SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2017, 04:20 AM   #481
Niume
Guts for Garters
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Lithuania Marijampole reg. Lithuania is near Poland if you din't know
Posts: 599
Downloads: 236
Uploads: 0
Default

Read the manual about wolfpacks I think the problem is what you don't designate convoys course via AOB dial
__________________
Niume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 04:30 AM   #482
kyle9154
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia THE HUB OF ALL CONVOYS
Posts: 17
Downloads: 294
Uploads: 0
Exclamation AOB DIAL????????

I don't know how to use that AOB dial, or where it is even located. I'm a noob gamer, I don't use manual targeting because just too much thinking involved and steps that I could never get the hang of it. I just press the lock button and fire torpedos, and the calculating is done by the a.i, but what has this got anything to do with the wolfpack not working as it should.
kyle9154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 07:33 AM   #483
Niume
Guts for Garters
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Lithuania Marijampole reg. Lithuania is near Poland if you din't know
Posts: 599
Downloads: 236
Uploads: 0
Default

Copied from the manual

When you find a convoy, you should inform BDU about details. Thus, roughly estimate the
convoy's course and speed and put these two values into the two TDC dials "Bearing" and
"Speed" (German: Zielrichtung & Gegnerfahrt). If the convoy is heading north, set course to
0°, if it's heading east, set course to 90° and so on. Then, press 'M' key in order to send the
contact report. You'll see these two values for course and speed in the contact report. SH3 no
more calculates them for you. It's your job now. After some time, you'll receive a response
from BDU. If no other Uboats are available, you'll be ordered to attack alone. If other Uboats
6
are available, BDU will order you to shadow the convoy and send contact reports every hour,
if possible. (Note: Time between two reports isn't allowed to be lower than 55 minutes).
Your speed and course estimations are necessary to lead the wolfpack into the operation area
to intercept the convoy. The time between your first contact report and the wolfpack attack
depends on the initial distance between the Uboats and the convoy. During shadowing, you'll
get some orders from BDU. Follow these instructions. But sometimes BDU messages get lost
or come too late - chaos, as in real life. If the wolfpack reaches the operation area, BDU will
wait for good attack conditions (dark and no fog) and then order to attack. Then, some time
later, the convoy battle (hopefully) begins. But it is possible, that the order to attack does not
come in time or even gets lost. Bad luck, as in real life. The time period influences the
availability of wolfpacks: In 1939, no wolfpack Uboats are available. In 1942 the chance is
very high that a wolfpack is available to help you. From 1943 on, the chance strongly rises,
that hunter-killer groups sink/damage the wolfpack Uboats, so that they don't reach their
operation area. Then, BDU orders to attack alone. Your position also influences the
availability: Wolfpacks are available in the north- and south atlantic, but not near land. It is
important to send contact reports on a regulary basis - every hour, if possible, in order to lead
the wolfpack to the convoy using the shortest route. Otherwise the chance rises, that the
wolfpack isn't able to reach the interception point in time. Then, you have to attack alone.
Weather also has an impact: The higher the windspeed, the higher the chance that the
wolfpack Uboats get fuel problems or similar and don't reach the operation area in time
__________________
Niume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 08:25 AM   #484
kyle9154
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia THE HUB OF ALL CONVOYS
Posts: 17
Downloads: 294
Uploads: 0
Default thankyou

thanks so much, I'm going to favorite this page.
just one question though, do I have to enable manual targeting in realism settings to use the TDC dials for the wolfpack or can I keep it off?
kyle9154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 10:49 AM   #485
Niume
Guts for Garters
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Lithuania Marijampole reg. Lithuania is near Poland if you din't know
Posts: 599
Downloads: 236
Uploads: 0
Default

You can use automatic still just lock the target before sending contact report
__________________
Niume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 04:50 PM   #486
Doolar Semler
Expert Shipsinker
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: U-33/U-73/U-27 (Balto,Md./CA45)
Posts: 395
Downloads: 290
Uploads: 0
Default just wondering

