SUBSIM®  Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM® Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2018, 11:30 AM   #1
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,420
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default Help with WIP unit visual damage (?)

Hi everyone!
In those days i'm working on a new Queen Elizabeth model.
I've finished 3d model for civilian version, i've imported all parts with 3ditor, created damage profile, and tested in SH3.
I've found this strange bug: when a torpedo hit the hull, sometimes damage textures appears. Sometimes doesn't. Randomly.
In both case ship slow down and take damage points \ sink.
I've tryed to rebuild files, re-import models, clone files, no results. This is really frustranting.

This is the Wip unit, nearby her parent unit (Queen Mary):

Same at night:


Is there anyone who can help me solve this situation?

Best regards,
Vd
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508

Last edited by VonDos; 08-21-2018 at 11:40 AM.
VonDos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2018, 06:09 PM   #2
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,420
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default

Update:
after tons of test, i've found this interesting thing: whend torpedoes hit some unit parts, damage effects were just too small for be seen.
I've rebuilded all, but now some damaged part are ok, some other appears like this:



What parameter is used ingame to regulate damage effect dimension?

Best regards,
Vd


PS
After just close and reload test mission, i try to shell again the ship.
This is the unexpeted result:



I'm asking myself if there's something wrong in my sh3 installation.
Same tests, different results.
Could someone please test this unit for me, and just hit her with shells and torpedoes?

Best regards,
Vd
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508

Last edited by VonDos; 08-23-2018 at 07:15 PM.
VonDos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2018, 01:28 PM   #3
Hebe Vollmaus
Seaman
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonDos View Post
...
I'm asking myself if there's something wrong in my sh3 installation.
Same tests, different results.
Could someone please test this unit for me, and just hit her with shells and torpedoes?
...
Yes, i can test it.
I have seen such behavior long ago on my own installation, but cant remember what the problem was. Also can not find related threads here on Subsim to lack on right Search-keywords.

Can you identify this Damage-Texture? If this texture comes from a *.dat i would look first into this *.dat.

Greetings.

[EDIT]
Files received, testing now.

Last edited by Hebe Vollmaus; 08-28-2018 at 12:30 PM.
Hebe Vollmaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2018, 12:28 PM   #4
Anvar1061
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 1,039
Downloads: 568
Uploads: 0
Default

I had this. http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=230936
Refer to the frog. Or look at how Unit **. val "ANZACMICKS DAMAGE IMMERSION" mod

Last edited by Anvar1061; 08-29-2018 at 10:48 AM.
Anvar1061 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 01:21 PM   #5
Hebe Vollmaus
Seaman
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anvar1061 View Post
I had this. http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=230936
Refer to the frog. Or look at how Unit **. val "ANZACMICKS DAMAGE IMMERSION" mod
Thanks Anvar1061.
When google the next line:
"damage texture" Silent hunter 3 -Downloads
the first Picture i get is directed to this:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=231185

This Damage-texture there looks like the one here. I think the Background is the original SH3 'Damage_metal_a.tga'.

Greetings.
Hebe Vollmaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 04:39 PM   #6
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,420
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks everyone!
File names in Val file are OK, files are present.

@Anvar1061 your linked post refere to a splitted half unit with wrong textures; sadly, this is a different scenario.

@Hebe Vollmaus this is really interesting. Yes, 'Damage_metal_a.tga' appear to be involved...
I've read your linked post also, same problem, bingo, but where is the solution?

Best regards,
Vd
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508
VonDos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 09:07 AM   #7
Hebe Vollmaus
Seaman
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonDos View Post
Thanks everyone!
File names in Val file are OK, files are present.
8<--
In the past i was not able to identify this ugly big texture. I figured it must be came out of some different File, tga or dat, maybe by some sort of mismatching names in such dat.

But thanks to VD's files now find out, this white zig-zack-pattern texture is actually the correct Damage-texture (Damage_metal_a.tga) but with many times concadenated to itself to each other and rotated by 45 degrees as intended.
One small hole as Expl_mask01_a.tga in front and many copies of Damage_metal_a.tga as background but filles some great part or section of the ship-model.

So it maybe have something todo with the 3D-model and its Texture-coordinates.
I have never created a ship for SH3, so i'm not shure.

I extracted the 3D-model with S3D, loaded into Anim8or, saved without touching the model, and reload into *.dat. Now these ugly white zig-zack-pattern is gone.
But some Damage-textures are not shown or work as they should be.

Greetings.
Hebe Vollmaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 11:32 AM   #8
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,420
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hebe Vollmaus View Post
In the past i was not able to identify this ugly big texture. I figured it must be came out of some different File, tga or dat, maybe by some sort of mismatching names in such dat.

But thanks to VD's files now find out, this white zig-zack-pattern texture is actually the correct Damage-texture (Damage_metal_a.tga) but with many times concadenated to itself to each other and rotated by 45 degrees as intended.
One small hole as Expl_mask01_a.tga in front and many copies of Damage_metal_a.tga as background but filles some great part or section of the ship-model.

So it maybe have something todo with the 3D-model and its Texture-coordinates.
I have never created a ship for SH3, so i'm not shure.

I extracted the 3D-model with S3D, loaded into Anim8or, saved without touching the model, and reload into *.dat. Now these ugly white zig-zack-pattern is gone.
But some Damage-textures are not shown or work as they should be.

Greetings.
Here also, today also another test failure.
I'm seriously thinking about scrap this unit

Best regards,
Vd
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508
VonDos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 09:54 AM   #9
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,194
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Ciao VonDos,

are Queen Mary's damage decals similarly messy?
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 10:23 AM   #10
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,420
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Ciao VonDos,

are Queen Mary's damage decals similarly messy?
Hi mate!
Queen Mary damage decals appear to be ok:


(From a YouTube user)

Best regards,
Vd
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508
VonDos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 11:00 AM   #11
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,194
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonDos View Post
Hi mate!
Queen Mary damage decals appear to be ok:
Okay, are we 100% sure that the one in the video is your version of the Queen Mary?

If so, is the Queen Elizabeth that you are currently working on a clone (separate dat, sim, zon, val. etc. files) or a proxy copy (shared dat file) of the former?

P.S: whoever shot that video is a bad, bad boy
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 01:04 PM   #12
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,420
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default

If he hasn't customized her, she's mine version for sure. I know the details :P
New Queen Elizabeth is totally cloned (unit folder and library folder) from QM, dat files aren't shared at all

Best regards,
Vd


\\P.S: whoever shot that video is a bad, bad boy \\ I agree
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508
VonDos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 02:16 PM   #13
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,194
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonDos View Post
If he hasn't customized her, she's mine version for sure. I know the details :P
I had spotted them myself, but I wanted to be sure

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonDos View Post
New Queen Elizabeth is totally cloned (unit folder and library folder) from QM, dat files aren't shared at all
So, except for the obvious removal of one of the funnels, which other modifications did you make to the unit? Did you mess with materials?

I have seen messy damage decals before...

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...83#post1652783
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...64#post1650064

...but that was on SHIV models imported in SH5. In that case, the solution was as follows:

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...05#post1654105

Hope it helps. Gap off for now
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 11:57 AM   #14
Hebe Vollmaus
Seaman
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonDos View Post
Here also, today also another test failure.
I'm seriously thinking about scrap this unit
Found this (post#29):
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom//sho...=227492&page=2

Change 0 to 4 in the 3d "Model-info" of the Hull.
Works much better then. And no need to scrap this beauty!

Greetings.
Hebe Vollmaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 03:10 PM   #15
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,420
Downloads: 21
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post

So, except for the obvious removal of one of the funnels, which other modifications did you make to the unit? Did you mess with materials?
There's a lot of 3d works in superstructures, and a different bow design.
Funnels are new. A lot of nodes had been replaced.
Best regards, and thanks
Vd


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hebe Vollmaus View Post
Found this (post#29):
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom//sho...=227492&page=2

Change 0 to 4 in the 3d "Model-info" of the Hull.
Works much better then. And no need to scrap this beauty!

Greetings.
Tested now, in sea\nppe_ hull parameter appear to be 4 by default.
I've changed this parameter in library's hull, but nothing appear to be changed. Can you please send me your reworked version via PM please?
Best regards,
Vd
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508
VonDos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim