SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Old 12-30-18, 03:49 PM   #1
Sorakiba
Swabbie

Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default Noobie questions

On the first mission of a new career, you are ordered to patrol a grid section...

The first three times that I played this, I received a radio message to "begin hostilities" against the British...

So I started shooting down everything that was "red" on my plotting course map page... I discovered that neutral merchant ships also show up as red targets, and are marked as "hostile", despite being considered neutral...

That however, is not exactly what my question is about...

So, I have started a new career... I'm out on my first patrol, and there are red targets everywhere... I could have sunk about 10 ships by now... but... I have not received any radio massages - no "orders" - to engage enemies, or begin hostilities... my 24 hours is up... and I'm supposed to return to base... without firing a shot... WTF?!?!?

Is my game bugged?... should I be shooting down everything? should I ignore the fact that my mission is officially complete, and just start blowing **** up?... What gives?
Sorakiba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-18, 04:48 PM   #2
bstanko6
Admiral

Downloads: 390
Uploads: 13

No the original game had a weird 24 hour patrol thing. In real life you may spend 2-4 weeks in a zone. As far as all targets being red, I am not sure but if you are looking for immersion.., don’t shoot neutral ships! Just ignore them.
bstanko6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-18, 04:56 PM   #3
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666

Location: On a tilted, overheated, overpopulated spinning mudball on Collision course with Andromeda Galaxy
Downloads: 22

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sorakiba