SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Fleet Boat Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2018, 11:57 AM   #16
ETR3(SS)
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Too far from the sea...
Posts: 2,809
Downloads: 163
Uploads: 15


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fearless View Post
Ah, thanks. trouble was the crew was 'at battle Stations' and the binoculars was already locked on the target.
I wonder if that's been the trouble with your other mods as well. Typically what I do is man battlestations, order the gun crews to aim for waterline, and then order fire at will. If you give the order to fire through the binoculars, they will stop firing after a short time once that particular unit is destroyed.
__________________


USS Kentucky SSBN 737 (G)
Comms Div 2003-2006
Qualified 19 November 03

Yes I was really on a submarine.
ETR3(SS) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 02:52 PM   #17
Fearless
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 978
Downloads: 283
Uploads: 0
Default

It could but not all my ships are like that. For example the Northampton and New Mexico class once the ai spot the ship I advise to engage and once destroyed it automatically locks the next target and engages them. I've a feeling it's something to do with sensors
__________________
Fearless

Comp Specs:
Dell i7; 8gb ram; 1Tb hdd; AMD Graphics 2gb; Win10
My current Mod setup.
Ralles RealModPack V1.2full
2.2 RMP V1.3 Bubblehead`s Ship_Compilation
Captain Midnights CBS NEWS Sound Mod
CSL Custom Map Colors
and career playable surface ship
Fearless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 09:48 PM   #18
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,885
Downloads: 232
Uploads: 0


Default

I have a tendency to agree, Fearless. My last experiment, the guns didn't start until we were well within 8k yds. 'Course, the AI may have been toying with the enemy... One broadside salvo at a Naka, it was sunk. They turned their guns, and a broadside salvo from the other side, and down went the 2nd... The 5 inchers may have gotten in two shots each, but only one shot from each of the other two mains turrets. I was in #1, wasting ammo... I don't thin I've hit anything yet... shades of Destroyer Command for me...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 10:22 PM   #19
Fearless
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 978
Downloads: 283
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
I have a tendency to agree, Fearless. My last experiment, the guns didn't start until we were well within 8k yds. 'Course, the AI may have been toying with the enemy... One broadside salvo at a Naka, it was sunk. They turned their guns, and a broadside salvo from the other side, and down went the 2nd... The 5 inchers may have gotten in two shots each, but only one shot from each of the other two mains turrets. I was in #1, wasting ammo... I don't thin I've hit anything yet... shades of Destroyer Command for me...
Yes, such a shame there was never a new version of Destroyer Command introduced. I copied the CFG folder from the Northampton and placed it in the Data folder of the Baltimore and seems to have done the trick. AI is more reactive now on sighting ships and responding to weapons control.
__________________
Fearless

Comp Specs:
Dell i7; 8gb ram; 1Tb hdd; AMD Graphics 2gb; Win10
My current Mod setup.
Ralles RealModPack V1.2full
2.2 RMP V1.3 Bubblehead`s Ship_Compilation
Captain Midnights CBS NEWS Sound Mod
CSL Custom Map Colors
and career playable surface ship
Fearless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 10:50 PM   #20
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,885
Downloads: 232
Uploads: 0


Default

Most interesting...

It would be nice to at least have some of the DC UI for the newer versions...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 12:59 PM   #21
ETR3(SS)
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Too far from the sea...
Posts: 2,809
Downloads: 163
Uploads: 15


Default

So I decided already that I don't like the stock 8in mount as it's the older Mk9, tried making a Mk12 based off of the 6in triple by scaling up the models. Worked great, except now the AO map is screwed. 3d modeling and texturing is probably my weakest point in modding, so any advice here?

https://imgur.com/a/QLxNxs2
__________________


USS Kentucky SSBN 737 (G)
Comms Div 2003-2006
Qualified 19 November 03

Yes I was really on a submarine.
ETR3(SS) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 06:02 PM   #22
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,885
Downloads: 232
Uploads: 0


Default

Mayhaps you are looking for something like this?:



as it's applied here in FotRSU:




?? That's how I do 3D - borrow and ask permission... That's the Library / ShipParts / guns_USN2.dat file's 8InchTripleUSN2_dark
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim