SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2017, 01:05 AM   #1
Eska
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
radar How to make playable Iowa work in RSRDC

I have been trying to get Iowa to work in RSRDC buying puting the upgrades data for the iowa changing some things about career and flotilas the 1941 start date to be exact and ships aviable im useing version SH_V550.v7
Eska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 06:48 AM   #2
propbeanie
CTD Überbringer
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 2,871
Downloads: 192
Uploads: 0


Default

The easiest way to do "modding" things is to copy someone else's mod, and add your own flavor to it. If you happen to want to share your creation, you ask permission from the original modder to use their work.

Now, this is a rather old post, so a lot of the links won't work, but it gives you an idea of what has gone before you, prior to October of 2009:
Playable Surface Ships Mods List

For the Iowa Class itself, there is a BB-63 USS Missouri here at SubSim:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5165
Bismarck notes that he gets crashes (at that time) in his mod. It's not easy getting something to truly be "playable" in SH4 - even submarines ()...

For all of the playable ships here, look in the Downloads section:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...p?do=cat&id=77

None of the mods are going to be "perfect", but you'll find that some ships are rather "smooth" and work nearly flawlessly compared to others. Those are the ones to copy. Someone more familiar with the surface ships would have to comment on which are better. You can use WinMerge or similar to compare files in the mods to files in stock SH4 to see where the differences are.

You can use surface ships in the campaign, so long as you're careful where you have the ship start, and what the assignment is. It's easiest to get them going in a Single (Quick) Mission or Patrol, but be sure the depth setting for the mission is zero, on the surface. It'd be embarrassing to start a missions already sunk ... it'd probably cause a game crash anyway.
__________________

propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 01:34 PM   #3
Eska
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 3
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
Default

Ive been trying to get playable iowa mod to be compatiable with RSRDC and i dont know how. Im new to this modding thing.

I wanted to play with Iowa in much more robust campaign for more fun experince with her.
Eska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 02:18 PM   #4
propbeanie
CTD Überbringer
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 2,871
Downloads: 192
Uploads: 0


Default

RSRDC isn't really more "robust", just more "accurate", or in this case, since it's past history, "predictable". Lurker does have a better variety of ships than stock, and does have better looking "orders" for the submarines, along with having eliminated a lot of the stock game's "issues". Your surface ship, no matter which one you choose, nor the mod you add it to, will of necessity, replace an existing boat. ETR3(SS) has a "tutorial" of sorts on SubSim here, as does Peabody, and someone else also, but I can't seem to find them just yet. If there's no notes on how to do it in the ReadMe file of the ship mod, then download another mod and see if there's any instructions in it. Just remember that it'll be rather difficult to complete some of the missions, and impossible to complete others while in a surface ship. Some of those mods include Single (Quick) Mission files for you to experiment with. Those files can also be used to edit other MIS files, or create your own from in the Mission Editor. Each of the mods are a little bit different though, so we'd need to know exactly which of the mods you have to be able to help you more...

Another thing about using RSRDC, is that most of the surface ship mods are compatible with stock, so you have to do other tweaking to get them into RSRDC. Probably, when you install the mod on top of RSRDC, it overwrites parts of RSRDC that shouldn't be overwritten. Do the surface ship mod in stock first. Once you figure out how they do things in the Mission files, CareerStart.upc and Flotillas.upc files, then you can try to add something to RSRDC...
__________________


Last edited by propbeanie; 12-06-2017 at 02:44 PM. Reason: by the way...
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim