SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2018, 01:35 PM   #1426
VONHARRIS
Konteradmiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,084
Downloads: 276
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailor Steve View Post
To get the most out of the MFM you might also want to try this.
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=4671
Thank you both Sailor Steve and Kelly621.

You saved me a lot of trouble.

I knew I could depend on the community.
And now off to work , I will add pennant numbers to all these warships in there.


I will let you know when it will be over
__________________
Eichenlaub mit Schwertern und Brillanten zum Ritterkreuz des Eisernen Kreuz

Last edited by VONHARRIS; 09-23-2018 at 02:00 PM.
VONHARRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 12:25 PM   #1427
von Zelda
Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 523
Downloads: 56
Uploads: 0
Default How to add ship's names?

How and where does one add this shipnames.cfg file to SH3 and/or SH3 Commander?

Does it replace EnglishNames.cfg in the sea folder or does it go into the cfg folder in SH3 Commander?

Detailed instructions would be nice. Thanks.
von Zelda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 01:36 PM   #1428
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 50,280
Downloads: 607
Uploads: 249


Default

From the bottom of the Download page for the mod:

"As always, just insert this into the SH3 Commander/CFG
folder and overwrite the old one.
__________________
"If mankind minus one were of one opinion, then mankind is no more justified in silencing the one than the one – if he had the power – would be justified in silencing mankind."
—John Stuart Mill



Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 10:30 AM   #1429
von Zelda
Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 523
Downloads: 56
Uploads: 0
Default

("As always, just insert this into the SH3 Commander/CFG
folder and overwrite the old one.)

I removed and saved the original "Ship Names.cfg" folder and then inserted the mods' "Ship Names.cfg" folder into Commander's CFG directory. Sorry, but this did not work for me. Where did I go wrong?

Should I have left the original "Ship Names.cfg" folder alone and just inserted the mod folder into the CFG directory? Would these two folders have combined data maybe and worked? Please be more specific; thanks.

Also, where is there a skins mod to go into Commander that will make the MFM ships change as the years progress? I've heard of one but can't seem to find it.
von Zelda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 01:05 PM   #1430
Kelly621
Officer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 236
Downloads: 329
Uploads: 0
Default Ships Names and MFM skins

Von Zelda,
Go to the forum thread listed below...the third post gives you three FTP links. Click on one of the links and then scroll down until you see "IAMBECOMELIFE" click on his name and you will see the MFM skins mod you want to download.

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...171019&page=26

I think I understand where you might be confused on Steve's Ships Names mod. Frist, in the readme included with Steve's mod is a list of additional ship classes that you can copy and insert into the existing EnglishNames.cfg file in your SH3 Data/Sea folder. You just need to remove, as Steve points out, any class type that he has changed from the original EnglishNames.cfg. for example in the original cfg file you have L01B = Heavy Merchant 01 you delete it because you are replacing it with L01B = Glennapp Class Merchant. The other new class names he provides you simply paste into the correct position within the EnglishNames.cfg list. Then in game when you spot and identify or sink a ship you will see for example a Bamora class merchant or African Monarch class merchant rather then seeing the same old "medium merchant" over and over again.

Second, The Ships Names.cfg file that Steve provides, you copy over the existing cfg file in SH3 Commander.Then after a patrol when SH3 Commander generates a patrol report it will use real ships names to identify your victims Here is an example of a patrol entry in SH3 Commander...

Ship sunk!
|Grid BE 82|
Sea Snapper (Old Tranp steamer), 3829 GRT/ts|
Cargo: Explosives. Crew: 60. Crew lost: 42

Make sure you have "Use Real Ships Names" option checked in SH3 Commander options.

Hope this answers your questions....I am running out of typing energy..it sucks getting old Sailor Steve please feel free to rap my knuckles with a ruler if I screwed any of this up!

Kelly621

Last edited by Kelly621; 09-26-2018 at 02:21 PM.
Kelly621 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 03:19 PM   #1431
von Zelda
Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 523
Downloads: 56
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks Kelly, I think I understand. Found skin pack as directed, hope I can install.
von Zelda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 06:03 AM   #1432
VONHARRIS
Konteradmiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,084
Downloads: 276
Uploads: 0
Default

Here I am , asking for your help.

I know there is a fix for the MFM that stops ships from lagging behind the convoy after the torpedo hits , or after the first deck gun shell fired.

I have this problem now and it is annoying. Enemy tanker doing 10 kts and when I fire the first shell , suddenly her speed drops to 5 kts even before the shell hits (successfully or not)

Anyway , I can not find the fix.
Can I please have some instructions where to find it?

Thanks a lot in advance
__________________
Eichenlaub mit Schwertern und Brillanten zum Ritterkreuz des Eisernen Kreuz
VONHARRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 04:47 AM   #1433
Kelly621
Officer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 236
Downloads: 329
Uploads: 0
Default Displacement mod

I think you are talking about the MFM3.2 displacement correction mod. The problems you are experiencing are talked about around page 91 plus or minus a page or two of this thread. I got the impression that that mod did not fix the issue. Read through that section is the best answer I can give you.


Kelly621

Last edited by Kelly621; 10-13-2018 at 04:57 AM.
Kelly621 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 07:08 AM   #1434
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 50,280
Downloads: 607
Uploads: 249


Default

Sorry I can't help. I don't recall ever encountering that problem. More likely I did and just didn't notice it. Anyway, I have no idea how to fix it.
__________________
"If mankind minus one were of one opinion, then mankind is no more justified in silencing the one than the one – if he had the power – would be justified in silencing mankind."
—John Stuart Mill



Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 11:58 AM   #1435
bigboywooly
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Swindon, England
Posts: 10,135
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
Default 3.3 CTD

After a long break fancied a game or two .
Fresh install of SH3 and GWX and on patrol 13 in current career, then i came across this mod.
Cant resist a good ship mod so DL 3.3 and installed.

It CTDs with last 10% to load which indicates a ship issue to me, probably one already in GWX thats been rejigged to fit SH3s folder names. I did start to read all of this thread but gave up lol.

Any clues ppl ?

Will go back to reading the thread in the hope of finding a reason or will have to wind the mind back a few years
__________________


My mediafire page http://www.mediafire.com/?11eoq19bq9r41
bigboywooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 12:06 PM   #1436
VONHARRIS
Konteradmiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,084
Downloads: 276
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelly621 View Post
I think you are talking about the MFM3.2 displacement correction mod. The problems you are experiencing are talked about around page 91 plus or minus a page or two of this thread. I got the impression that that mod did not fix the issue. Read through that section is the best answer I can give you.


Kelly621
Many thanks Kelly621
That's what I am looking for.
__________________
Eichenlaub mit Schwertern und Brillanten zum Ritterkreuz des Eisernen Kreuz
VONHARRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 12:06 PM   #1437
Kelly621
Officer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 236
Downloads: 329
Uploads: 0
Default

Bigboywooly,
If I remember correctly one cause of CTD's with the Merchant Fleet mood was not having the 4GB patch applied to SH3. This is a memory hungry mod. Have you created a new captain and check to see if the new career will load? The only other thing that comes to mind is a conflict with another mod.

Kelly621
Kelly621 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 12:17 PM   #1438
bigboywooly
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Swindon, England
Posts: 10,135
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelly621 View Post
Bigboywooly,
If I remember correctly one cause of CTD's with the Merchant Fleet mood was not having the 4GB patch applied to SH3. This is a memory hungry mod. Have you created a new captain and check to see if the new career will load? The only other thing that comes to mind is a conflict with another mod.

Kelly621
Good call, had applied the 4gb patch to my first GWX install but not the MFM one

Started after that.
Now to add some other mods :hmmm

Edit
Have my GWX 3 Wilhemshafen,St Naz,Schluese and xtra ships V7 added in with a couple of tweaks
https://www.mediafire.com/file/68356...ips_V7.7z/file
__________________


My mediafire page http://www.mediafire.com/?11eoq19bq9r41

Last edited by bigboywooly; 10-13-2018 at 01:15 PM.
bigboywooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 01:38 PM   #1439
Kelly621
Officer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 236
Downloads: 329
Uploads: 0
Default

Glad it was an easy fix. A bit off topic but I have found the thread linked below to be a great source for thinking about what mods to add to GWX.

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...creen+for+nygm
Kelly621 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 01:49 PM   #1440
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,991
Downloads: 33
Uploads: 0


Default

Holy Ghost from the past!
Good to see you BBW!
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim