SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > General > Sub & Naval Discussions: World Naval News, Books, & Films
Forget password? Reset here

Old 06-11-10, 12:04 PM   #1
aergistal
Chief

Downloads: 23
Uploads: 1
Default Reverse bows

I remember first seeing this design on a Feadship Predator docked in Mallorca. At that time I thought it was pretty cool and the architect in me wondered if it's just for the aesthetic effect or it has a functional purpose. Or maybe both?

I'm no expert in ship design so I was wondering how these work. Do they work more like a bulbous bow? The design of a standard bow looks pretty intuitive as it serves to "split" the water in front of the vessel and reduce friction.

I've done a little research around but couldn't find anything in detail. I know the concept is not new and it goes back to the Vikings. There's also a ship building company, Ulstein, that patented its X-Bow design used for large container ships. According to them the reverse bow has considerable advantages over the traditional models.

If you ask me their ship looks a bit alien, it has a sci-fi aura.

So how does the reverse bow work and when should be used? Does it have the same benefits for smaller vessels? Is this the future for large ships?

aergistal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 12:10 PM   #2
FIREWALL
Eternal Patrol

Downloads: 511
Uploads: 0

Interesting What you can't see below the waterline might have some answers.

I Play GWX. Silent Hunter Who ???
FIREWALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-10, 12:19 PM   #3
aergistal
Chief

Here it is

edit: if the images don't show up let me know. Some sites might be preventing direct linking.

Last edited by aergistal; 06-11-10 at 12:31 PM.
Old 06-11-10, 01:24 PM   #4
Weiss Pinguin
Ocean Warrior

Downloads: 101
Uploads: 0