SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Old 10-06-16, 07:50 AM   #1
Leoz
Ensign

Downloads: 253
Uploads: 0
Default Review: NYGM Tonnage War for Silent Hunter III

The purpose of this review is to inform new players of Silent Hunter III about some of the really great game mods that are available. Like GWX, NYGM is one of those game mods.

This review is subjective. The bigger picture is that if one is playing Silent Hunter III, in any form, that is a good thing. It is only to point out things that I really like about this wonderful game mod.

Background: I have been playing Silent Hunter III since the start of 2016. I have about 500 hours in the stock version and a few hundred more in GWX. Just as someone must fish or golf every weekend, I must play this game because I love it. I have excellent generalist background in almost all areas of WWII. So I come to this game with a great appreciation of the bigger picture. That includes a love for U-boat.net.

Computer setup. I use a low tech computer (about 5 years old). I run Silent Hunter via Steam on Windows 10. This game is the only reason I have a Windows computer as otherwise I wouldn't need it. Current hardware is a Dell laptop with 6Gb of RAM and a solid-state hard drive. Hooked to a 27-inch monitor. This single use for the computer allows me to have it stripped only for this purpose. For example, no services running that don't contribute.

I don't do any wide-screen / higer-res settings in the game.

How I came to be using NYGM. Not long ago, I was having some computer operating system problems. Silent Hunter III / GWX was crashing to desktop a lot. After fixing up the computer OS and reinstalling vanilla Silent Hunter III, I decided to try out NYGM. At the time, I was totally dedicated to GWX as it offers a great gaming experience.