SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2009, 07:11 AM   #211
Hitman
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Hitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,234
Downloads: 108
Uploads: 2


Default

USS Sea Tiger,

If you don't have NYGM yet, you just need to download and install over a clean copy of SH3 patched to 1.4, the following:

First, the main NYGM install:

http://files.filefront.com/NYGM+Tonn.../fileinfo.html

Second, the latest patch (3.2):

http://files.filefront.com/NYGM3+27z.../fileinfo.html

Optionally (Not required but nice to have):

Hi-res U-Boats:

http://files.filefront.com/NYGM+HiRe.../fileinfo.html

IABL Merchants:

http://files.filefront.com/IABLShips.../fileinfo.html

Once you have installed that, you just start JGSME and enable the mod that includes the Type XXIII, which is the one called "FuMB37XXIIINYGM"

Happy hunting
__________________
One day I will return to sea ...
Hitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 02:39 AM   #212
USS Sea Tiger
XO
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 432
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
Default Thanks Hitman. all installed but no Type XXIII

I followed your order
instaled and activated in this order,
2.5 then
3.2 then
hires, then
FuMB37XXIIINYGM

the game loads and runs ,, Great effects by the way,

I followed the dirctions in the PDF included in the FuMB37XXIIINYGM folder
started a new game in 1945, but only have the 11 flot and one in Germany,, nothing at all on the 13th ,, where the XXIII's are supposed to be stationed.

any clue what is wrong please??
USS Sea Tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 03:33 AM   #213
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,233
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

@USS Sea Tiger:

If in 1945 you have only the 11th flotilla in Norway and the 33rd in Germany, then for some reason the FuMB37XXIIINYGM mod is not installed properly.

Go to JSGME and check you have loaded it. If it appears that you have, then probably you have created nested folders in your silenthunteriii\mods folder (to which you should have copied the FuMB37XXIIINYGM mod). If this mod is in the correct place, check in Windows Explorer that you have the file structure silenthunteriii\mods\FuMB37XXIIINYGM\data\... correctly set up.

Once all this is correct, reload the FuMB37XXIIINYGM mod with JSGME.
(You will have to start a new career after making these changes.)

Good luck!

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 06:35 AM   #214
USS Sea Tiger
XO
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 432
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
Default The Nordic Gods are againts Me :{

deleted the old name,, started a new,

DiD all you said, even deleted and reloaded a fresh disk to it.

I even tried loading it and not the high res boats.

Still nly the 7th, 11th, and 33rd offered in 1945 under a new game

thanks for any help or clues offerd!!!
USS Sea Tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 06:52 AM   #215
USS Sea Tiger
XO
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 432
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
Default Thor has Seen Mercy upon me for my STUPID ways

found the problem,, almost embarrased to say what it is but I will, in case anyone else ever encounters it. and they can correct it.

when You unzip the file, it puts it into a file by the name
"FuMB37XXIIINYGM "

problem is, in this file is only one file ,, also named
"FuMB37XXIIINYGM "

in this file is all the working files

there must be only one ile named "FuMB37XXIIINYGM " and all the date in it,
no sub files als named FuMB37XXIIINYGM

all of this in the mod folder of course!!

in Short

mod/FuMB37XXIIINYGM /FuMB37XXIIINYGM /Data

BAD


mod/FuMB37XXIIINYGM/Data

GOOD


IFEEL like a dope on this one, Time to go to 50 Fathoms and let BDU laugh it off!!!

Back to the game,, I am quite giddy, finaly fighting with the XXIII ,, Thanks a MILLION guys

Last edited by USS Sea Tiger; 02-26-2009 at 04:30 AM.
USS Sea Tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 04:06 AM   #216
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,233
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default

@USS Sea Tiger,

Thanks for the feedback and the helpful advice to others.

Hope you enjoy roaring into action with the 'electric' Type XXIII U-boat! Remember: one torpedo - one ship at very close range, and no aiming at escorts!

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 04:14 AM   #217
Stiebler
Fuel Supplier
 
Stiebler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,233
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 4


Default New Hitman Optics Mod

Hitman has newly provided a revised and improved version of his improved Optics mod, which is even better than the previous. (So strongly recommended to all players!)

Selection of torpedoes from the observation periscope now works as well as with the attack periscope.

The only residual problem, which appears to be due to the original hard code, is that the salvoes may be wrongly numbered for the types VII and II boats (the problem is negligible with the VII boats) when using either periscope. The TDC gives identical function for the salvoes to the original.

I've tested this mod thoroughly with NYGM 3.2, and it *replaces* the earlier Hitman Optics mod found in the documentation folder for NYGM 3.2. The new mod is called Hitman_Optics_NYGM_3.2.7z. Download it from my signature below, unzip it with 7-zip or with recent versions of WinRAR into your silenthunteriii\mods folder, then install with JSGME.

Great work by Hitman. To say it again - every user of NYGM should install this mod even if you prefer to continue with aid from the weapons officer when targetting ships.

Stiebler.
Stiebler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 01:36 AM   #218
msalama
Samurai Navy
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: In an octopus's garden
Posts: 557
Downloads: 97
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
there's a "NYGM modpack" on my filefront page
Are the SRM files for NYGM still available Mikhayl? I searched all around Filefront but couldn't find them anywhere

PS / EDIT: Got it hacked together from your GWX SRM mod. Just needed to modify some zone box values (i.e. change the index numbers) and add index & definition entries for the keel to the config file...
__________________
!!11 why are these stupid boats tossing these barrles at me!! They keep PWNING me!!!

Last edited by msalama; 03-01-2009 at 02:47 AM.
msalama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 09:17 AM   #219
Otto Heinzmeir
Weps
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wilhelmshaven Local Pub
Posts: 361
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janus View Post
Does anyone know if there is a version of the Longer Repair Times mod which is compatible with the latest NYGM? Maybe an older version of the LRT mod?
There is a do it yourself version. Its not hard to do. This is a good alternative because all mods use specific files. This manual shows what you need to edit to make repairs average around 20 minutes. Its the LittleLongerRepairMod Link is below:

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=141586

EDIT- I have since learned this uber mod doesn't need Longer repair times as repairs are handled differently and as a result already take longer.


I installed the NYGM3.2 mod. Looking good! My thanks to the mod team. Looking forward to dodging DC attacks

Last edited by Otto Heinzmeir; 03-25-2009 at 05:20 PM.
Otto Heinzmeir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 05:26 PM   #220
Otto Heinzmeir
Weps
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wilhelmshaven Local Pub
Posts: 361
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

The more I play this, the more I like it. One of the biggest differences is the waves are not as large when the wind reaches 15mps. As a result I have less torpedoes breech the waves under these conditions and am able to successfully hit targets by running the fish at a depth of 4.2m

In other mods I have had torps set at a depth of 6.5m breech. So this mod is actually playable in 15mps winds.

Am going to try out the anti-humming bird mod for this in my next mission.
Otto Heinzmeir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 08:47 AM   #221
Hitman
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Hitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,234
Downloads: 108
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Am going to try out the anti-humming bird mod for this in my next mission.
IIRC it's already part of the mod. The separate download is for those who want to use it with stock Sh3
__________________
One day I will return to sea ...
Hitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 01:32 AM   #222
Otto Heinzmeir
Weps
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wilhelmshaven Local Pub
Posts: 361
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Ok. My IIA kept wanting to breech at Periscope depth if I was at 0 kts. I never tried the VIIb before I added the humming bird mod. Adding the mod didn't seem to hurt anything but I guess I can remove it. I installed through JGME so not a problem. Thanks for the info.
__________________
NYGM3.2 + Tonnage War Minefield________IABLShipsRezonedFinal
Hitman Optics & Compass_______________Thomsen's Sound Mod v3

100% Realism DID + No God's Eye View____SH3 Commander Crew Rotation

Otto Heinzmeir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 05:14 AM   #223
Balic
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Did the mod turned of the ability to quickly send crew to stations when pressing one of the quick selection boxes under the crew-compartment display?

Last edited by Balic; 03-29-2009 at 05:39 AM.
Balic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 05:57 AM   #224
Otto Heinzmeir
Weps
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wilhelmshaven Local Pub
Posts: 361
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Balic View Post
Did the mod turned of the ability to quickly send crew to stations when pressing one of the quick selection boxes under the crew-compartment display?
I have to manually drag the crew to man the deck crew. Never tried the flak gun as I always dive when I spot planes. Its likely the same. I'm just a player so my opinion is unofficial. I would have to say, yes you have to manually man the stations, except for the watch crew. It may or may not be by design as a lot of stuff had to be changed to get some of the realism in the crew. Repairing is all done differently also. Personally I like to have to manually man the gun. Its actually more realistic to put one guy in there at a time as in real life it did not happen instantly. Except for the first 2 or 3 rounds, all the shells were passed up through the conning tower.
__________________
NYGM3.2 + Tonnage War Minefield________IABLShipsRezonedFinal
Hitman Optics & Compass_______________Thomsen's Sound Mod v3

100% Realism DID + No God's Eye View____SH3 Commander Crew Rotation

Otto Heinzmeir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 06:39 AM   #225
coronas
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Asturias, España
Posts: 1,168
Downloads: 39
Uploads: 0
Default

Did you try drag guncrew by WO orders?
Man deck gun & man AA gun orders put gunners in their site.
__________________
coronas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
torpedos through hull

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim