SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Fleet Boat Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2017, 07:03 PM   #3466
jldjs
Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 463
Downloads: 199
Uploads: 0
Default

Yes, but my Mac switches to the Nvidia graphics when the game starts.
What are ya thinking of re Intel graphics? And, would it effect just one ship?

What is consistent is the Etoforu is smaller than the other ships in the destroyer escort class in my Museum and Sea folder, as propbeanie noticed.
But, when run under Bootcamp's Win 7 all is good FYI, I installed Sh4 from my DVD in the Bootcamp system, but copied the installed folders over to the Mac portion of the partioned HD. That seems to work fine for the game itself as well as all the other ships in sea folder, except for the Etoforu!!
As I said, this seems to be particular to my system, so if someone can come up with somethig to explain it great, but keep focused on working the other priorities for FotRS_Ultimate. I don't want to sidetrack that for this.
jldjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 07:20 PM   #3467
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,877
Downloads: 232
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockin Robbins View Post
You don't happen to have Intel graphics do you?
It is a different sort of combo, ain't it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by jldjs View Post
Yes, but my Mac switches to the Nvidia graphics when the game starts.
What are ya thinking of re Intel graphics? And, would it effect just one ship?
...
My b-i-l has a Mac like that. Goes to the nVidia for the 3d graphics.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jldjs View Post
System specs;
Model Name: MacBook Pro 64bit
...
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
...
Memory: 8 GB
...
Graphics Dual switching ;Intel HD Graphics 288 MB; Nvidio GT 330M

Mods;
Generic Mod Enabler - v2.6.0.157
[C:\SH4_FotRS_Ult-52Beta\MODS]

100_FotRS_Ult_v0-52Beta
3000 Yard Bearing Tool (1680x)
Bigger Better Protractors
Easier_AI from_TMO2.5 ; this is TMO's sim.cfg
JayMyKey ; This is commands.cfg mapped for my MacBook keyboard

I run SH4 in a Wine Wrapper which emulates Windows XP on MAC OSX.

BTW, your observation re size of the Etorufo ship vs ocean as explaining the white wake makes sense. But what causes this?
Do you have any of the same mods enabled in your "Stock" version? If so, disable that mod and see if it changes. Do any other vessels do that? Can you get through the whole Museum, all countries, all ships and planes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jldjs View Post
Propbeanie;
Mine are the same as yours IF you meant the last one on your list to be
NSC_SubChaser_T01_lr.dds 03/01/12 01/26/07

instead of
;

NSC_SubChaser_T01.dds 03/01/12 01/26/07

Yes, the _lr for the last one... bad case of hitting the backspace "key" on the touch pad "keyboard"... I need my good computer back... If all your files are the same, then it's not in there.

A couple things I don't understand... The ship is the same in Stock and in FOTRSU, ~and~ it does it in Wine, but not in BootCamp? So, do you have the latest Wine, but why would that matter, especially if this is the only ship doing it in your game... ??
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2017, 09:51 PM   #3468
jldjs
Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 463
Downloads: 199
Uploads: 0
Default

Do you have any of the same mods enabled in your "Stock" version? If so, disable that mod and see if it changes.
Yes, and the same thing happens with TMO, w/wo RSRD, Spyron and stock. But as you say, this ship is the same.

Do any other vessels do that? No, but I haven't looked at every ship.
Can you get through the whole Museum, all countries, all ships and planes? I haven't but will look at as many other ships in the museum. But, I've played for the past few years with various mods on this system and have only seen this with Etoforu. Since the NSC_Subchaser files all look the same I surmise something in the rendering is afoul. I would suspect Wine but no other ship renders this way!


If all your files are the same, then it's not in there. Seems so, hence I wonder about the rendering, though I don't known enough about that subject.

A couple things I don't understand... The ship is the same in Stock and in FOTRSU, ~and~ it does it in Wine, but not in BootCamp? Yes, with same version of NSC_Subchaser in a TMO, RSRD mods and just stock.

So, do you have the latest "Wineskins", but why would that matter, especially if this is the only ship doing it in your game... ?? Agreed, and no I'm still using Wineskin version(2.5.6 and 2.5.8)that came out when Mac OSX 10.7.5 was new since I'm still on 10.7.5(Lion).

Which file in NSC_Subchaser defines the "size" of this ship when rendered in the Museum and when playing the game?
jldjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 06:57 AM   #3469
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,877
Downloads: 232
Uploads: 0


Default

I dunno. I'm not at all familiar with 3d graphics, but I've always imagined vector lines, like lines of sight, perspective, determining how "close" something appears. You give the game an image, and the engine draws it... Your game is pulling a different image from somewhere. Your Etorufo has a gun. The one in FotRSU has a what appears to be a rocket launcher. I cannot remember what TMO's is... You somehow keep the stock version... and then it draws it incorrectly, like you're looking at it through the periscope from several thousand yards... Bootcamp doesn't do it though, correct? Is there a Wine update available for your particular set-up with the Lion OS? It sounds like a "No" from what you say... In order to play in BootCamp, you have to re-boot the machine, don't you, and that defeats the purpose of being able to just go from your graphics app or word processor and saying: "Buggers, this it getting old. I'm going to play me some SH4!" and off you go, correct?

Edit: One interesting thing I've discovered, and it ~might~ have some bearing, maybe - is that the _O01 texture is the same in Stock, TMO and FotRSU... All of the "O" files are 512x512 that I've opened thus far, while the SC_Subchaser's is at 1024x1024... I'm going to do me an experiment... boo-ah-ha-ha-ha-ha <mad scientist maniacal laugh>...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna

Last edited by propbeanie; 01-12-2017 at 07:26 AM. Reason: experiment
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 08:06 AM   #3470
Larrywb57
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 130
Downloads: 177
Uploads: 0
Icon1

Just got caught up on reading the forum. Congratulations to the FOTRS Ultimate Project Team for your award. Each of you worked very hard in order to bring a mod back to life for the enjoyment of the community. Thank you for what you have done and also what you are doing to breathe life back into this project.
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo CPU E6650 @ 2.33 GHz | 2 GB of memory |
Nvidia Geforce 8400GS graphic card | OS Windows 7 32 bit.
Generic Mod Enabler - v2.6.0.157
[C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 4\MODS]

-100_FalloftheRisingSun_Ultimate
v0.71_PublicBeta_EN
-Bigger Better Protractors
Larrywb57 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 09:28 AM   #3471
Moonlight
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Aranna
Posts: 773
Downloads: 113
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
We have no takers as of yet on this, and I'm not the only one not able to replicate this... You have a gun turret on yours, Moonlight's and mine do not. So... check your file dates against this:
[CODE]
Data / Sea / NSC_SubChaser /
----------------------------
FOTRSU Stock
NSC_SubChaser.cfg 02/07/08 06/08/07
NSC_SubChaser.dat 02/11/12 02/27/07
NSC_SubChaser.dsd 08/08/16 01/29/07
NSC_SubChaser.eqp 08/13/09 02/05/07
NSC_SubChaser.sim 07/20/16 06/07/07
NSC_SubChaser.sns 04/28/11 02/24/07
NSC_SubChaser.val 03/14/07 SAME!!!
NSC_SubChaser.zon 11/26/12 02/24/07
NSC_SubChaser_N01.dds 01/09/08 01/24/07
NSC_SubChaser_N01_lr.dds 01/26/07 SAME!!!
NSC_SubChaser_O01.dds 01/29/07 SAME!!!
NSC_SubChaser_O01_lr.dds 02/03/07 SAME!!!
NSC_SubChaser_shp.dds 07/21/07 11/23/06
NSC_SubChaser_sil.dds 07/20/07 02/16/07
NSC_SubChaser_sil.tga 02/16/07 SAME!!!

NSC_SubChaser_T01.dds 04/27/13 01/24/07
NSC_SubChaser_T01.dds 03/01/12 01/26/07
I seem to have more than a gun turret problem with the NSC_Subchasher files in the 100_FalloftheRisingSun_Ultimate_v0.52_PublicBeta_E N.
In my NSC_Subchasher files the unpacked zip file has only got 12 files in it whereas yours and the stock game has 17.
I'm bereft of 5 files, one of them is the NSC_SubChaser.val file and the other 4 are texture files, I've included a picture of the subchasher directory so you mod gurus can see the problem more clearly and upload a patch for it.
__________________
Moonlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 09:49 AM   #3472
jldjs
Commander
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 463
Downloads: 199
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonlight View Post
I seem to have more than a gun turret problem with the NSC_Subchasher files in the 100_FalloftheRisingSun_Ultimate_v0.52_PublicBeta_E N.
In my NSC_Subchasher files the unpacked zip file has only got 12 files in it whereas yours and the stock game has 17.
I'm bereft of 5 files, one of them is the NSC_SubChaser.val file and the other 4 are texture files, I've included a picture of the subchasher directory so you mod gurus can see the problem more clearly and upload a patch for it.


YOur only looking at what .52 mods, the list propbeanie shows is from the modded NSC_Subchaser folder in the Sea folder.
jldjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 11:29 AM   #3473
Moonlight
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Aranna
Posts: 773
Downloads: 113
Uploads: 0


Default

Why didn't I think of that, I'm beginning to think I'm on that slippery downhill slope I've been hearing about.
__________________
Moonlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 11:48 AM   #3474
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,877
Downloads: 232
Uploads: 0


Default

The bad thing about that slope, there's no steering mechanism, and the brake shoes are thin when you start, and wear out ~fast~... let me tell ya... But, I can at least see the bottom of the hill now... Oh, wait, that's a cliff edge I'm seeing-g-g-g-g-g-g.....





splatttt...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 01:15 PM   #3475
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 408
Uploads: 9
Default

Was sent to take pictures of Hiroshima harbor. Two Akagi class carriers were stuck together.

July 31, 1942
http://imgur.com/a/x9L0Y


On the way out of the harbor i saw what looked like two ships that collided. Both were stopped. One was on fire, the other was sitting so low in the water it looked like it was about to sink.

Also saw another ship doing wide circles with only it's aft sticking out of the water. It almost ran into me. Took some video of it LOL.
__________________

Solution Solver 2.0 - Visual Targeting Tools & Aids

System: AMD FX-8350 (8 core @ 4ghz), 8gb DDR3 1600, GeForce GTX 970, Windows 10 Pro x64
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 04:07 PM   #3476
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,877
Downloads: 232
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gutted View Post
Was sent to take pictures of Hiroshima harbor. Two Akagi class carriers were stuck together.

July 31, 1942
http://imgur.com/a/x9L0Y


On the way out of the harbor i saw what looked like two ships that collided. Both were stopped. One was on fire, the other was sitting so low in the water it looked like it was about to sink.

Also saw another ship doing wide circles with only it's aft sticking out of the water. It almost ran into me. Took some video of it LOL.
Rather entertaining, isn't it? sometimes... unless you get to fix it... Thanks for the date. I'll overlay the files from that time frame and see what it shows. I have found before, that the HarborTraffic will sometimes interfere with the Coastal, which interferes with the Convoys, which interferes with... etc. and what you're seeing is multiple ships attempting to occupy nearly the same space at the same time. They can't utilize their collision avoidance during the spawn ... The average player doesn't always see that, especially if they get there after-the-fact, and it only looks like a bombing raid just went through.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 04:39 PM   #3477
Navigator857
CTR2 Jack Frost
 
Navigator857's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Still on Bridge aboard the USS Iowa BB61
Posts: 200
Downloads: 228
Uploads: 0
Default Fuel issue...

I was wondering if the limited fuel and electric is forced with this mod? I was trying to run several areas to test things out but kept running out of fuel or having to go back to refuel. I in-ticked the the fuel option under options but it doesn't appear to work.

Jack
Navigator857 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 04:45 PM   #3478
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,877
Downloads: 232
Uploads: 0


Default

uhhh... I dunno. I had it on unlimited fuel a while back, but I don't remember when it was. It worked then. I'll do me some looking later tonight. I do know one thing, and that is that when you're in the career mode, it matters little what you set the game to from the "Options" choice on the main menu. Once you're in the "Office" for the start of your career, click on the radio in the upper left of the room, and choose your options ~again~ from up there, because the career start in v0.52 is overwriting your other choices. At this time, when v0.53 comes out, it seems to do OK... for the most part.

It also looks to me that they have taken the Ahead 2/3 as the most fuel economic setting, and not the Ahead Standard of older TMO versions...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 04:47 PM   #3479
Navigator857
CTR2 Jack Frost
 
Navigator857's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Still on Bridge aboard the USS Iowa BB61
Posts: 200
Downloads: 228
Uploads: 0
Default

Ah, dud, forgot to try and reset from office. I'll do that now. Thank you.



Jack
Navigator857 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2017, 05:17 PM   #3480
Rockin Robbins
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: DeLand, FL
Posts: 8,820
Downloads: 132
Uploads: 53


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navigator857 View Post
I was wondering if the limited fuel and electric is forced with this mod? I was trying to run several areas to test things out but kept running out of fuel or having to go back to refuel. I in-ticked the the fuel option under options but it doesn't appear to work.

Jack
Nothing's forced, Jack. Some things are default but you can change that when you're in the office at port.
Rockin Robbins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim