SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Old 04-30-18, 09:24 PM   #1
TiberiusoftheSea
Swabbie

Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default CTD Everytime in AN54

Greetings SUBSIM community!

Long time lurker here finally surfacing his boat to seek some much needed advice from his fellow kaleuns. I'm running a legit copy of SH3 (non-steam) with GWX 3.0 and SH3 Commander on Windows 7. I have a handful of mods installed and seem to have a solid setup going.

Although I've been playing (and modding) SH3 for many, many years, I've never played it "long term" however. I have some time on my hands at the moment and finally have a decent PC so decided to do it right.

I set myself up in the 7th/13th and ended my first patrol after a few minutes. I managed to jump ahead to August 31st (using SH3 Commander's days in base option and purchasing the hydrophone upgrade) and set myself grid location AN54 to pre-empt September 3rd with the idea of attacking Hartlepool.

When all things were said and done, I'd sunk eight ships for a total of 20,000 c. tons (with random tonnage enabled.) As I set a course out of the harbor, I made a save. As I headed ENE towards Blyth, I experienced a CTD. Looking at the crash report, the application to blame is 'Sound.act'.

I've tried to research what may cause this, however there doesn't appear to be any direct info. I'm assuming it's a sound file causing the crash, though which and why is a mystery. I tried disabling my mods (mid-patrol... I know) but the game would CTD when loading my saved career. I tried leaving Hartlepool in other directions, however the game would CTD every time.