SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Old 09-03-18, 07:31 PM   #1
EvidencePlz
Swabbie

Downloads: 7
Uploads: 0
Default Please help! I'm desperately looking for a way to use Real Navigation with SH3!

Hi folks,

I'm a total beginner in the submarine sim genre so please forgive me if I mistakenly say something inappropriate. But long story short, I'm desperately looking for a way to use Real Navigation in Silent Hunter 3.

When I say Real Navigation, I mean there will literally and absolutely be no enemy or friendly ship contact on the map ever, and on top of that, my own submarine/ship will not be displayed either.

I wanna do navigation the exact same way the real U-boat captains during ww1 and ww2 did, and it's very important to me. I wanna use sextant, geometry, trigonometry, algebra, calculus, navigation charts, star charts and literally everything that's required to track my ship and enemy ship.

If required, I'll even use real paper-based graphs, protractors, compass, pen, ruler, sextants and what not! I'm going for absolutely authentic and hundred percent realism, the realism that the real u-boat captains had to deal with. Heck, if my math is weak I'll buy maths tutorial dvds to learn it.