SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Mods and files for every subsim!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2015, 01:12 PM   #16
the_frog
Commander
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 444
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Fahnenbohn, it's linked to SH3's not implemented individual unit counting. So, yes, editing the individual untis in the *.cfg file is pretty useless. But, hey, it's kind of attaching the model to history
the_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2015, 04:21 PM   #17
LGN1
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,104
Downloads: 143
Uploads: 11
Default

Great work, the_frog!

Do you have any plans to update the US destroyers in SH3?

Regards, LGN1
LGN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 12:23 PM   #18
the_frog
Commander
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 444
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

LGN1,

the probably most ugly model in SH3/4 is NDD_Fletcher. The hull is just horrible. I started doing a new model but then lost interest. One day, I might re-visit that project.
the_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 01:05 PM   #19
Scout614
Bosun
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 62
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Hey Frog. Whats the best way to get your ships to populate my world since i seemed to mess up your British destroyers last time i tried to put them in?
Scout614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 10:28 AM   #20
Jimbuna
Chief of the Boat
 
Jimbuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 250 metres below the surface
Posts: 122,464
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 11


Default

A very nice addition matey
__________________
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.
Oh my God, not again!!


GWX3.0 Download Page - Donation/instant access to GWX (Help SubSim)
Jimbuna is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 07:12 AM   #21
the_frog
Commander
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 444
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Hello Scout614,

if your campaign files contain entries calling for generic vessels, then there's a certain change that the vessels show up. However, generic entries are rare; most entries call for specific units. So, just installing new ship does not mean you will ever see one of them.

To increase the propability of sighting one needs to edit the campaign files (random as well as scripted layer), using the mission editor (or, with more experience, a text editor). WB did many edits for GWX but I haven't seen him here for a while.

I could provide campaign files but that's tricky because there are so many versions on the market and almost everybody runs a unique version of the game. So, I don't do it.

Cheers
the_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 09:56 AM   #22
pedalboat
Bosun
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Cape Ortegal - Spain
Posts: 65
Downloads: 93
Uploads: 0
Default

Well, just for a show I added this ship by deleting the default one in mission Convoy Attack (NavalAcademy folder) and at least it works for me withot problem so far.

[Group 1.Unit 7]
Name=FR DD Le Fantasque
Class=DDMalin
Type=4
Origin=France
Side=1
Commander=0
CargoExt=-1
CargoInt=-1
CfgDate=19380101
DeleteOnLastWaypoint=true
GameEntryDate=19380101
GameEntryTime=0
GameExitDate=19451231
GameExitTime=0
EvolveFromEntryDate=false
Long=1723610.000000
Lat=6592940.000000
Height=0.000000
Heading=70.193764
Speed=5.000000
CrewRating=1
DelayMin=0
ReportPosMin=-1
ReportPosProbability=100
RandStartRadius=0.000000
pedalboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 10:57 AM   #23
the_frog
Commander
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 444
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

pedalboat,

editing one mission file in order to have a look at the model is fine. Editing the campaign file is something completely different ...
the_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 02:13 PM   #24
pedalboat
Bosun
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Cape Ortegal - Spain
Posts: 65
Downloads: 93
Uploads: 0
Default

Yes, you're right, the_frog. Fiddling around with the campaign file is beyond my skills. That's why I did it the easy way.
pedalboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 04:05 PM   #25
Scout614
Bosun
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 62
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_frog View Post
Hello Scout614,

if your campaign files contain entries calling for generic vessels, then there's a certain change that the vessels show up. However, generic entries are rare; most entries call for specific units. So, just installing new ship does not mean you will ever see one of them.

To increase the propability of sighting one needs to edit the campaign files (random as well as scripted layer), using the mission editor (or, with more experience, a text editor). WB did many edits for GWX but I haven't seen him here for a while.

I could provide campaign files but that's tricky because there are so many versions on the market and almost everybody runs a unique version of the game. So, I don't do it.

Cheers
That stinks i tried in the past with your RN DDs to change there unit names to match the stock ships in game but that messed up alot so im not gonna do that again.
Scout614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 05:57 PM   #26
the_frog
Commander
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 444
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Scout614,

you are describing something different. Stock SH3 has only following RN destroyers (unit class 4): V&W, C&D, J, Tribal

I provided full replacments of J and Tribal; you could replace the C&D by one of the A to I destroyers. You just need to delete the entire NDD_C&D folder in the sea folder; then copy one of the desired A to I folders to the sea folder. And finally (and most important), you need to edit the *.cfg file in the new folder. The ClassName given therein must be changed to DDC&D. That's it.

You could also think of replacing NDE_River, which is the late-war escort version of whatsoever A to I destroyer (the Canadians lumped all A to I destroyers they received into one single group, named River class). In that case, you also need to change the UnitType to 3.
the_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 07:16 PM   #27
Scout614
Bosun
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 62
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Ok that makes alot more sense now. I think sh3 also has a Hunt class but I'm not near my computer to check. of course im also using GWX3 so that might be why i have more DDs then what you are saying

Last edited by Scout614; 02-21-2015 at 07:44 PM.
Scout614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 07:36 AM   #28
the_frog
Commander
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 444
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

... right, the Hunts are also unit class 4 in SH3, I forgot about that. SH3 has all three Hunt classes and I did replacements. You don't need to do anything else than installing them ...
the_frog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 01:43 PM   #29
Scout614
Bosun
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 62
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_frog View Post
... right, the Hunts are also unit class 4 in SH3, I forgot about that. SH3 has all three Hunt classes and I did replacements. You don't need to do anything else than installing them ...
thanks I'll test them out once I finish this patrol
Scout614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 04:37 PM   #30
LGN1
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,104
Downloads: 143
Uploads: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_frog View Post

...
You could also think of replacing NDE_River, which is the late-war escort version of whatsoever A to I destroyer (the Canadians lumped all A to I destroyers they received into one single group, named River class). In that case, you also need to change the UnitType to 3.
Hi the_frog,

do you have a recommendation which one from A to I to use in order to replace the NDE_River (I have used the D class to replace the NDD_C&D)?

Related to this, does it make sense to replace a stock US DD by one of the three DDs from the US destroyer pack (Bagley, Benham, or Porter)? I'm not very familiar with destroyers...

Regards, LGN1
LGN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim