SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2018, 02:12 PM   #1
bigboywooly
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Swindon, England
Posts: 10,135
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
Default Terrain editing

I did this many years ago using Photoshop and raw files using the terrain editor 2.1.
Is this still the case ? Or have there been advances in the few years have been absent.

Thanx in advance
__________________


My mediafire page http://www.mediafire.com/?11eoq19bq9r41
bigboywooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 03:03 PM   #2
Anvar1061
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 1,146
Downloads: 580
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigboywooly View Post
I did this many years ago using Photoshop and raw files using the terrain editor 2.1.
Is this still the case ? Or have there been advances in the few years have been absent.

Thanx in advance

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...&postcount=320
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...&postcount=364
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...&postcount=365
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...&postcount=419
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...&postcount=422
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...&postcount=430
Anvar1061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 03:44 PM   #3
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,885
Downloads: 232
Uploads: 0


Default

One thing I stumbled upon with my set-up, which is the GWX Terrain Editor, and a really old version of Photoshop LE. Did I mention that it was "old", like v2.0 old? Anyway, it does work, but I have to do ~ALL~ of the edits desired before Saving, and I can't use an intermediate file type, just the RAW. If when I check the edits in-game, if it doesn't turn out the way I desired, I start over again with the Stock file and try again. The use of grid paper and a print-out of the unedited terrain is indespensible in the planning process. If I attempt to edit a file that has already been edited, then I'll end up with "Lot's Wife" type of columns at the border corners or walls at the border (6pixels), depending upon the edits, and where they are in the terrain. When they mention that edits within 6 pixels of the edge must be matched in the neighbor segment, they do have to match, else you have a "wall" on that edge area instead.

But it's a blast doing it. Remember that ships seem to have a deeper keel for the magnetic pistols, and those do seem to effect a ship's actual draft, and the ZON files' spheres seem to also, such that (in SH4 anyway) we had to make certain areas of some harbors "deeper", so that "historical" ships could sit and / or spawn in them.

Remember now: This is fun. Keep saying that over and over...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 04:46 PM   #4
bigboywooly
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Swindon, England
Posts: 10,135
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
Icon14

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
One thing I stumbled upon with my set-up, which is the GWX Terrain Editor, and a really old version of Photoshop LE. Did I mention that it was "old", like v2.0 old? Anyway, it does work, but I have to do ~ALL~ of the edits desired before Saving, and I can't use an intermediate file type, just the RAW. If when I check the edits in-game, if it doesn't turn out the way I desired, I start over again with the Stock file and try again. The use of grid paper and a print-out of the unedited terrain is indespensible in the planning process. If I attempt to edit a file that has already been edited, then I'll end up with "Lot's Wife" type of columns at the border corners or walls at the border (6pixels), depending upon the edits, and where they are in the terrain. When they mention that edits within 6 pixels of the edge must be matched in the neighbor segment, they do have to match, else you have a "wall" on that edge area instead.

But it's a blast doing it. Remember that ships seem to have a deeper keel for the magnetic pistols, and those do seem to effect a ship's actual draft, and the ZON files' spheres seem to also, such that (in SH4 anyway) we had to make certain areas of some harbors "deeper", so that "historical" ships could sit and / or spawn in them.

Remember now: This is fun. Keep saying that over and over...
Yeah have done some editing in the past when placing new ports in GWX, was a ballache. One of the team was working on an editor akin to SH5s one but disappeared before completing it. Was hoping someone else had created something. Oh well. Best find an old photoshop and crack on
__________________


My mediafire page http://www.mediafire.com/?11eoq19bq9r41
bigboywooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 04:50 PM   #5
bigboywooly
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Swindon, England
Posts: 10,135
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
Icon7

Thanx Anvar.
Some good reading that
__________________


My mediafire page http://www.mediafire.com/?11eoq19bq9r41
bigboywooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim