SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2018, 02:48 PM   #1
olddriedseaweed
Mate
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston
Posts: 54
Downloads: 242
Uploads: 0
Icon9 h.sie woes

Guys, I have a problem. MY sh3.exe won't accept the h.sie mod. It is V1.4.0.1, But the h.sie mod rejects it. My copies of SH3 were purchased through Amazon and downloaded, which could be the source of the problem. Anyone have any suggestions?
olddriedseaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 04:03 PM   #2
ivanov.ruslan
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pleven,BG
Posts: 932
Downloads: 825
Uploads: 0
Default

Did you put it a 4GB patch before you patch the Exe ?

Last edited by ivanov.ruslan; 01-31-2018 at 01:26 AM.
ivanov.ruslan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2018, 07:25 PM   #3
olddriedseaweed
Mate
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston
Posts: 54
Downloads: 242
Uploads: 0
Default

yes, is that the problem?
EDIT: Uninstalled the 4Gb patch - no change.
Deleted the game and reinstalled with the original installation files - no change.

Last edited by olddriedseaweed; 01-31-2018 at 07:45 PM.
olddriedseaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2018, 01:04 AM   #4
ivanov.ruslan
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pleven,BG
Posts: 932
Downloads: 825
Uploads: 0
Default

Еxcept to try this http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...83&postcount=1

In fact it is for dvd...

Last edited by ivanov.ruslan; 02-01-2018 at 02:25 AM.
ivanov.ruslan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2018, 01:59 AM   #5
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,028
Downloads: 939
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi ods
What is your games installation path.
Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2018, 03:01 PM   #6
olddriedseaweed
Mate
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston
Posts: 54
Downloads: 242
Uploads: 0
wolf_howl15

Game path is: C:\SH3W

Trying to DL the cleaner file triggers my AV, so I passed on that. It's probably fine, but not taking the chance

I hunted through a bunch of my old files and found a NOSF sh3.exe that would patch, so I'm good.
I do wonder though, why the Amazon executables won't patch. I have Admin, audit and Owner rights to the h.sie work folder . I ran the CMD prompt in God mode. It shows 1.4.0.1 for the version in details. I removed the Archive attribute, but that changed nothing. No other attributes are associated with the file.
To quote Henry Fonda in Midway "It just doesn't make sense"

I'm not going to fuss with it anymore, I have a working file, but the mystery of it does annoy me.
olddriedseaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2018, 04:21 PM   #7
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,028
Downloads: 939
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi ods
Good to see you have got your game working.
Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 04:07 PM   #8
Fader_Berg
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Uppland, Sweden
Posts: 252
Downloads: 39
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olddriedseaweed View Post
Game path is: C:\SH3W

Trying to DL the cleaner file triggers my AV, so I passed on that. It's probably fine, but not taking the chance

I hunted through a bunch of my old files and found a NOSF sh3.exe that would patch, so I'm good.
I do wonder though, why the Amazon executables won't patch. I have Admin, audit and Owner rights to the h.sie work folder . I ran the CMD prompt in God mode. It shows 1.4.0.1 for the version in details. I removed the Archive attribute, but that changed nothing. No other attributes are associated with the file.
To quote Henry Fonda in Midway "It just doesn't make sense"

I'm not going to fuss with it anymore, I have a working file, but the mystery of it does annoy me.
The exe file is most likely digitally protected. SH3 was originally protected by StarForce, which means its data is obfuscated until it's unpacked into memory at run-time. Your working exe is a NO StarForced one, which has been relieved of the SF-obfuscation.
__________________
patSH3r-developer
Type II junkie
Fader_Berg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2018, 04:56 AM   #9
Metus
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 13
Downloads: 33
Uploads: 0
Default

Well, my Sh3.exe from a new Ubi Store purchase is actually named sh3_g.exe with a sig of Jan 2016.
Unfortunatelly H.sie's patch does not recognize it.
Hope it will be updated eventually
Metus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2018, 05:00 AM   #10
hauangua
Commodore
 
hauangua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 603
Downloads: 1121
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metus View Post
Well, my Sh3.exe from a new Ubi Store purchase is actually named sh3_g.exe with a sig of Jan 2016.
Unfortunatelly H.sie's patch does not recognize it.
Hope it will be updated eventually
?? Can you make screenshot of your folder install?
Sh3 g ex ...strange!!

But First Rename "Sh3_g.exe" to Sh3.exe" .. Delete just "_g" and probe lunch game
__________________
Parked under the balcony with my U-27 waiting Juliet finish makeup

Last edited by hauangua; 02-10-2018 at 05:08 AM.
hauangua is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2018, 05:39 AM   #11
Metus
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 13
Downloads: 33
Uploads: 0
Default

As you can see, there is a small sh3.exe file too. I renamed the sh3_g.exe to sh3.exe and tried to Patch_SH3.bat it. But same result. It's just not the same file as the older Versions I guess.




pic: https://ibb.co/dbsJVn
Metus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2018, 09:46 AM   #12
hauangua
Commodore
 
hauangua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 603
Downloads: 1121
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanov.ruslan View Post
Did you put it a 4GB patch before you patch the Exe ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by olddriedseaweed View Post
yes, is that the problem?
EDIT: Uninstalled the 4Gb patch - no change.
Deleted the game and reinstalled with the original installation files - no change.
If you " installed " 4gb patch before Hsie... Hsie cannot work good
No important if you "uninstall 4gb patch"
Your. Exe is unusable for hsie patch
Need uninstall game, clean registry
And reinstall SH3 ...
what your Mod list?
__________________
Parked under the balcony with my U-27 waiting Juliet finish makeup
hauangua is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 06:51 AM   #13
Olamagato
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 79
Downloads: 38
Uploads: 0
Icon14

Probably your sh3.exe is bloatware version of sh3.exe
Solve this problem with:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/babdcs...ummies_1.01.7z
Olamagato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 11:41 AM   #14
ericlea
Planesman
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Strasbourg F
Posts: 188
Downloads: 102
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hauangua View Post
If you " installed " 4gb patch before Hsie... Hsie cannot work good
No important if you "uninstall 4gb patch"
Your. Exe is unusable for hsie patch
Need uninstall game, clean registry
And reinstall SH3 ...
what your Mod list?
If 4g patch is already installed, there must be in your sh3 installation repertory a sh3.exe.Backup folder (just below sh3.exe).

For hsie patch installation, simply use this sh3.exe.Backup and rename it sh3.exe
:-)
ericlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 01:58 AM   #15
kurtmeissner
Nub
 
kurtmeissner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Downloads: 553
Uploads: 0
Icon14

I had the same problem as you,do not apply the 4GB patch first,run the h.sie batch file,and then you can proceed with 4GB patch.
kurtmeissner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim