SUBSIM®  Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM® Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Fleet Boat Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2017, 09:26 PM   #4981
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,821
Downloads: 229
Uploads: 0


Default

Well, my Museum passes with flying colors on all countries... I've looked through the Aleutians Traffic file, and the Russian convoys are quite a bit North of jldjs' position. Most of the other traffic in that area doesn't start until after June 7, 1942. There's no Japanese submarine's patrolling the area (yet), and the only thing is a few Japanese surface vessels and some American fishing boats... I haven't found anything yet.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 09:37 AM   #4982
Will-Rommel
Chief
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 320
Downloads: 73
Uploads: 0
Default

I'm on my second patrol with the mod, so far so good! Two things i'd point out tought :

1. I decided to install the Real environment mod by W_Clear and Kriller2 on top of it because i prefer the roll and pitch motion from this mod, the colors are great also.

2. I don't know if i'm alone with this issue, but in the attack map, if i adjust the "offset angle" for a torpedo tube, i don't see any correction made on the attack map. So i wonder if the TDC takes the offseted solution in account?


The AI is really dangerous, both planes and escorts in 1941 cannot be toyed with.
__________________
-Fighting is a lifestyle-
Will-Rommel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 09:43 AM   #4983
torpedobait
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 673
Downloads: 339
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapnScurvy View Post

Hmmmmm.....I may have to look at that green light from a plane detection!! It's possible if the parameters aren't set to exclude objects above the waterline.

As far as still getting a green detection light from a sunk ship.....I'm wondering if the ship actually was sunk? I mean, was it still "floating" on the surface, giving a detection green light, while it shown a sunk ship icon on the Nav map? That can happen.....I've seen that before. I'll have to check if the green light will show on just such a situation?

I'm not sure if we can do anything about it though. If the game reports a ship sunk, yet it doesn't go below the waves, I'm not sure if we can do anything about it?
I recently had a green light from a passing plane, one that was close enough I could actually hear its noise. Don't remember my depth, but with sufficient warning, I usually drop to 150' to avoid being seen in clear water.

And I often get the green light on a previously sunk ship that is reasonably close to my current location, and I assure you they were not still on the surface. This has been in the game all along, and for certain in TMO and FOTARS.
__________________
TorpedoBait (Damn! Where did that come from?)

Software: Win7 Pro 64-bit, FOTARS Ultimate v0.71 Public Beta EN, Large Address Aware, Smart Game Booster 4.
Hardware: Falcon-NW Mach V, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7CPU 975@ 3.33GHz, 12Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX970, Creative SoundBlaster Z.
torpedobait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 10:03 AM   #4984
Barkhorn1x
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Davie, FL Grid DM 23
Posts: 514
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 0
Default

Ahoy FOTRS team.

How does the mod handle time compression for a/c and ship sightings?
__________________
USS Shad SS-235 Gato Class

Barkhorn1x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 10:14 AM   #4985
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,821
Downloads: 229
Uploads: 0


Default

@Barkhorn1x: Hard-coded into the stock game, so the same as all of them. The max TCx has been set to 2048x to attempt to keep players from being completely sunk before they know what hit them... That is an easy enough setting to tweak yourself, if you insist on a higher setting. We might end up with a way to tweak that a bit easier later - then again, maybe not...


As for rolling an environmental mod in on top of FotRSU there Will-Rommel, you will get unpredictable results in the AI response to your boat. They might be able to see you from 15500 yards through the fog, or perhaps 250 foot down. We have no way of knowing what you'll encounter, or if it's even partially compatible with the submarines you'll be driviing. If you encounter troubles, we won't be able to help you out, since you've added to the beta version of the mod, which the whole idea of having a beta version is to test it prior to calling it a "normal" version... All that said, the environment in the mod is from W_Clear and Kriller2, probably with some AOTD_MadMax tweaks, of course...

Thanks for that torpedobait. I've been trying to get in a situation where I can point the head at a sinking ship to listen to it go down, and record it as it happens. Unfortunately, I keep getting sunk instead...

Edit: I don't know why I didn't think of it earlier, but I went into the EZ Torpedo in Subschool, and sank the Mogami, and then sat and listened for over 2 hours game time... You can hear the ship coming. You can hear the torpedoes on their way, you can hear the explosions, you can somewhat hear the sinking noise (I think) if you're close enough. The Mogami went down at 11:03 hours, game time. I gave up at 1415 hours game time, and the light was still lit green when pointed at where the ship went down... either that's very deep water and my sonar can point straight down, or the game gets "stuck" with old data that it can't clear...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna

Last edited by propbeanie; 07-13-2017 at 10:51 AM. Reason: Edit:
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 01:20 PM   #4986
CapnScurvy
General Nuisance
 
CapnScurvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 2,492
Downloads: 472
Uploads: 64


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
I don't know why I didn't think of it earlier, but I went into the EZ Torpedo in Subschool, and sank the Mogami, and then sat and listened for over 2 hours game time... You can hear the ship coming. You can hear the torpedoes on their way, you can hear the explosions, you can somewhat hear the sinking noise (I think) if you're close enough. The Mogami went down at 11:03 hours, game time. I gave up at 1415 hours game time, and the light was still lit green when pointed at where the ship went down... either that's very deep water and my sonar can point straight down, or the game gets "stuck" with old data that it can't clear...
That's a good test mission, I'll plan on tweaking with the Hydrophone settings to see if there can't be something done on the green light staying "on" after the ship is sunk and below water. I think I know how?

That plane detection too.
__________________


The HMS Shannon vs. USS Chesapeake outside Boston Harbor June 1, 1813

USS Chesapeake Captain James Lawrence lay mortally wounded...
Quote:
.."tell the men to fire faster, fight 'till she sinks,..boys don't give up the ship!"
CapnScurvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 04:57 PM   #4987
mark bonamer
Sonar Guy
 
mark bonamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicagoarea
Posts: 375
Downloads: 246
Uploads: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark bonamer View Post
dell xps (quad processors) 8 gig ram GeForce vid card 4 gig ram
update process runs automatically for dell, GeForce, and OS
OS is Win7
just installed Game Boost 4 which appears to be a winner.
LAA appears to be installed for SH4.
Let me know if you need addl info.
BTW, i've run two missions without difficulty since i abandoned the 3000 yd mod.
i went to the 16x9 video last year when it seemed from the posts i was reading that that was the favored resolution. what res would you recommend?
how does this look?

private picture upload
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.


-------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 8 GB Ram running Win7
mark bonamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 05:53 PM   #4988
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,821
Downloads: 229
Uploads: 0


Default

It's "active", and should work like that.

What OS are you using Mark, and whether it's 32-bit or 64-bit? How much RAM do you have in the machine? Do you happen to know which version of LAA that is?
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 09:54 PM   #4989
CapnScurvy
General Nuisance
 
CapnScurvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 2,492
Downloads: 472
Uploads: 64


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark bonamer View Post
how does this look?

private picture upload
That's a good image, and a very brief image address as I reply to this post. I think you've got it my friend!!

Propbeanie, Mark's system is a Windows 7, 64 bit. Dell xps (quad processors), 8 gigs of ram memory, GeForce video card....4 gig ram. He's running in 1600x900 x 32bit color x 60 hz which is his native resolution for his computer.

I don't know which version of Large Address Aware he downloaded? It depends on which .NetFramework version he has on his computer.

Which brings us to that very question......Mark, which .NetFramework are you using? Please read the Windows10; Large Address Aware; SH4 Install, about half way through you'll see where I instruct a person to open the computers "registry" to see what .NetFramework version is actually installed on your computer. Follow that to determine which version of LAA you should be using.

For all I know, Windows 7 OS may be directing their users to update their .NetFramework to a version 4.5.......if so, the correct version of LAA you should be using is the "laa_2_0_4_NetFramework_4_5.zip", instead of the original LAA version for a .NetFramework v3.5 which is "laa_2_0_4.zip". Please look to see Mark, which version of .NetFramework are you using? AND, which version of LAA did you download?
__________________


The HMS Shannon vs. USS Chesapeake outside Boston Harbor June 1, 1813

USS Chesapeake Captain James Lawrence lay mortally wounded...
Quote:
.."tell the men to fire faster, fight 'till she sinks,..boys don't give up the ship!"

Last edited by CapnScurvy; 07-14-2017 at 10:45 AM.
CapnScurvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 08:20 AM   #4990
mark bonamer
Sonar Guy
 
mark bonamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicagoarea
Posts: 375
Downloads: 246
Uploads: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
It's "active", and should work like that.

What OS are you using Mark, and whether it's 32-bit or 64-bit? How much RAM do you have in the machine? Do you happen to know which version of LAA that is?
win7-64 bit 8 GB RAM
LAA was just d/l last week. 2.0.4
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.


-------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 8 GB Ram running Win7
mark bonamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 08:57 AM   #4991
CapnScurvy
General Nuisance
 
CapnScurvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 2,492
Downloads: 472
Uploads: 64


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark bonamer View Post
win7-64 bit 8 GB RAM
LAA was just d/l last week. 2.0.4
Mark, your reply doesn't address the issue of checking your "Registry" and seeing what .NetFramework version is on your computer. Nor does stating "LAA.....2.0.4" tell us which LAA are you using? You apparently haven't read my tutorial.......I don't see how we can help further.
__________________


The HMS Shannon vs. USS Chesapeake outside Boston Harbor June 1, 1813

USS Chesapeake Captain James Lawrence lay mortally wounded...
Quote:
.."tell the men to fire faster, fight 'till she sinks,..boys don't give up the ship!"
CapnScurvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 10:47 AM   #4992
mark bonamer
Sonar Guy
 
mark bonamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicagoarea
Posts: 375
Downloads: 246
Uploads: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapnScurvy View Post
Mark, your reply doesn't address the issue of checking your "Registry" and seeing what .NetFramework version is on your computer. Nor does stating "LAA.....2.0.4" tell us which LAA are you using? You apparently haven't read my tutorial.......I don't see how we can help further.
calm down there, scurv. clearly our responses crossed in the ether.
reviewing the Win7-64 registry... the latest .Net installed is 4.0.3.
so, i guess i need to d/l, install and run the laa_2_0_4NetFramework_4_5.zip.
do i need to uninstall SH4 from the previous version?
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.


-------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 8 GB Ram running Win7
mark bonamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 10:53 AM   #4993
mark bonamer
Sonar Guy
 
mark bonamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicagoarea
Posts: 375
Downloads: 246
Uploads: 2
Default

hey guys, what do you think of this? LMFAO.
it's not a critical issue but you can put it on the list for next time.



Generic Mod Enabler - v2.6.0.157
[C:\Ubisoft\SH4\MODS]

100_FalloftheRisingSun_Ultimate_v0.62_PublicBeta_E N
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.


-------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 8 GB Ram running Win7
mark bonamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 11:21 AM   #4994
mark bonamer
Sonar Guy
 
mark bonamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicagoarea
Posts: 375
Downloads: 246
Uploads: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapnScurvy View Post
Mark, your reply doesn't address the issue of checking your "Registry" and seeing what .NetFramework version is on your computer. Nor does stating "LAA.....2.0.4" tell us which LAA are you using? You apparently haven't read my tutorial.......I don't see how we can help further.
scurv,

where is the laa_2_0_4NetFramework_4_5.zip? the only version i can find is http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=151588 but that seems to be the old version.

thanks.
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.


-------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 8 GB Ram running Win7
mark bonamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 12:59 PM   #4995
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,821
Downloads: 229
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark bonamer View Post
hey guys, what do you think of this? LMFAO.
it's not a critical issue but you can put it on the list for next time.



Generic Mod Enabler - v2.6.0.157
[C:\Ubisoft\SH4\MODS]

100_FalloftheRisingSun_Ultimate_v0.62_PublicBeta_E N
I thought it was supposed to be the 12 days of Christmas... I'll see if I can find the file. btw, how did you get that? From the start of a patrol, or from radioing in a status report? Anyone else find incomplete instructions in the game? Or maybe instructions for two months in the future, or even in the past?...


Quote:
Originally Posted by mark bonamer View Post
scurv,
where is the laa_2_0_4NetFramework_4_5.zip? the only version i can find is http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=151588 but that seems to be the old version.

thanks.
https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t...-aware.112556/
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=3634

I'm not sure which version Webster uploaded to here, but I don't think it's the NetFramework version. On the techpowerup site, you have to scroll down by Post #2 in order to see the "laa_2_0_4_NetFramwork_4_5.zip" link. That techpowerup link is the same one in CapnScurvy's thread.

Edit: nutz... there's a few of those like that... They can be assigned anytime between July and December of 42 in this particular case, but other are like that also... What we might try to do is have different ones for the Contact / Status Report ones that would get routed through the DynamicMiss file, and another for the regular assignment that would be more restricted by time frame...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna

Last edited by propbeanie; 07-14-2017 at 01:09 PM.
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim