Forget password? Reset here

Old 05-06-18, 05:08 PM   #1
vadupleix
Watch

Downloads: 29
Uploads: 0
Default Seawolf silent running speed?

Hello,

I'm new to this game (and also to modern submarines so I apologize if what I'm about to say doesn't make sense in reality) and I noticed that in the main screen where there's portraits of different subs on the left, on the seawolf in says speed 35kt+ and silent running to 20kt. I'm wondering what this silent running speed means in this game? Does it model the reactor pump noise and self circulation cooling (not sure if this is the correct term) and does this mean that the seawolf won't have to engage its cooling pump when speed is less than 20kt?
Thanks in advance!
vadupleix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-18, 05:53 PM   #2
Kapitan
Sub Test Pilot

Downloads: 68
Uploads: 7

nearly all modern submarines now have their mechanical equipment rafted Seawolf herself is a very high tech submarine and is leaps and bounds ahead in some cases to the 688i.

Seawolf was designed from the on set as a fast quiet submarine so a lot of R&D went into keeping the pumps and circulation equipment very quiet as well as the anechoic coating on the outside, it also has a pump jet which allows the screw to spin slower than a standard screw but produce a high speed at lower RPM with lower noise out put, seawolf at speed is quieter than a 688i at walking pace.

what you find today is the seawolf was so expensive of the 24 they did plan they cancelled all but 3 and developed a submarine that had similar qualities but at a much cheaper price hence you now have the Virginia class.