having not seen Bl!tz around for a few weeks. I was just wondering if S3F was ever going to be completed. I would like to someday to be able to use the " 4C-Code-Addon by Stiebler " that is still not ready. I realize that Bl!tz has been busy on other projects. I mean it's no big deal, and I don't want to bug anyone but S3F is a very useful tool that makes things very easy for us guys (me) that aren't good at intense computer stuff and want all the whistles and bells that SH III has to offer.
thanx Jerry CA45
Doolar Semler is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 03:48 AM   #487
Niume
Guts for Garters
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Lithuania Marijampole reg. Lithuania is near Poland if you din't know
Posts: 599
Downloads: 236
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doolar Semler View Post
having not seen Bl!tz around for a few weeks. I was just wondering if S3F was ever going to be completed. I would like to someday to be able to use the " 4C-Code-Addon by Stiebler " that is still not ready. I realize that Bl!tz has been busy on other projects. I mean it's no big deal, and I don't want to bug anyone but S3F is a very useful tool that makes things very easy for us guys (me) that aren't good at intense computer stuff and want all the whistles and bells that SH III has to offer.
thanx Jerry CA45
I don't know but his last activity was in MAY probably Black MAY.
__________________
Niume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 10:10 AM   #488
Doolar Semler
Expert Shipsinker
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: U-33/U-73/U-27 (Balto,Md./CA45)
Posts: 395
Downloads: 290
Uploads: 0
Default

Just hope Bl!tz hasn't lost interest in this project. In my opinion S3F (even as is or the current release) is just as important to SH III, as SH3 Commander is, in game play enhancements and tools.
Doolar Semler is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2017, 12:49 PM   #489
Fubar2Niner
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London. UK
Posts: 4,152
Downloads: 245
Uploads: 0


Default

I don't think Blitz has posted on these forums since he got out the Brig, but I may be wrong. Regarding the finishing of this project, I've had my reservations for some time. It has been in beta for over 2 years, since the last official release. With all the other "tools" Blitz had focused on along with WAC 5.0, ( I know this is no longer a group project), I doubt his focus is on this any longer. Let's all hope I'm wrong.
__________________


My Mediafire account:
http://www.mediafire.com/?pq6fesgls2il0

Last edited by Fubar2Niner; 07-21-2017 at 01:08 PM.
Fubar2Niner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2017, 12:17 AM   #490
hocking
Sparky
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 154
Downloads: 155
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BL!TZKR!EG View Post
buntaro,

I have good news! With the help of you and Ken over TeamViewer I have been now able to reproduce this error on a Windows 10 system!

What I now see is that under certain circumstances it starts with the execution of the H.sie-stuff, but after creating the basic archive for it, it crashes to "nowhere" with the result that S3F closes and no further process is taken.

Thanks to you and Ken I am now at it and will rewrite that code-module.

I wonder though why this has never crashed on my systems here (XP/32 and 7/64).
Has this been resolved. I am running S3F on Windows 10 and I am still having this very issue of crashing when applying the H.side patch. Is there a fix available?
hocking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2017, 07:56 AM   #491
desertstriker
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: mod soup bar and grill
Posts: 1,778
Downloads: 953
Uploads: 0
Default

He has encountered a problem with subsim and is still unable to post. He told me that his inbox only has a capacity of 1 message and he is unable to post or even modify posts at this time. Please bear with him while things get figured out.
desertstriker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 01:51 AM   #492
Knickwall
Hydrophilic Landlubber
 
Knickwall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Niedersachsen
Posts: 4
Downloads: 33
Uploads: 0
Default

I'm relatively new to Subsim and don't know what BL!TZ' current status is, but if he reads this:
Many many thanks for the Frontend, and also for the enormously helpful Silent Hunter 3 Guide in this forum!!! Both helped making SH3 a true joy again


I wanted to send a PM, but for reasons mentioned by desertstriker I think this might be the best place to leave the compliments
Knickwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2017, 05:50 AM   #493
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 6,858
Downloads: 900
Uploads: 0


Default

A Warm Welcome To The Subsim Community >Knickwall
Subsim <> How To Donate <> See The Benefits <> Support The Community
THEBERBSTER is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2017, 03:52 AM   #494
Knickwall
Hydrophilic Landlubber
 
Knickwall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Niedersachsen
Posts: 4
Downloads: 33
Uploads: 0
Default

Many thanks, Theberbster! I found Subsim to be an amazing community and source of information. Considering all the work done by the modders and moderators here, Ubisoft should by right be one the main donors to this cause. But then again, that's probably wishful thinking.
Knickwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 12:07 PM   #495
Doolar Semler
Expert Shipsinker
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: U-33/U-73/U-27 (Balto,Md./CA45)
Posts: 395
Downloads: 290
Uploads: 0
Default Deleting a SF3 copy

I have several installs made with S3F. I would like to remove or delete one of these copys. Can I just delete it. I'm not sure how tied to the OS they are and I didn't want to screw up my whole set-up if there was a way your suppose to do this. thanx
Doolar Semler is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
commander , installations , jsgme , multish3 , patch

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim