-2017 at 02:15 AM.
VonDos is online   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 05:47 AM   #124
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonDos View Post
Hi mates!
While waiting for this gorgeous lights work, i'm reworking a little some details.
Here are first funnel horns pipes (2 with Y shape, not 2 vertical)
I always wanted to add working hornpipes to ships ! Do you think about a trigger that could be used to launch the visual and sound effect ?

Someone had the good idea to launch the effect when the rudder was turning, but how can you link rudder's position to the effect ?
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 06:05 AM   #125
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

So, in wings, I have duplicated the material and changed its name.

Now in game, the lantern is bright green during night , but it is white during day ...
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 06:31 AM   #126
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,435
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
I always wanted to add working hornpipes to ships ! Do you think about a trigger that could be used to launch the visual and sound effect ?

Someone had the good idea to launch the effect when the rudder was turning, but how can you link rudder's position to the effect ?
I honestly don't know this, but should be gorgeous!
Btw, voilà a "definitive" version:



Best regards,
Vd
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508

Last edited by VonDos; 10-08-2017 at 07:02 AM.
VonDos is online   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 07:03 AM   #127
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Icon9

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonDos View Post
Btw, voilà a "definitive" version
Very nice !

@gap : I don't manage to make the light city work properly. So, I send you the files : there is a single mission ("QM") which starts before night, so you can use Time Compression and see difference between day and night.

https://www.mediafire.com/file/3jctm...-%20QM%20v1.7z
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 07:40 AM   #128
Anvar1061
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 1,099
Downloads: 575
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
Very nice !

@gap : I don't manage to make the light city work properly. So, I send you the files : there is a single mission ("QM") which starts before night, so you can use Time Compression and see difference between day and night.

https://www.mediafire.com/file/3jctm...-%20QM%20v1.7z

What do these "nlusM" files mean?
Anvar1061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 10:12 AM   #129
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anvar1061 View Post

What do these "nlusM" files mean?
Oh, I forgot to delete them...
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 10:37 AM   #130
Anvar1061
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 1,099
Downloads: 575
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
Oh, I forgot to delete them...
Anvar1061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 05:27 AM   #131
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
Very nice !

@gap : I don't manage to make the light city work properly. So, I send you the files : there is a single mission ("QM") which starts before night, so you can use Time Compression and see difference between day and night.

https://www.mediafire.com/file/3jctm...-%20QM%20v1.7z
Check the lateral lanterns (green and red) models, and try to find what's wrong .
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 05:03 PM   #132
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,201
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
Oh, I forgot to delete them...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
Check the lateral lanterns (green and red) models, and try to find what's wrong .
I have tried to fix them, but still no joy. By the way: I have placed one of the stock houses on top of the Queen Mary (through placement node), Its windows are lit up at night, so the idea is still valid: we just need to discover what is wrong with our implementation of it
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 05:30 PM   #133
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,435
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
I have tried to fix them, but still no joy. By the way: I have placed one of the stock houses on top of the Queen Mary (through placement node), Its windows are lit up at night, so the idea is still valid: we just need to discover what is wrong with our implementation of it
Hi!
Maybe you can clone the house object, re-model him like portholes (with same materials but different textures?) creating a new library object... so we will maybe have enlighted nightime portholes like a library part we can link as equipment in timeline...

Best regards,
Vd
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508
VonDos is online   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 06:56 PM   #134
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,201
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonDos View Post
Hi!
Maybe you can clone the house object, re-model him like portholes (with same materials but different textures?)
That's exactly the point: I can change names, textures, etc, but when I replace the stock house model with a similar mesh, the light effect becomes broken.

I must be doing something wrong. Still investigating
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 09:15 AM   #135
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,435
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
I always wanted to add working hornpipes to ships ! Do you think about a trigger that could be used to launch the visual and sound effect ?

Someone had the good idea to launch the effect when the rudder was turning, but how can you link rudder's position to the effect ?
Hi!
Small alternative idea!
Why don't create a new sound for queen mary only, adding a "Ship.Queen.Mary._mix" after "Ship.Passenger Ship._mix" into data->sound-> sh3.sdl? In my idea this definition should link to a new file (Queen Mary_mix, in sh3->sound directory) that should include original Passenger Ship_mix trace repeated for 10 minutes. After 8 minutes (for example, or when you want) QM's hornpipes' sound should be added to this trace.
After that, from NPPQ_.dsd, index 13 soundsource should be changed to "Ship.Queen.Mary._mix", and every 10 minutes we should be able to hear the horns' sound.
Is this possible?
Is this stupid?

Best regards,
Vd
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508
VonDos is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim