SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Current crop of subsims & naval games > Wolfpack
Forget password? Reset here

Old 06-15-16, 06:14 AM   #1
rentacow
Machinist's Mate

Downloads: 55
Uploads: 0
Default Guide to breaking the Enigma code!

So after 2 dev Q&A sessions it's clear there are a few of you wondering how the enigma can be decoded in PvP situations. I'm not an expert at all so this is a rough guide. Excuse my poor use of terminology especially. For example sake I will keep this fairly short and arrive at some conclusions faster than you might expect in a live game setting.

Let's look at some example encrypted text our sonar/radio operator just received from the english speaking enemy team:

I78D IN8W AFAF ICQF FIUQ

To make it extra hard on us, and because they are jerks they have abandoned plain formatting and are sending the encrypted text 4 letters at a time. >> The engima machine in-game will not be used at all during this decryption process. <<

So let's begin. A good place to start is by looking at the frequency of all the characters (letters) that appear. After all, the enigma machine modeled in-game uses a simple substitution cipher. We will use frequency analysis to decode the message.

Letter : # times appearing in the message
f : 4
i : 4
8 : 2
a : 2
q : 2
7 : 1
n : 1
u : 1
w : 1
d : 1
c : 1

You can count the characters by hand or use a web tool for extra long messages. The more encrypted text using the same "key" by the enemy, the better.

"E" is the most common letter in the alphabet and "the" is the most common word so look for those patterns first. In this case there are none. Next why don't we look for the letter "A" as it's a letter and a word

A*** A*** **** A*** *A** unknown = *

Above we assume "I" has replaced "A".