SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > General > General Topics > PC Hardware/Software forum
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2018, 11:34 PM   #16
Reece
CINC Pacific Fleet
 
Reece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Down Under
Posts: 21,703
Downloads: 171
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarracudaUAK View Post
That sounds a bit odd.


I don't I have anything that needs XP that won't run on Linux....


Barracuda
Try radio decoders, ham radio stuff.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarracudaUAK View Post

I think we need a new thread!

Barracuda
Sorry didn't mean to hijack your thread!
__________________

Sub captains go down with their ship!
Reece is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2018, 10:33 PM   #17
BarracudaUAK
XO
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 434
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reece View Post
Try radio decoders, ham radio stuff.



Sorry didn't mean to hijack your thread!










No, I meant to get all of the stuff that doesn't work 'out-of-the box', working.


I'm not worried about it, just thought that it would be easier to find in the long run in it's own thread.












More "On-Topic"-ish. TV is working good since I set the card to 'scale' to 1080p.
Where there is a hardware capabiility, there is a way...


I think.


We need a "wrong thread" sign!


Barracuda
BarracudaUAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2018, 10:02 PM   #18
BarracudaUAK
XO
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 434
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarracudaUAK View Post
...
The Windows driver for AMD has the options, as does -according to post on the net- Nvidia.
Linux uses "xrandr" to control that. Separate from the driver, and works with all card types (based on what I've read).

Link: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php...isplay_scaling
Covers the "xrandr" command under amdgpu, but applies to all.
It might moved from the page linked in the future.

Other than this limited number of functional resolutions (dispite what the EDID says it supports), I'm liking it so far.


Barracuda



As mentioned in a SH4 thread, I've been having freezes since shortly after I got the new Monitor/TV.


I thought it might have been related to the fact that I had it "scaling" everything to 1920x1080, but I turned that off, and I was still getting freezes.
Even on the desktop.
(I might not have -actually- turned it off...)



SO, I swapped my older R9 380 in, and all is good as I backup the system...


I'm going to try a Gentoo install, which is -slightly- more in-depth than Fedora
(like a Balao vs. a rowboat ).


I've been putting it off for a while, but now is the time.


Still have my 5600x2 that I'm typing on here, so I'm still able to get to Subsim....


Should I start a new thread "Barracuda's Adventures in... insanity"?



Barracuda
BarracudaUAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim