SUBSIM®  Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM® Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2018, 01:54 PM   #91
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,201
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by padi View Post
@gap

I'm online today for the first time in many months, so I have to look at your mod first before I could say anything about it and the useness of the models.
But they sound really interesting and useful!
Are they made with the same file structure like the Stock-DCs?
No mod so far: just 3D meshes. Their structure can be customized depending on the need. In general, I like keeping my models for SHIII as "modular" as possible so that, if need be, I can re-use the same parts many times, without need of re-importing the every time
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 02:23 PM   #92
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,201
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
No mod so far: just 3D meshes. Their structure can be customized depending on the need. In general, I like keeping my models for SHIII as "modular" as possible so that, if need be, I can re-use the same parts many times, without need of re-importing the every time
Let me give you an example of what I mean for "modular" models. Let's say that we are importing different throwers and DC marks in game. As long as we store them in the same file, there is no need that we import each DC model two times (one for the charge loaded on the thrower and one for the actual ammo depth charge): the same mesh can be linked both to the thrower model and to the DC ammo node. This approach will be very useful since your mod features different thrower and DC marks: using it we can create many combinations by still keeping file size acceptable. Moreover, by keeping the harbor mesh saparate from the DC mesh, we can do harbors to disappear once the DC enters in the water using the visible underwater render controller. I hope I am making myself clear...
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 04:25 PM   #93
padi
Planesman
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 186
Downloads: 118
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Let me give you an example of what I mean for "modular" models. Let's say that we are importing different throwers and DC marks in game. As long as we store them in the same file, there is no need that we import each DC model two times (one for the charge loaded on the thrower and one for the actual ammo depth charge): the same mesh can be linked both to the thrower model and to the DC ammo node. This approach will be very useful since your mod features different thrower and DC marks: using it we can create many combinations by still keeping file size acceptable. Moreover, by keeping the harbor mesh saparate from the DC mesh, we can do harbors to disappear once the DC enters in the water using the visible underwater render controller. I hope I am making myself clear...


Yes you are very clear.
I think that I was unclear.

I answer tomorrow because the names for the different labels in the file structure I need to explain my error aren't coming to my mind...
__________________
My Mediafire Page
padi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 05:33 AM   #94
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,201
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by padi View Post
Yes you are very clear.
I think that I was unclear.

I answer tomorrow because the names for the different labels in the file structure I need to explain my error aren't coming to my mind...
Okay, I am looking forward to your answers
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 09:17 AM   #95
padi
Planesman
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 186
Downloads: 118
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Let me give you an example of what I mean for "modular" models. Let's say that we are importing different throwers and DC marks in game. As long as we store them in the same file, there is no need that we import each DC model two times (one for the charge loaded on the thrower and one for the actual ammo depth charge): the same mesh can be linked both to the thrower model and to the DC ammo node. This approach will be very useful since your mod features different thrower and DC marks: using it we can create many combinations by still keeping file size acceptable. Moreover, by keeping the harbor mesh saparate from the DC mesh, we can do harbors to disappear once the DC enters in the water using the visible underwater render controller. I hope I am making myself clear...
I have meant the following:

In Stock a DC Node in the DC_R_KG.dat is structured in the following order:

DCRack
-> DCRack_base_L
-> DCRack_barrel01
-> SHD_DCRack_barrel01
-> DCRack_BarrelFall01
-> SHD_DCRack_BarrelFall01
-> DCRack_BarrelFall
-> SHD_DCRack_BarrelFall
-> crik
-> stopper
-> parghie
-> SHD_DCRack_base_L
-> DC_man
-> DC_man_cask

My question was if you have structured your models that the existing 3D-models are replaced through these and work so or whether the file structure is built up differently.

Quote:
As long as we store them in the same file, there is no need that we import each DC model two times (one for the charge loaded on the thrower and one for the actual ammo depth charge):
For me that sentence sounds like that isnt the case, which would be an improvement in keeping the filesize small if models could be used more than once
Quite apart from that Im always thankful for any help and suggestion in improving the mod an my knowledge of the game so Im happy that a person with your know how want to help me
__________________
My Mediafire Page

Last edited by padi; 03-27-2018 at 09:40 AM. Reason: orthography
padi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 11:35 AM   #96
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,201
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by padi View Post
In Stock a DC Node in the DC_R_KG.dat is structured in the following order...
Okay, my example was about Y- and K-guns. DC racks are a bit more complicated because they have keyframe animations that possibly we will need to fine tune a bit for our updated models. Before S3d, hex-editing them and checking every little change in game would have been a little nightmare, but now things are much easier. Here are my notes on the stock DC rack structure:
  • DCRack_base_L This node contains the rack itself (static)
    • DCRack_barrel01 This node contains the last four DC barrels (with keyframe animations)
      • SHD_DCRack_barrel01
    • DCRack_BarrelFall01 This node contains the first DC barrel, ready for being dropped (with keyframe animations)
      • SHD_DCRack_BarrelFall01
    • DCRack_BarrelFall Same as <DCRack_BarrelFall01>, but a different stage of DC's dropping animation (with keyframe animations, when we se it, we don't see <DCRack_BarrelFall01>)
      • SHD_DCRack_BarrelFall
    • crik This node contains the release lever (with keyframe animations)
    • stopper This node contains the DC stopper (with keyframe animations)
      • parghie This node contains the shaft connecting the release lever with the DC stopper (with keyframe animations)
    • SHD_DCRack_base_L
  • DC_man This node contains the sailor manning the DC rack (with mesh animations)
  • DC_man_cask This node contains sailor's helmet (with keyframe animations)

nodes whose name starts with "SHD", can be ignored at this stage, as they are used for dynamic shadows that are disabled/buggy in SHIII.

Quote:
Originally Posted by padi View Post
My question was if you have structured your models that the existing 3D-models are replaced through these and work so or whether the file structure is built up differently.
No, I didn't because so far I have only modelled DC barrels and other ASW ordnance, but I have not looked into racks/throwers (yet). I will look into my books for informations on them. I hope I can get some good drawing of them, that I can use for creating realistic models of them. Please, let me know if you have any valuable information on them (types used, sizes, specs and possibly drawings)

Quote:
Originally Posted by padi View Post
For me that sentence sounds like that isnt the case, which would be an improvement in keeping the filesize small if models could be used more than once
Definitely that's something we can and we need to achieve

Quote:
Originally Posted by padi View Post
Quite apart from that Im always thankful for any help and suggestion in improving the mod an my knowledge of the game so Im happy that a person with your know how want to help me
My pleasure padi. As I have said yesterday, I have the most important US and British depth charges basically ready for being imported in game. Let's focus on the throwing/dropping mechanisms now. Once I have modelled one or two of them, we can start importing them into your mod together with the DC barrels, and see how they look/work

EDIT: I have just checked for information the website of the Historic Naval Ships Association and I have found the following documents on US DC tracks and projectors:

http://archive.hnsa.org/doc/destroye...ctor/index.htm (alternative link: https://maritime.org/doc/destroyer/d...ctor/index.htm)
http://archive.hnsa.org/doc/destroye...tor1/index.htm (alternative link: https://maritime.org/doc/destroyer/d...tor1/index.htm)
http://archive.hnsa.org/doc/destroye...rack/index.htm (alternative link: https://maritime.org/doc/destroyer/depthtrack/index.htm)

The pamphlet on the DC racks is dated September 1952 though. Possibly some racks developped after the end of WWII are listed there, and some early racks considered obsolete but still in use during the war have been omitted

EDIT 2: found on navweaps.com some additional information on DC racks/projectors used by the main nations involved in WWII:

UK
USA
USSR
France
Germany
Italy
Japan
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/

Last edited by gap; 03-27-2018 at 12:21 PM.
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 11:47 AM   #97
padi
Planesman
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 186
Downloads: 118
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Okay, my example was about Y- and K-guns. DC racks are a bit more complicated because they have keyframe animations that possibly we will need to fine tune a bit for our updated models. Before S3d, hex-editing them and checking every little change in game would have been a little nightmare, but now things are much easier. Here are my notes on the stock DC rack structure:
  • DCRack_base_L This node contains the rack itself (static)
    • DCRack_barrel01 This node contains the last four DC barrels (with keyframe animations)
      • SHD_DCRack_barrel01
    • DCRack_BarrelFall01 This node contains the first DC barrel, ready for being dropped (with keyframe animations)
      • SHD_DCRack_BarrelFall01
    • DCRack_BarrelFall Same as <DCRack_BarrelFall01>, but a different stage of DC's dropping animation (with keyframe animations, when we se it, we don't see <DCRack_BarrelFall01>)
      • SHD_DCRack_BarrelFall
    • crik This node contains the release lever (with keyframe animations)
    • stopper This node contains the DC stopper (with keyframe animations)
      • parghie This node contains the shaft connecting the release lever with the DC stopper (with keyframe animations)
    • SHD_DCRack_base_L
  • DC_man This node contains the sailor manning the DC rack (with mesh animations)
  • DC_man_cask This node contains sailor's helmet (with keyframe animations)

nodes whose name starts with "SHD", can be ignored at this stage, as they are used for dynamic shadows that are disabled/buggy in SHIII.



No, I didn't because so far I have only modelled DC barrels and other ASW ordnance, but I have not looked into racks/throwers (yet). I will look into my books for informations on them. I hope I can get some good drawing of them, that I can use for creating realistic models of them. Please, let me know if you have any valuable information on them (types used, sizes, specs and possibly drawings)



Definitely that's something we can and we need to achieve



My pleasure padi. As I have said yesterday, I have the most important US and British depth charges basically ready for being imported in game. Let's focus on the throwing/dropping mechanisms now. Once I have modelled one or two of them, we can start importing them into your mod together with the DC barrels, and see how they look/work
Sounds fantastic!

I have only found this link for drawings about Racks in the past, but Im searching for more: http://ship-model-today.de/sd072.htm

Thanks again!

P.S.: I dont know, if that is useful, but I have found these drawings/pictures of Racks and K-Guns:
http://www.navweaps.com/Weapons/WAMUS_ASW.php
http://www.ship-model-today.de/auk-009.jpg
https://www.ussslater.org/tour/weapons/racks/racks.html
https://www.ussslater.org/tour/weapo.../dpthchrg.html
https://www.ussslater.org/tour/weapons/k-gun/k-gun.html
__________________
My Mediafire Page

Last edited by padi; 03-27-2018 at 12:17 PM. Reason: Adding more Links
padi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 12:27 PM   #98
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,201
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by padi View Post
Sounds fantastic!

I have only found this link for drawings about Racks in the past, but Im searching for more: http://ship-model-today.de/sd072.htm

Thanks again!

P.S.: I dont know, if that is useful, but I have found these drawings/pictures of Racks and K-Guns:
http://www.navweaps.com/Weapons/WAMUS_ASW.php
http://www.ship-model-today.de/auk-009.jpg
https://www.ussslater.org/tour/weapons/racks/racks.html
https://www.ussslater.org/tour/weapo.../dpthchrg.html
https://www.ussslater.org/tour/weapons/k-gun/k-gun.html
Good pictures are alway good but, for modelling, technical drawings are even better
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 02:06 PM   #99
Niume
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 983
Downloads: 303
Uploads: 0
Default

Glad to see some action in this thread. Though i barely understand whats going on but I must say keep going!
__________________
Niume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 02:40 PM   #100
Snow Rose
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Some where, USA
Posts: 10
Downloads: 81
Uploads: 0
Default

Love it. Always was a big complaint that They use unrealistic ASW in the game.
Snow Rose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 03:11 PM   #101
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,201
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snow Rose View Post
Love it. Always was a big complaint that They use unrealistic ASW in the game.
What is worse in my opinion, is the ludicrusly small number of weapons and ammo types featured in stock game. With such a limited stock of weapons available, is difficult simulating in a realistical way the evolution of ASW warfare throughout the war. I think this is the main pro of padi's mod
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 11:05 PM   #102
Slyguy3129
中国水兵
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tejas
Posts: 281
Downloads: 108
Uploads: 0
Default

I suppose this doesn't work with GWX3?
__________________
I may disagree with what you say, but I will fight, even to death, for your right to say it. By: Someone more articulate than I, but in my words.
Slyguy3129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 04:07 AM   #103
padi
Planesman
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 186
Downloads: 118
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slyguy3129 View Post
I suppose this doesn't work with GWX3?


No, because of a big bug in GWX I can't create a working mod for it.
The ships would only carry the early Mark VII/Mark 6 DCs and not the advanced ones.

@all:

After playing WAC for some hours I'm really impressed by the mod and I'm working on a version for it.
__________________
My Mediafire Page
padi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 05:11 AM   #104
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,201
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by padi View Post
No, because of a big bug in GWX I can't create a working mod for it.
The ships would only carry the early Mark VII/Mark 6 DCs and not the advanced ones.
What bug?

Quote:
Originally Posted by padi View Post
After playing WAC for some hours I'm really impressed by the mod and I'm working on a version for it.
Maybe I am overseeing something obvious, but to the the best of my understanding there is not reason for this mod being compatible/uncompatible with one particular mod configuration. Only damage levels (hit points) might need some finetunigs from one supermod to the other, due to different U-boat (and ASW escorts) damage settings
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 05:17 AM   #105
padi
Planesman
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 186
Downloads: 118
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
What bug?







Maybe I am overseeing something obvious, but to the the best of my understanding there is not reason for this mod being compatible/uncompatible with one particular mod configuration. Only damage levels (hit points) might need some finetunigs from one supermod to the other, due to different U-boat (and ASW escorts) damage settings


The bug is that due to an error in the mission editor the ships are driving with 1939 equipment for the whole war...

The mod isn't compatible with other mods because I had to change the .eqp-file of any included ship, so the new DCs really work.
__________________
My Mediafire Page
padi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
asw , depth charge , mod , real , realismn

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2018 Subsim