SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2018, 07:53 PM   #10921
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 5,013
Downloads: 531
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashikaga View Post

What I do find annoying of the sh3 dials is that at times when you give a dive command or depth command the engines go to all stop.
I think that you have "over modded" something again... That is not happening in TWoS regardless of used UI style...

Quote:
Vecko, about my question to have an automated flag near port and no flag at sea for the U boat, is that possible to do?
If it was possible, it would be modded long time ago...
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 08:35 PM   #10922
Ashikaga
Frogman
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 308
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 0
Default

Okay, thanks for that info. Do not think I overmodded since the actual speed when checking does not really change so it must be a telegraph dial glitch or something in the sh3 UI.

Twos 2.2.7,is running fairly stable here. I am convinced any ctd is due to my 2.33 dual core and Nvidia 720 and my RAM. Happens only when in very busy engagements with many ships and sporadically. Game freeze when giving several crew commands while moving about the sub at high speed et cetera. Should all change with my new rig which is fairly massive.

problems became worse though with the rusted glory mod.
__________________

Last edited by Ashikaga; 10-09-2018 at 08:47 PM.
Ashikaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 11:44 PM   #10923
CaptBones
The Old Man
 
CaptBones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rockton, IL
Posts: 266
Downloads: 206
Uploads: 0


Default Thanks for the quick response Vecko...

So, if I understand correctly, you are trying to say that it would be more realistic actually to leave flags as they were before, right?

Regarding warships..."yes". Although I have not seen every or even many warships in the game yet (I'm still practicing and getting used to operating things), from what I have seen in various utube videos and screenshots from yourself and other players, as well as comments here from others, I would say the placement is correct as before...at the main peak. The reduced size by itself produces a much much better representation of what you would see (and be able to see and identify) at sea in the real world.

You are aware that you can fine tune attack periscope height with PgUp and PgDown keys? And yes, you can adjust pre-selected depths in submarines cfg file. Those settings will only effect depths for your GUI commands.
Also, "snorkel depth" (13.5m) is more suited for attack periscope, that's why I always use it during the attack...


Yes again...I did exactly that, but was wondering if I could change the default periscope depth without affecting anything else. Then I would fully extend the scope initially and adjust my depth to raise it higher if needed or use the PgDn or single down-arrow button to lower it a bit if needed...more "realistic" method from my real-world experience. IIRC, snorkel depth for the VIIC was 12m, so I would also adjust that...but maybe I'm just "picky".

The same will happen with stock SH5 UI style. It's a side effect from one of the TDW patches (Gen. Patcher, SHsim.act, Electric engine ratios) which is responsible for realistic speed and RPM outputs while submerged.

This is from Quick Start Manual...

Well, then I think I'll stick with the SH5 Enhanced HUD instead...

That been said, your max submerged speed of 4 knots doesn't sound right at all. All U-boats in game, except U-FLaK, have maximum underwater speed (with full batteries) 7-8 knots, depending of currently equipped conning tower...

Hhhmmm...I wonder if maybe I was just being too impatient and forgetting that there are time delays built in to prevent "jackrabbit" acceleration. I was focused on the lack of correct response on the EOT and might have simply made too many changes too fast.

Thank you again Vecko...many thanks.
CaptBones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 02:52 AM   #10924
Fifi
Admiral
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,289
Downloads: 294
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
If it was possible, it would be modded long time ago...
Sorry for off topic, but there is a very cool SH3 GWX feature about sub flag...
We can ask the watch officer to raise flag, or lower it! (By pressing a hot key)
It just make it appear or hide... i wish it could be feasible in SH5
Maybe one day!
__________________
SI VIS PACEM, PARA BELLUM...
Fifi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 03:56 AM   #10925
Cybermat47
Willing Webfooted Beast
 
Cybermat47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,140
Downloads: 202
Uploads: 13


Default

Does anyone else have escorts following them at 15 knots when shadowing a convoy?

And if so, is this a glitch, or is the escort using radar or huff-duff?
__________________
Historical TWoS Gameplay Guide: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...20#post2572620
My Mods
Silent Hunter 4
- Japanese Career: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=4554
Silent Hunter 5
- Historical Torpedo Ranges and Speeds: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5399

- Shorter External Transfer Cooldown: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5400
Cybermat47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 05:29 AM   #10926
Fifi
Admiral
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,289
Downloads: 294
Uploads: 0


Default

Just a thought for future update...

Maybe you could add as TWOS additional mod the Mighty Fine Crew Alt faces (with beard or not) for those who are tired of stock faces...
I think itís fully TWOS compatible, i use them currently without any issue
__________________
SI VIS PACEM, PARA BELLUM...
Fifi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 06:52 AM   #10927
Ashikaga
Frogman
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 308
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 0
Default

It is great to see input by submariners on here. About that periscope. Yes you can put it full out and adjust depth with the sub to either let it be just above the surface. 1meter or less. I have done that a few times. However adjusting depth takes time. And it makes noise. So at the moment i go to periscope depth and just fiddle with the height by slowly clicking on it. I often am just on the border of water and surface and can still lock.
__________________
Ashikaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 08:22 AM   #10928
Cybermat47
Willing Webfooted Beast
 
Cybermat47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,140
Downloads: 202
Uploads: 13


Default

@vdr1981 Iíve been doing some research on the G7e TII torpedo, and Iíve found that itís inaccurate in SH5 at the moment, even with TWoS. Currently, it has a speed of 28 knots, and a range of 3000m. However, Iíve found that this performance was only found in the torpedo when it was launched ďcoldĒ. When properly pre-heated, it had a range of 5000m at 30 knots.

The sources I use for this from are uboat.net (https://uboat.net/technical/torpedoes.htm), navweaps.com (http://www.navweaps.com/Weapons/WTGER_WWII.php), and the work of the GWX team.

If you want to include this mod in the next version of TWoS, feel free to

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5388
__________________
Historical TWoS Gameplay Guide: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...20#post2572620
My Mods
Silent Hunter 4
- Japanese Career: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=4554
Silent Hunter 5
- Historical Torpedo Ranges and Speeds: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5399

- Shorter External Transfer Cooldown: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5400
Cybermat47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 08:42 AM   #10929
Fifi
Admiral
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,289
Downloads: 294
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybermat47 View Post
@vdr1981 Iíve been doing some research on the G7e TII torpedo, and Iíve found that itís inaccurate in SH5 at the moment, even with TWoS. Currently, it has a speed of 28 knots, and a range of 3000m. However, Iíve found that this performance was only found in the torpedo when it was launched ďcoldĒ. When properly pre-heated, it had a range of 5000m at 30 knots.

The sources I use for this from are uboat.net (https://uboat.net/technical/torpedoes.htm), navweaps.com (http://www.navweaps.com/Weapons/WTGER_WWII.php), and the work of the GWX team.

If you want to include this mod in the next version of TWoS, feel free to

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5388
But wouldnít it be the correct speed and range for G7e TII only when we order the torpedo man to pre-heat the torpedo?
Iíve seen we can have this active option for the torpedo man, even though iíve Never used it yet...
Meaning are you sure we donít have already this speed/range when the pre-heat order is given?
__________________
SI VIS PACEM, PARA BELLUM...
Fifi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 08:43 AM   #10930
Cybermat47
Willing Webfooted Beast
 
Cybermat47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,140
Downloads: 202
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifi View Post
But wouldn’t it be the correct speed and range for G7e TII only when we order the torpedo man to pre-heat the torpedo?
I’ve seen we can have this active option for the torpedo man, even though i’ve Never used it yet...
Meaning are you sure we don’t have already this speed/range when the pre-heat order is given?
Last time I checked, the pre-heat option was removed. I’ll take another look.

EDIT: Yep, the pre-heat option is greyed out and can't be used, regardless of morale.



Besides, it would be pretty silly for a u-boat captain to have to spot an enemy ship, go down the ladder into the control room, walk through the radio room and crew bunks to the torpedo room, tell the torpedo petty officer to pre-heat the torpedoes, then walk back through the crew bunks and radio room to the control room, climb the ladder to the conning tower, and then start making torpedo calculations.
__________________
Historical TWoS Gameplay Guide: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...20#post2572620
My Mods
Silent Hunter 4
- Japanese Career: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=4554
Silent Hunter 5
- Historical Torpedo Ranges and Speeds: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5399

- Shorter External Transfer Cooldown: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5400

Last edited by Cybermat47; 10-10-2018 at 08:57 AM.
Cybermat47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 10:19 AM   #10931
Fifi
Admiral
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,289
Downloads: 294
Uploads: 0


Default

For sure it would be crazy to run all over the sub to give this order!

Yes it’s greyed, but i thought it was when giving points in the crew tab that we could get the pre-heat option avalaible...on other hand, i don’t know what means Os (beside the option)
My bad if not
__________________
SI VIS PACEM, PARA BELLUM...
Fifi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 11:56 AM   #10932
Katze
Loader
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 83
Downloads: 166
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifi View Post
For sure it would be crazy to run all over the sub to give this order!

Yes it’s greyed, but i thought it was when giving points in the crew tab that we could get the pre-heat option avalaible...on other hand, i don’t know what means Os (beside the option)
My bad if not

The Pre-heat and Overcharge abilities can still be activated using F11 and F12 when there is enough morale. ( the 0s is the cooldown timer for the ability = zero seconds )
Katze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 12:01 PM   #10933
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 5,013
Downloads: 531
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybermat47 View Post
@vdr1981 I’ve been doing some research on the G7e TII torpedo, and I’ve found that it’s inaccurate in SH5 at the moment, even with TWoS. Currently, it has a speed of 28 knots, and a range of 3000m. However, I’ve found that this performance was only found in the torpedo when it was launched “cold”. When properly pre-heated, it had a range of 5000m at 30 knots.

The sources I use for this from are uboat.net (https://uboat.net/technical/torpedoes.htm), navweaps.com (http://www.navweaps.com/Weapons/WTGER_WWII.php), and the work of the GWX team.

If you want to include this mod in the next version of TWoS, feel free to

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5388
But, according to this source, if not preheated, the range was reduced to less than 1300m even for newer TIII torpedoes? What should we expect then from an old and "cold" TII? Sources differs, that is the fact...

http://www.uboataces.com/torpedo-tiii.shtml

Note that that all crew abilities to extend torpedo range have been disabled via TDW generic patcher. I may enable them again but that would require some testing. We should be very careful with torpedo bonuses because they can interfere with and screw up TDC calculations. We don't want that , do we?

Last edited by vdr1981; 10-10-2018 at 12:26 PM.
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 12:17 PM   #10934
Fifi
Admiral
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,289
Downloads: 294
Uploads: 0


Default

All crew ability to expand torp range is disabled? Ah ok, no problem

But what about giving points for torp increased damage? Do i spare points if i choose that? Is it still active?
__________________
SI VIS PACEM, PARA BELLUM...
Fifi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 12:22 PM   #10935
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 5,013
Downloads: 531
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifi View Post
All crew ability to expand torp range is disabled? Ah ok, no problem

But what about giving points for torp increased damage? Do i spare points if i choose that? Is it still active?
They are, but don't expect "nuclear" torps even with fully upgraded options...IIRC 5-6 percents of increase is a maximum. I left the option available just to give player something to do.
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim